Malaise, or Terminal Cancer

Important update: If you’ve just come upon this post, or if like me, you revisit posts that for one reason or another attract you. There is a guest post here that helps me to plot the course ahead. It is here.

I didn’t really plan to post this, I often write things to order my mind, a trick I learned in junior high school. And then I thought, why not, there are probably a few others struggling with the same things that haven’t gotten their thoughts in order. Maybe it will help. So, here it is.

You know I’m a pretty optimistic guy but, sometimes it gets to me. I don’t like to talk about it for the same reason as I don’t tell my employees about all my business troubles. It’s hard on morale, mine and theirs.

I sit here daily and see the posts come by and like when man bites dog, its news when it’s something good. Usually its terrible, from speculation on whether the army will obey orders to confiscate our weapons, to FEMA camps, to Obama’s totalitarian dreams, to the latest EPA outrage. I usually don’t post the most strident ones but, unfortunately I don’t necessarily disbelieve them anymore.

And that’s the worst of all. I don’t necessarily disbelieve them anymore. That really sucks.

I was born and bred an American with the dream implanted early, and I have lived it. I never got rich (nor did I really care), I did what I wanted to. I married a woman I loved, she got over it, I never did. For the most part I’ve done work I loved and am exceptionally good at, as well as a rich cultural life, although because I love small towns, mostly via one medium or the other but, I had season tickets for the Lyric Opera and the Symphony in Chicago for a few years too.

The one thing that has been constant in my life as long as I can remember is that unshakable faith in God, who will never load me heavier than I can bear. No, I haven’t had the blazing moment of enlightenment that my Evangelical friends talk about, I have the rock steady faith of my fathers and have since I can remember.

From that and my parents flows an absolute belief in Honor, and Integrity. I rarely make promises because things can stop me from honoring them, and I will not do so.

I started getting my news from the Internet during the last campaign when I got totally fed up with the gruel served by the so-called media (including FNC). I’ve never regretted the change, although I do still watch (or at least listen to) FNC a good bit. I started blogging last year mostly because I was bored, we weren’t making enough sales to keep me busy, and that’s still true thanks to the government.

The blog, and you, dear readers, have been my (secular) salvation this last year. I have found amongst you the stalwart, dogged, determined, ruggedly individualistic, hard-working, and honorable optimism that built America from those first toeholds on the Atlantic shore to the awesome force for good that she is today. That includes you, my officially non-American friends, America is not really a country, it’s a dream, a dream of freedom, of liberty of the sovereign individual.

And that is why I can ignore the most strident of the doomsday prophecies for America. The old America is still here, waiting for us to return her to the glory she has earned. Will we do it this year? No, it took a hundred years of interfering government to slow us to this point, the repair will take time too. But I believe we will do it. I believe we will start the restoration this November. I also remember and honor our ancestors who quite literally walked across the continent chasing their dream. I do mourn the opportunities we have missed, and didn’t even know we missed. I realize I’m old enough that I probably won’t see the complete restoration but, I will, God willing, see the beginning.

And that will be enough. Thank You.

God Bless America

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

26 Responses to Malaise, or Terminal Cancer

  1. From the heart, Nebraska. Thank you for sharing. Sometimes it’s the personal stories about what we have, what we’ve lost, what our hopes are for the future of this great country and our personal dreams that hit home best.

  2. Thanks, Freedom. Yesterday, it all piled on at once, and got to me.

  3. loopyloo305 says:

    I am not sure that it will ever be what we thought it was, Dave, but I hope that it will be better because there are so many people like you, freedom and so many of our other friends here, who take the time to make a difference. God bless you!

    • I doubt it too, Loopy, and in truth, I doubt it ever was. What we think it was, is what the history, and the legend, tell us.

      I think the same as you, we need to work our way back, it will not be perfect, it never was, it’s a work of man, not God but, it will be better.

      It will be better because we have been complacent and not willing to take the time and effort to maintain it and that has ended.

      Thank you for what you do, Patricia, God bless you.

      • loopyloo305 says:

        Exactly, we realized that what we had wasn’t perfect but it was sure worth a lot more than people like Obama was offering, and it was surely worth working for!

        • Yup, that’s it, exactly.

  4. loopyloo305 says:

    Reblogged this on My Blog and commented:
    Nebraska has brought to the forefront something that has been bothering a lot of us. We don’t want to believe a lot of things that seem to be happening, but it is getting harder to brush it away.

  5. roxannadanna says:

    I truly don’t understand how we got here – got to this point of desperation. I guess we just didn’t understand how dire things would or could become. Maybe we just never believed it could get like this. I can tell you, I’ve never been as depressed about the direction this nation is going, as I am now. I’m not sure I can survive another 4 years of this man and his ideology.

    All well said, my friend.

    • As near as I can tell, Roxy, we got distracted, and I think you’re right, we all believed, “This is America, can’t happen here.”

      I suspect that a lot of people, if Obama is reelected are simply going to “go Galt.”

      Thanks, Roxy, it’s been in my mind for weeks, and yesterday was bad, but I feel better for saying it.

  6. JessicaHof says:

    You got it spot on when you said America is a dream. It is, it is a vision, a shining city on a hill, and though there are clouds, and though sometimes the waves seem high and the winds higher, the right will win and the dream will endure; the only real sin is despair. Which doesn’t mean we can’t get downright fed up and wonder what on earth is going on. But it is men like you who built America, and men and women like you and your commentators who will redeem the time and fulfil the vision. :)

    • Thank You, Jess. I believe we shall, although I also believe it is like ‘The New Jerusalem’, itself, it’s not so much the destination as the journey.

      And I am very glad that you journey with us. :-)

      • JessicaHof says:

        You will – I know it. You’ve set me to thinking, and I’m going to try to collect some thoughts on what you say, because it is important, and many of us feel that way. I am glad to be here with you :)

        • Thanks, and if we haven’t said it to you, welcome to the journey.

        • JessicaHof says:

          Glad you are there :) xx Jess

        • :-)

  7. Yes, God Bless America! In Canada we sing an anthem that includes the line: God keep our land glorious and free. When I sing it; I sing that line as a prayer. I think too many people take freedom for granted ( except some immigrants cause they know better…). ~Wendy

    • Hi Wendy!

      Yes you’re exactly right, too many do.

      “With glowing hearts we see thee rise,
      The True North strong and free!”

      We are proud to be your neighbors, and friends.

  8. Pingback: Naught for your comfort? « All Along the Watchtower

  9. Thank God for His son Jesus. Thank God for Heaven after leaving this confused world. Hope is what we have today. Faith is what we must keep to carry us home to Jesus. Bless you for sharing your heart ♥

    Shenine

    • Thank You.

  10. jams4JESUS says:

    A MOST EXCELLENT POST!!! THANK YOU!!!

    Like Simeon [& you]… I believe “I will, God willing, see the beginning” [the Baby]!

    Luke 2…
    25 And there was a man in Jerusalem whose name was Simeon; and this man was righteous and devout, looking for the consolation of Israel; and the Holy Spirit was upon him. 26 And it had been revealed to him by the Holy Spirit that he would not see death before he had seen the Lord’s Christ. 27 And he came in the Spirit into the temple; and when the parents brought in the child Jesus, to carry out for Him the custom of the Law, 28 then he took Him into his arms, and blessed God, and said,

    29 “Now Lord, You are releasing Your bond-servant to depart in peace, According to Your word;
    30 For my eyes have seen Your salvation,
    31 Which You have prepared in the presence of all peoples,
    32 A LIGHT OF REVELATION TO THE GENTILES, And the glory of Your people Israel.”

    33 And His father and mother were amazed at the things which were being said about Him. 34 And Simeon blessed them and said to Mary His mother, “Behold, this Child is appointed for the fall and rise of many in Israel, and for a sign to be opposed— 35 and a sword will pierce even your own soul—to the end that thoughts from many hearts may be revealed.”
    36 And there was a prophetess, Anna the daughter of Phanuel, of the tribe of Asher. She was advanced in years and had lived with her husband seven years after her marriage, 37 and then as a widow to the age of eighty-four. She never left the temple, serving night and day with fastings and prayers. 38 At that very moment she came up and began giving thanks to God, and continued to speak of Him to all those who were looking for the redemption of Jerusalem.

    • Thank You, very apropos.

  11. Pingback: Guest Post-Naught for your comfort? by Jessica Hoff « nebraskaenergyobserver

  12. shekinah419 says:

    We’ve fallen a long way from where we began. This was on my heart this week.
    http://servehiminthewaiting.wordpress.com/2012/07/19/can-god-bless-america-again/

    • We have, indeed. So we need to confess, pick ourselves up and continue the mission. If not us? Who; If not now? When.

      Yours is a very good article, I like it a lot.

  13. Pingback: Naught for your comfort? « nebraskaenergyobserver

Leave a Reply

