NEO:

It’s early for me to make another post but, I love this story so much that I can’t wait. LTC Bohmer is one of my subscribers that that I am most proud to have, and this post tells you why.

Originally posted on lookin' thru my eyes:

Click an image to see it full-size:

We had our Transfer of Authority ceremony this morning.  Our replacement unit is now in charge of the mission.  Which means our only job left in Afghanistan is to leave.  So now the waiting officially has begun.

After the ceremony, I set out to do one more personal mission before leaving FOB Apache.  I needed to track down a young Soldier to give him a message from home.

A few days ago I received a short message from a Soldier’s wife.  Her husband is an Army Engineer doing the hard, dusty labor required to build the FOB Apache expansion.  She asked me to pass on a message to her husband, SPC David Sturm, for her.

After the ceremony I grabbed my camera to hunt down SPC Sturm.  I found his unit headquarters and they directed me to the construction site.  I went out…

View original 241 more words

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

16 Responses to

  1. danbohmer says:

    Thank you.

    • You are very welcome. Part but not all of the reason is that my dearest friend’s husband is a British officer over there who will shortly also be returning, so thank you.

  2. What a great story.

    • I know, I just love the way his face lights up.

      • That was priceless!

        • It was indeed, best thing I’ve seen all month.

  3. JessicaHof says:

    That is so lovely :)

    • It really is. I thought it a wonderful opportunity to remind you, and those like you just how essential you all are, and how much we all admire, respect and love you. :-)

      • JessicaHof says:

        I felt very warmed by it xx -)

        • That was my intent, and I suspect the Colonel’s as well. :-) xx

        • JessicaHof says:

          Thank you both :) xx

        • For my part, you are most welcome :-) xx
          I hope he will check in and see your comment.

        • JessicaHof says:

          I know the feeling well – getting quite giddy myself :) x

        • I’m very glad, as well for you two, and the Colonel and his wife as well. :-) xx

        • JessicaHof says:

          Yes, happy days ahead – I hope :)

        • I hope so as well. :-)

Leave a Reply

