Lying Snakes, Kabuki Dancers and Useful Idiots, My additions.

This post is going to have problems with continuity, so bear with me. It’s going to start with a link, then a comment from one of my posts and then a reblog from another blog. It makes a coherent whole but is likely to be a bit jerky, like an anthology.

First, I’m going to send you off to Public Catholic, the blog home of Rebecca Hamilton, who is an Oklahoma state legislator, and I’m proud to say, my blogfriemd. She is currently doing a series on how politics really works these days, if you are interested in taking our country back, you should be reading it. The link I’m giving you is to the first in the series.

Your Vote = Their Power 

Politics is about power.

The two political parties are not political parties as we once knew them. They are consortiums of special interests. They operate on behalf of these interests for one purpose: to get and keep power.

Everything else they say is a lie.

The next time you feel like bowing down to your political party, remember this, and stand upright.

Don’t bend your knee to the R and the D. Register for whichever party, or as an independent, as you please. Vote according to your own understanding and conscience. I have no desire to influence you in that. But do not confuse your party’s trumpeting claims of moral superiority with actual moral superiority. Do not, ever, take the cross down off your mantelpiece and put the Republican elephant or the Democratic donkey in its place.

Here is the link, Stop Slogan-Voting. Stop Hate-Voting. Stop Being Manipulated. go now, read the article, this is the basis of this entire post. I’ll wait over here for you.

….

OK, got it? Makes sense doesn’t it? Yeah, it does to me too.

Last Sunday, I had a post (partially a reblog) on why the church needs to return to the public square. If you missed it, it’s here. It’s germane but, you won’t miss the whole story if you don’t read it right now. What I want to do is bring up a couple of comments from Citizen Tom, that I didn’t feel I answered very well.

If the people in the pews are unwilling to take a stand, there is little use in blaming the pastors. Here is how culpable we are. Does it take a Bible scholar to figure out that a great many of our leaders have violated their oath to support and defend the Constitution? Nonetheless, we keep voting for these oathbreakers.

Where do our pastors fail us? They would do well to remind us that by failing to choose and stand by virtuous leaders we punish our children and grandchildren.

and

In general, most pastors do not know any more than the people they serve. We should expect them to exhibit a greater degree of morality, but we have to demand it by choosing good people and holding them accountable. When we are not doing that with our political leaders, why should it be any different with our church leaders?

What a pastor does — if he is doing his job — is to instruct the people in the pews about the Bible. Where a pastor errs is when he fails teach the whole Word of God. Where the people in the pews err is when they either do not replace an erring pastor or they keep going to the same church.

Are there some issues where the churches need to take a stand? Yes, but the fault is ours. Just as we choose of political leaders, we also choose our church leaders. That is, we get the leaders we deserve.

I found my responses rather trite and lame.

Last night, Art Chartier, who writes The Peanut Gallery, wrote a post that was mostly a long comment on Rebecca’s post. Art is a frequent commenter at Rebecca’s, as am I, and he make a lot of sense. Art is also a retired Pastor (and Tea Party activist) so in some ways his is a view from a third side of the hill. As you know, I am a business planning, technical, type and a bit of a theorist, so I think the three of us complement each other. I also want to thank Art for the title of this post, which I shamelessly stole. I think, without meaning to, he answers many of Citizen Tom’s (and I’d bet others) concerns. So here is Art.

COMMENTS: Lying Snakes, Kabuki Dancers and Useful Idiots

I’m an old guy who is new to the public political arena (4 yrs) but well versed in the arena of church politics (35 yrs). I am not a newcomer to the “culture wars.”

My relatively recent foray into the public political arena began as a Tea Party activist after the election of Barack Obama; I had recently retired from active ordained ministry in a mainline protestant denomination. As a church pastor, I limited my public political activities to the Pro-Life movement, but was an intrepid culture warrior within the church – to little or no avail. (In retrospect, I was like the little Dutch boy trying to plug the holes in the dike with his fingers. Eventually I ran out of fingers.)

I’ve retired from both my local Tea Party and my denomination and now I’m free to express my opinion from the “cheap seats” in The Peanut Gallery – hence this blog.

That’s why I’ve found Rebecca Hamilton’s blog – Public Catholic – so refreshing. The parallels between our personal experiences, although worlds apart, are remarkable. The purpose of this brief introduction is simply to provide some context for my comments on Hamilton’s blog – Stop Slogan-Voting… Pt 1.

Continue reading Lying Snakes, Kabuki Dancers and Useful Idiots. You’ll find a third view which rounds out (and parallels) what Rebecca and I have said.

And you wonder why we are having trouble getting the government under control?

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

21 Responses to Lying Snakes, Kabuki Dancers and Useful Idiots, My additions.

  1. You did a masterful job of putting this together; and yes, I do think the three of us compliment one another with our different backgrounds/perspectives. Keep it up!

    • Thank You.

  2. JessicaHof says:

    It is good to see the three of you together like this, and not only does it make a lot of sense, it resonates with those of us in the UK who feel that our Government is an oligarchy of people who are mainly in it for ego and money.

    • It doesn’t always work but, when it does, and here it does, it makes a more powerful statement than any of the three of us, I think.

      I hope it resonates over there, we care a great deal about the United Kingdom, we don’t talk about it a lot mostly, because we are wrapped up in our own problems but, we do wish you guys would come back from Europe, and join what Hannan and Levin call the Anglosphere.

      Obviously we have the same problems but, perhaps a better base to solve them from.

      • JessicaHof says:

        Yes. It would not be the first time you guys had saved the world by your example. Both my grandpas served in the war against the Nazis, my husband is a serving officer, and I know where I find the integrity and the spirit which made this country and your country great.
        My daddy used to say that talk was cheap – which was why politicians were so generous with it :)

        • You’ve read enough here to know what I think of your military, the same as I think of ours. Give your husband my thanks for his service.

          Your daddy was a wise man, indeed.

          For the rest, we’ll try, damned hard.

        • JessicaHof says:

          I will. Over here at the moment the Government are cutting the army by 20%- guys serving in Afghan are being told that when they come home they may be made redundant – all mad. My Dave has particular skills which make him useful, but he says his men are wondering what they are putting their lives on the line for.

        • So are ours. From what I hear, American Morale is in the dumpster (dustbin?). I’ve written my viewpoint, there’s a lot of Kipling in it. I think basically if we are not going to try to win, get the H*ll out, NOW.

          We’re looking at cuts in the same range, especially if we go into sequestration, if that happens our army will be about the size of 1940, the navy is already smaller (although more powerful) than at any time in the twentieth century.

          It’s a mess that only new AND REAL leadership can cure. It’s one of my drivers, I don’t write a lot about it, my choir already agrees.

        • JessicaHof says:

          Sorry to hear that it is hitting you guys too. Quite mad to reduce our defences so much.

        • It is that. There are still bad guys in the world, and you, and we, are the only ones who will, or maybe can go out and do something about it.

          Sequestration was part of the deal our politicians did to save from increasing taxes in the recession/depression.

          Completely insane but, that’s how the last 3.5 years have been.

        • JessicaHof says:

          So true, and I hope we get leaders who will see it – and soon.
          On a lighter note, changed my picture – C pointed out it was an old one when I dyed my hair – this one’s a little less ‘blonde’ :)

        • Noticed it, didn’t comment, mostly because I didn’t know whether it was you, or a gravatar. So now I know, You’re as lovely as you are intelligent.

        • JessicaHof says:

          That’s very kind of you sir – it is a recent one – bit small, but that’s fine

        • Warranted, maam. It works well in this format.

          Incidentally my next post (it’s in the can) scheduled for 1500 here, 2000 there if I’ve got daylight time figured out, is your fault, you brought Proudon up.

        • JessicaHof says:

          I shall look forward to that – and I do like being called ‘maam’ – so nice :)

        • I’m familiar with the form and like it as well but, for the most part I’m a typical, informal Yank.

          It’s funny though, when one of our servicepeople interact with salesclerks and such, 20 year olds girls tend to be non-pulsed when they get called maam. And for that matter, I’ve been known to tell people they don’t have to call me sir, I’m as good as they are, which comes from our military (NCOs obviously, not officers). :)

        • JessicaHof says:

          Sure thing – sir :)

        • Thank you – maam ;)

  3. abcinsc says:

    Reblogged this on The Peanut Gallery and commented:
    This post expands the discussion and provides additional perspective. Thanks for your re-post.

  4. Pingback: Kabuki gallary | Usgraphic

  5. Pingback: Part 2: High Dollar Campaigns = Government of the Puppet People « nebraskaenergyobserver

Leave a Reply

