HIGHER ED BUBBLE UPDATE: SOUTH DAKOTA OVERTAKES HARVARD| Power Line

 

Heh, indeed.

We’ve noted the higher education bubble a few times here before, but today’s news story from FuelFix, an online publication of Statoil, is worth chortling over:

South Dakota’s New Mining Grads Beat Harvard for Pay.

Harvard University’s graduates are earning less than those from the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology after a decade-long commodity bull market created shortages of workers as well as minerals.

Those leaving the college of 2,300 students this year got paid a median salary of $56,700, according to PayScale Inc., which tracks employee compensation data from surveys. At Harvard, where tuition fees are almost four times higher, they got $54,100. Those scheduled to leave the campus in Rapid City, S.D., in May are already getting offers, at a time when about one in 10 recent U.S. college graduates is out of work.

I’ll save Glenn Reynolds the trouble: Heh.

JOHN adds: This comes as no surprise, of course, to us South Dakotans.

 

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

14 Responses to HIGHER ED BUBBLE UPDATE: SOUTH DAKOTA OVERTAKES HARVARD| Power Line

  1. JessicaHof says:

    Interesting sign of the times.

    • I thought so as well, says a lot about how well fracking is working.

      • JessicaHof says:

        Indeed – and, from me, a good morning my friend :)

        • Such a lovely way for mine to be ending, my friend :-)

        • JessicaHof says:

          That’s nice – in work now :)

        • I see, I’m back but you’re working, I’d guess. :-)

        • JessicaHof says:

          Yes, I was :) x

        • Something we all have to do :-) x

        • JessicaHof says:

          Yes indeed. I am on a short lunch hour now – which is nice :)

        • Quick chance to check up on things, eh? :-)

        • JessicaHof says:

          Yes, for once I have a chance to shut myself away at lunch rather than have the world and his wife wander past demanding my attention.

        • “have the world and his wife wander past demanding my attention.”

          A wonderful turn of phrase, that.

        • JessicaHof says:

          Thank you kind sir :) it is certainly how it has been feeling these past few days :)

        • Mine, the last few day hasn’t been bad, but I surely know the feeling, Maam. :-)

Leave a Reply

