“I expect the crowd in power to destroy everything…”

I ran across this over at The Anchoress, which is why I’m running it.

Huh?

See the thing is, I see a lot of survivalist stuff, and I’ve spent my life outdoors, guns are normal tools, and it’s a long way to the grocery store-so we plan and store, we were survivalists (or preppers, as they say today) before it was cool. Actually with us, we learned from our forebears, all the way back to the 19th century, that is why they have descendants. But most city folks have lost that way of thinking, and are now trying to make up for lost time, or so it seems. The other thing is, people I respect, like Danmillerinpanama, are thinking the election may lead to violence however it goes, if so, you do not want to be in the cities.

Over at Instapundit, Glenn Reynolds posts, amid a wall of discouraging stuff, two especially grim bits:

FOLLOW-UP ON FOOD PRICES:

I just wanted to weigh in on the food inflation issue with a local data point. I live in Southern Iowa and have a small flock of sheep (12) that I use for weed control in my vineyard. I feed grass/alfalfa hay in the winter months (roughly early November through mid-March), and typically start planning in early summer . . .People are scrambling everywhere to get hay lined up for this winter, and not just cattle operators. Craigslist is loaded with horses for sale at fire sale prices because people are having trouble lining up enough hay for this winter, at a price they can afford.

Read the whole thing. Back in the day, my parents had a freezer and would go in with a friend on buying half or a quarter of cow, depending on the finances. Stocking up sounds a good idea.

Except of course, you need electricity (or at least a generator) to see to all of that. Another Insty post from another reader:

GOING JEAN GALT? Patrick Carroll writes:

I decided to take six months off this year. I sold stock and did what I wanted for a blissful six months. I read books, drank good wine, watched my garden, got out my high-powered binocs and looked at the planets, hiked, cooked, ate well, just lived. I did so because I expect the crowd in power to destroy everything, so I thought I’d take a break before the deluge…I also bought guns (rifle, shotgun, pistol each for the wife and I), and have contracted with a local landscaping company to build a highly-defensible, nice-looking (fence/hedge combination) perimeter for my property.

Oh, and I bought water barrels. And a propane tank. And a generator.

What’s interesting is that I am hearing similarly discomfited talkaround me, and seeing it in my emails. In the past few weeks I’ve heard some surprising people admit they’ve been arming themselves and purchasing ammunition — one such discussion happened all around me at the hairdresser’s while I sat and listened…..

Continue reading “I expect the crowd in power to destroy everything…”.

And yes, by the way, hay is in short supply, the corn crop looks bad, and ranchers are beginning to liquidate their herds.

I’m curious, so read what she has to say and her comments, and then tell me what you think.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

2 Responses to “I expect the crowd in power to destroy everything…”

  1. JessicaHof says:

    Yes, there are a lot of grim forecasts at the moment – let us pray they are wrong.

    • Yes, I agree. I think the mood is a good bit like 1942-”Praise the Lord and pass the Ammunition.” which may or may not be a good thing.

Leave a Reply

