Welcome Back: America

OK, OK, I’m still not all that enthused about Mitt Romney but, the Republican National Convention last night looked and sounded like my America. Unless you were watching on C-Span you missed a lot watching various paid talkers instead of the program so here are the parts I enjoyed the most.

All videos via Unedited Politics

So there you are, most of the highlights.

My favorite Tweet for the night

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

34 Responses to Welcome Back: America

  1. JessicaHof says:

    I can see why the UK media didn’t like my hero, Clint, but it was one of those which, I think, worked better if you were there :)

    • I’m not sure, my twitter stream (I tend to listen to the TV and watch twitter for these) a lot of whom were there, seemed a bit confused too. And then really enjoyed it. It was sharp ridicule. Jimmy Stewart and Harvey as well as empty suits in empty chairs were mentioned a lot! :-)

      • JessicaHof says:

        Interesting – I guess when you go off-script you have to fly by the seat of your pants :)

        • Script? My understanding is that there was no script, it was all ad libbed. :-)

          Hope I’m that coherent at 82! It really was pretty effective and a good break in the proceeding right before Rubio.

          Freedom has a post up about it with some good links BTW.

          http://freedombytheway.com/2012/08/31/hollywood-owes-eastwood-a-big-thank-you/

        • JessicaHof says:

          I’ll look in there – yes, what I meant to say was that if you ad-lib then there are always risks – but I liked it :)

        • Yeah, it was a fun break, with a point. If you can’t do the job, we’ll have to replace you, indeed! :-)

        • JessicaHof says:

          I liked that one, especially :)

        • So did a lot of us, it hit twitter about 12 times in a minute. :-)

        • JessicaHof says:

          The other bit I loved was the one where he said that the people owned the country and the politicians worked for them – that must have come as a shock in Washington.

        • And to more than a few in the hall, I’d bet. :-)

        • JessicaHof says:

          Yes, those too. Be interesting to see what the Dumbocrats do next week, is it?

        • Sandra Fluke is going to have punch way above her weight class to win west of the beltway, I think. They’re just such an abnormal group. arrogant too. :-)

        • JessicaHof says:

          No doubt the MSM will be full of it – as usual.

        • They had fun this week, my understanding is that if you watched NBC, you didn’t see any minorities or women-who, other than Romney, were the stars of the show.

        • JessicaHof says:

          Well, they have to be consistent with their own propaganda I guess :)

        • I guess, maybe they’ll manage to break Comcast as well, cause it sure don’t pay! :-)

        • JessicaHof says:

          That would be good :)

        • Sure would. :-)

  2. You were smart to watch on c-span. I watched on Fox. But you’re right–it was a patriotic good-to-be-an-American convention and we ALL needed that!

    • Not so smart, Freedom. i started on Fox until about three people on twitter were talking about things they were seeing when all I was seeing was Karl Rove, so I switched.

    • Not so smart, Freedom. i started on Fox until about three people on twitter were talking about things they were seeing when all I was seeing was Karl Rove, so I switched.

      And yes, it was a huge amount of fun to see good old fashioned American patriotism on display. We really did need it, and we need more of it.

  3. I must say that Marco Rubio sure looked and spoke like somebody with a great political career ahead of him. Wish he had been a bit older and going for the top spot. Even thought I’ll hold my nose when I vote for Romney, I was impressed by his speech last night as well. He came off better than I thought he would. It was a good night all around. :-)

    • If Romney wins he’s got a very touch job ahead (I think he will, likely to be very easily, 2016 is anybody’s guess-Ryan could get tarred with the same brush. I’d say Rubio in 2020, and if I’m still around, I’ll cheer him on! :-)

      • I’d be happy with Ryan or Rubio, though Ryan doesn’t have the presence that Rubio does. Of course, the old NJ governor might be a spoiler (he has a lot of support and alot of chutzpah). But as far as conservatism goes we’d be better off having him in a different spot. And lets not forget Scott Walker, another rising star. :-)

        • Christie hurt himself this week, I think, there’s room for him but not at the top, I think. The other’s you mention, yeah, there’s not a loser in the bunch, and the others that spoke this week, plus maybe Pam Bondi (the FL AG) are also very good. It’s a great bench coming up- and the generation behind them isn’t shabby from what I see either.

        • Agreed!

        • :-)

  4. I think you missed the point with Clint, he’s dumb like a Fox…pun intended, he wasn’t doddering the whole thing was an act…Dah! He’s just coming out in a new movie. If he was a doddering old fool ….

    • And extraordinarily well designed to get the left goat, too.

  5. Yeah, and their goat was well and truly got, or is that gotten..LOL!

    • Not sure, either but it surely was. Heads exploding all over the place :-)

  6. giliar says:

    Thanks for posting the videos, NEO!!!! Now I can check out some of the things I missed all in one convenient place :-) BTW, Dick Morris thinks Romney is Reganesque and more: http://www.dickmorris.com/romney-is-reaganesque-dick-morris-tv-lunch-alert/?utm_source=dmreports&utm_medium=dmreports&utm_campaign=dmreports

    • Yeah, I managed about half before I clogged my ‘puter badly! :-)

      One of my subscribers in England commented that they are hard to find over there-particularly without liberals screwing them up !

      Besides I like having them as well. :-)

    • Yeah, I managed about half before I clogged my ‘puter badly! :-)

      One of my subscribers in England commented that they are hard to find over there-particularly without liberals screwing them up !

      Besides I like having them as well. :-)

      I saw that on Dick Morris’s too, I don’t know, and much as I like him, he’s wrong a lot too. But Romney’s excellent, just different.

Leave a Reply

