Pancake Feed | Small Town Nebraska

First I want to introduce you to a new blogfriend of mine. Julie runs the blog called Small Town Nebraska, she’s a neighbor of mine, out here that means she’s somewhere within a couple of hundred miles. If I’m reading her posts correctly she’s a Lincoln girl who found the transition out here a trifle difficult and it is different from the city. She’s written about it and here’s the link to the first of several articles about it, read them all, especially if you’ve ever considered moving out in the country, she’s got some very good insights. I subscribe so I don’t miss a post, I recommend you do as well.

Because she’s a nice lady, she’s agreed to let me run her entire post here, because I want to talk about something that connects with it. I’m honored that she agreed so readily, and will certainly reciprocate, if she finds something here that she likes. So here is Julie with her post called:

Pancake Feed

Correct me if you think otherwise, but I’m guessing my following statement is true.

You haven’t experienced life in small town Nebraska until you’ve attended a pancake feed.

IMG_6710A pancake feed at the fire hall
Pancake Feedwhere the firemen cook
IMG_6709and serve from roasters the pancakes and sausage.

IMG_6708Let me know if you want to have this small town experience, and I’ll let you know when the next one is. I can’t promise you won’t feel awkward, since you might be the only person there who doesn’t know the first or last names of 90% of the people present.
IMG_6712

Pancake Feed | Small Town Nebraska.

Looks good, doesn’t it? I’ll tell you a secret that we don’t usually tell city folk, it’s some of the best eating you’ll ever do. I’m with Julie here, I’ll tell you when and where as well, but she’s right we really do all know each other.

Julie’s was at the Fire Hall, that’s pretty common, so is the Legion Hall, the Senior Center, the Fairgrounds, in my favorite town out here we usually have one during the Corn Show either before the rodeo or the demolition derby. It’s a great time for us to all get together.

But what made me want to run this is something you guys might not know. Those firemen working at that pancake feed, they’re real fireman, every bit as well-trained and brave as any in the country, they’re also volunteers. That’s right, they risk their lives for us for absolutely nothing except service to community. They tend to be farmers, and merchants, and others who work or live in town, because if you live too far out-of-town it can hurt the response time, but if they’re too far away they’ll show up in their personal vehicles anyway.

So why the fundraiser? Because they need protective equipment and equipment generally, everything from boots to a new truck has to be paid for and there is precious little money available, so we raise it ourselves.

But you know, local businesses are always willing to help too. I’ve seen grocery stores that can barely keep the doors open contribute everything for the pancakes, in my home town a farmer always donated a pig and the butchering and sausage making to the Lion’s club, which in its turn sponsored community events, made donations, and so forth and so on,  I’ve seen fertilizer trucks hauling water to a fire and I’ve seen tractors worth a quarter of a million dollars loaned freely to fight a grass fire. We don’t really think much about it, it’s always been like this.

This is what d’Tocqueville was talking about when he said.

The political associations that exist in the United States form only a detail in the midst of the immense picture that the sum of associations presents there.

Americans of all ages, all conditions, all minds constantly unite. Not only do they have commercial and industrial associations in which all take part, but they also have a thousand other kinds: religious, moral, grave, futile, very general and very particular, immense and very small; Americans use associations to give fêtes, to found seminaries, to build inns, to raise churches, to distribute books, to send missionaries to the antipodes; in this manner they create hospitals, prisons, schools. Finally, if it is a question of bringing to light a truth or developing a sentiment with the support of a great example, they associate. Everywhere that, at the head of a new undertaking, you see the government in France and a great lord in England, count on it that you will perceive an association in the United States.

In America I encountered sorts of associations of which, I confess, I had no idea, and I often admired the infinite art with which the inhabitants of the United States managed to fix a common goal to the efforts of many men and to get them to advance to it freely.

It works just as well today as it did when those words were written nearly two hundred years ago. And you know what, it works better than almost anything else because everybody wants to help their neighbor, it’s really a big part of what America has always been about.

Thanks again, Julie, hope you like it.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

20 Responses to Pancake Feed | Small Town Nebraska

  1. I have traveled through Nebraska but never had the pleasure of exploring its various topographies. The video was magnificent; looks like a beautiful place to live.

    Like

    • NEO says:

      It is, once you get out of the Platte valley. That’s part of why I ran that video as opposed to others.

      Like

      • I was just stuck on the interstates and never even stopped. Can’t get much of a feel that way.

        Like

        • NEO says:

          Nope, only for how the corn ois doing.

          Like

        • Yup. That’s all I saw while I was in Iowa as well.

          Like

        • NEO says:

          There’s some nice country there, as well.

          Like

        • Where I was, there were roads then went for miles in straight lines like big squares on a piece of graph paper. And you couldn’t see anything but corn anywhere you looked.

          Like

        • NEO says:

          That the Valley here, square of land with circles of corn, most of the rest is different

          Like

        • Well the pictures were stunning – I never knew Nebraska had so many beautiful landscapes.

          Like

        • NEO says:

          I didn’t either before I got here. It was quite a surprise.

          Like

        • Yeah, a pleasant surprise at that! :-)

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Very much so :-)

          Like

        • Yup. That’s all I saw while I was in Iowa as well.

          Like

  2. Pingback: The Republican Presidential Debates for 2016 Need to be Better. | danmillerinpanama

  3. JessicaHof says:

    Looks gorgeous :)

    Like

    • NEO says:

      It pretty much is-both pancake feeds and Nebraska :-)

      Like

  4. Pingback: » The Republican Presidential Debates for 2016 Need to be Better. » Tea Party Tribune

  5. Pingback: Opinion Forum » The Republican Presidential Debates for 2016 Need to Be Better

  6. Julie says:

    Thank you for all the kind words and the great description of volunteer fire departments and the communities standing behind them!

    Like

    • NEO says:

      You’re more than welcome and thanks for your post. I give kind words, as my readers will tell you, when they’re earned, as they were today. Our volunteers don’t get the recognition they deserve.

      I haven’t checked links to see how many got over to your place. But the link shown in comments is a former writer for PJ Media and links from his went to the Tea Party Tribune the Opinion Forum. I hope it helps you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

