From the Comments: United We (Should) Stand

 

Yesterday, I had a comment on my post, United We (Should) Stand, that I think we need to discuss a bit further. Here’s the comment

J.G.Brown says:

Enjoyed the post but would like to point out most Germans of pre world war two were good people,so as they moved through the war they considered themselves good people and after the war they felt they had done no wrong what so ever, They blamed the acts of the few not on the in action of the many,but simply said I could do nothing, I was only one ;what would you have me done, So all are guilty in the destruction of the few yet we justify their guilt and forgive them to an extent. There is one driving force in Islam that is the destruction of Israel and the death of every Jew next is the assimilation or subversion of all western religions not taught by the holy Prophet Mohamed. Christianity and Islam are not the same they are very very different those who assume to place a square peg in a round hole are doomed to failure, Christ is my God the son of the living God, to Islam god has no son except the hoy prophet M. For me this defines why I can not nor will I ever receive instruction from or enjoin myself to a Muslim cleric. to conclude good is a relative term when we speak of man and his relations to another.a smile a nod of agreement is not always what it may seem, the first explores to the inner parts of New Guniee found this out as they became dinner….

I can see his point here and sympathize with him, and with the pre war Germans as well, but, well, this was my answer

I’ll have to disagree, in Christianity we talk about sins of omission and commission. And Christianity is the religion of the individual and his God. They were enablers, accessories to the crime. Each was one but, there were many ones. Pastor Bonhofer[¹] was exactly correct. If you don’t stand to correct injustice, and I don’t stand to correct injustice, who will? Is it hard? Yes. Does one risk sharing his fate? Yes. Our duty is to do the hard right, not the easy wrong.

Luther said “Ich kann nicht anders” he did not say: the bishop did it, and I did what I was told.

I would add that at the Nürnburg Tribunal it was held that not even a direct military order was sufficient cause to hide or commit war crimes. We are individually held responsible to be our brother’s keeper.

¹ Actually Martin Niemöller a colleague.

First they came for the communists,
and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a communist.

Then they came for the trade unionists,
and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a trade unionist.

Then they came for the Jews,
and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a Jew.

Then they came for me,
and there was no one left to speak out for me.

 

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

16 Responses to From the Comments: United We (Should) Stand

  1. JessicaHof says:

    Yes, this has to be right. We do not need to ask who is my sister or brother – we are one in Christ, and who attacks one of us, attacks us all.

    • That’s how it has to be.

      • JessicaHof says:

        Indeed my friend :)

        • Quite

        • JessicaHof says:

          :)

        • :-)

  2. decoop says:

    Nee, as Rat calls you, noticed short little rebel thinks some hacking may have happened to her site. I found you from either Rat or Cowboy, but think maybe you posted to Mark America. And may have found you there. Anyway nothing seems to post to M.A., would you try to post and see what happens. He normally has quite a few posts, all quiet right now. Email contact says no problem with site. Problem may be on my end, but posted now for long time…

    • decoop says:

      Nee, perhaps even now just sending my post, maybe I found my problem…had this problem with Rat awhile back…decoop is the unit. Somehow Word accepted both usernames with same password. Hadn’t seen it come up lately…apologized to Rat and now you. We sort of laughed at my split personality. Old saying…”Beats me.” So far no more problem at Rat. See here where I can go to Word profile and change username, going now. Thanks.

      • the unit says:

        It worked, been the unit, want to stay that way. Thanks Nee. Maybe now I can comment at M.A.

        • Good deal, I just got in, if you need anything, let me know.

  3. the unit says:

    Nee, you got in, but did you try to post? That’s what won’t take. Just to see where you posted to present Bonehead, Boehner, article would clear that posting concern for me. Thanks

  4. kathleen says:

    It takes an enormous amount of courage, to risk your life and whole livelihood, by standing out against a cruel tyrant like Hitler. Many anti-Nazi Germans were probably just too scared to do so, especially after seeing the fate of the few that did! One famous example of a German who was vociferously opposed to Hitler and the Nazis was Dietrich von Hildebrand, a convert to Catholicism, and an outstanding philosopher, theologian and author. He and his wife narrowly escaped with their lives by fleeing to neighbouring Czechoslovakia, and eventually to the US, when the Gestapo came to arrest them. Other brave protestors were not so lucky.

    But all through history there are numerous examples of brave men (and women) who have opposed evil tyrants and paid a very heavy price for it. We ourselves don’t know how we would react under similar circumstances, though certainly we can hope we too would be heroes, speak the truth out boldly and stand firm, come what may.

    In the West right now, maybe our lives are not being threatened, but Christianity, plus our freedom and livelihoods are. Many courageous voices are raised in protest…….. yours is one of them NEO. :-)

    • I don’t mean to minimize the courage that it takes to stand, especially alone, against injustice, and you are entirely correct, none of us know how we would react. There was also the Danish Ambassador whose name escapes me at the moment but was so heroic in his defense of Danish Jews as to be made an honorary American citizen, along with WSC and the Marquis de Lafayette (that’s the total list).

      But it takes that to stop injustice, and why it is the Christians and Jews who move it forward, for these are the religions of the individual and his God. If we are strong in our faith, wee can have hope that we would react so as well, although matyrdom offeres few inducements.

      With reference to your last, right now perhaps not, although our brothers in Africa and West Asia are, and if we don’t stand now, we will join them. I try to do my small and undistinguished part. As do you. “Keep the Faith!”

      • kathleen says:

        “I try to do my small and undistinguished part.”

        If everyone of us produces a grain of rice, we can make a great ‘paella’! :-)

        Yes, our Christian brothers in many parts of Africa are indeed suffering ongoing persecution and martyrdom from the hands of militant Islam: most parts of North Africa, Sudan, Nigeria, etc. Why is the world so quiet about it? Why aren’t we all up in arms about these ongoing horrors?
        Western Asia is particularly bad, but I would say Christians in pretty well the whole of Asia are under threat, mostly from Islamic fundamentalists, but also from Hindus in some parts of India, and ex (and not-so-ex) communists in Vietnam, China, etc.
        Statistics from a world-side survey done on religious persecution by the well-known charity ‘Aid to the Church in Need’ (ACN), have revealed that 75% of this persecution is directed against CHRISTIANS!!!
        http://www.sconews.co.uk/news/13447/uk-government-accused-of-ignoring-persecution-of-christians/

        • From where I sit it looks very much like it is little reported because our media is controlled by the secular humanists, not a conspiracy really just their mind-set.

          What they don’t realize that they are next, Islam tolerates atheist, no more (actually less) than Christians. We are their front line defense which is certainly ironic

  5. Pingback: Saturday Links: Facebook Friends Edition Volume 30 - Conservative Hideout 2.0

Leave a Reply

