Dumbing Down of America

I stole the picture below from the Mad Jewess, the point she was making is the horrendous English in this sign. I quite agree but, there is more here.

Picture stolen from the http://themadjewess.com/

From her article this is from Chicago, which matters little. But really bothers me is that a franchisee of a major restaurant chain would employ a store manager so lacking in management skill as to run out of hamburger. Obviously, I don’t know the hourly sales of this store but given general knowledge I would suspect that it is in the thousands per day. A Burger King franchise is not cheap either, and they enforce their quality standards, although apparently not in speaking English and inventory management.

Personally, if I had a store whose sole purpose was to sell hamburgers and my job depended on it, I would be pretty darned careful not to run out of hamburger. So, if I was this franchisee I’d be looking for a new store manager (preferably one who can spell).

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

9 Responses to Dumbing Down of America

  1. giliar says:

    NEO….I’m going to go way out on a limb here and suggest that English is likely not this individual’s native language.

    Like

    • Giliar, given the sentence structure (and location) my guess would be Ebonics but, it could be others, and it is at least understandable, which is more than some of what Washington puts out.

      Like

  2. Sherry says:

    Okay! I like NEO as a shortcut for your name! I tried Neener one time but edited it out, lol!

    Bad spelling, bad managerial skills, and bad grammar! Yikes! That person may be our POTUS someday! A product of no child left behind…?

    Like

    • I kind of like NEO myself, It was first used by Mac @ theleansubmariner and some others have picked it up (or developed it individually).

      Yup, that franschisee (and the rest of us) have a problem.

      Like

  3. LMAO. How can you run a hamburger stand without hamburger?

    Like

    • Exactly!

      Like

  4. The caption for this picture should be:
    Total Incompetence.

    The McDonald’s across the street says, “I’m lovin’ it!”

    Like

    • Sherry says:

      heeheehee…

      Like

    • Hahahaha. I love it, Freedom. Free market action.

      Like

Leave a Reply

