Sunshine and Faithfullness

I’m always of two minds about awards. I’m always honored, and thrilled that somebody actually thinks I do something worthwhile here, and I’m always terrified that it’s a ponzi scheme, and there’s no one left to nominate. But I’ve also found that while most of these want 7 or ten nominees, nobody yells too loudly if you fall a bit short. :-) And to be honest, I don’t nominate people just to fill the blank, I want being nominated to mean something. And so.

semper-fidelis-award
sunshineaward

I note that the Sunshine award is a double award from Jess at All along the Watchtower as well as Citizen Tom who also nominated me for the Semper Fidelis Award. My thanks to them both.

Semper Fidelis is of course, the motto of the US Marine Corps, and often in its shortened form of “Semper Fi” used as a greeting, it has built on and contributed to a great tradition of one of the greatest of military formations, to wit:

Customs and Traditions

THE MARINE CORPS MOTTO

“Semper Fidelis” (“Always Faithful”) is the motto of the Corps. That Marines have lived up to this motto is proved by the fact that there has never been a mutiny, or even the thought of one, among U.S. Marines.

Semper Fidelis was adopted about 1883 as the motto of the Corps. Before that, there had been three mottoes, all traditional rather than official. The first, antedating the War of 1812, was “Fortitudine” (“With Fortitude”). The second, “By Sea and by Land,” was obviously a translation of the Royal Marine’s “Per Mare, Per Terram.” Until 1848, the third motto was “To the Shores of Tripoli,” in commemoration of O’Bannon’s capture of Derna in 1805. In 1848, after the return to Washington of the Marine battalion that took part in the capture of Mexico City, this motto was revised to: “From the Halls of the Montezumas to the Shores of Tripoli” – a line now familiar to all Americans. This revision of the Corps motto in Mexico has encouraged speculation that the first stanza of “The Marines’ Hymn” was composed by members of the Marine battalion who stormed Chapultepec Castle.

It may be added that the Marine Corps shares its motto with England’s Devonshire Regiment, the 11th Foot, one of the senior infantry regiments of the British Army, whose sobriquet is “the Bloody Eleventh” and whose motto is also Semper Fidelis.

Reference Branch
USMC History Division

Thanks to whoever up the line, Citizen Tom?, who bothered to run that down.

Anyway, rules, you gotta have rules. Here they are (They’re similar for both so we’ll combine them)

  1. Use the logo in the post.  Check
  2. Link to whoever nominated you.  Check
  3. Write 10 pieces of information about yourself.  Check
  4. Nominate ten fellow bloggers. For the Sunshine Award, that means bloggers “who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.” For the Semper Fidelis Award, that means bloggers who are “always faithful.” Check
  5. Leave a comment on the nominees’ blogs to tell them of the award.

Those ten pieces of information about me are:.

  1. I was born in Indiana
  2. My ancestry is completely Norwegian
  3. Most of my life, I worked as either an electrician or lineman, or sometimes both.
  4. One of my oldest hobbies is electronics
  5. Which is why I’m still a ham radio operator
  6. I doubt any will be surprised that another hobby is history.
  7. I also do some woodworking, mostly cabinetmaking, when time allows
  8. I like to play with mechanical things as well, like old tractors, cars and such.
  9. I’m divorced and have been for many years
  10. I have found it critical to “say what you mean and to mean what you say”

The Semper Fidelis Award must go first of all to Jess. I have never in all my life known anyone, man or woman who is more faithful and more dependable than she is. One of the very few people in the world that I trust completely and implicitly. In full disclosure, she is also my editor here, and I am always well pleased to leave the blog in her very capable hands. I also sporadically contribute to hers.

For the rest, which will be for both awards, hopefully without duplicating too often.

  1. Blogsense-by-Barb Common sense with a patina of faith, well delivered.
  2. Born Again Baby Boomer Ex-Lefty American GalThe name pretty much says it all, except that she is one of my fellow contributors at The Constitution Club as well.

  3. Ancestral Yuba A voice  full of common sense from California, may their tribe increase.
  4. Freedom by the Way My oldest blogfriend, and still one of the best.
  5. Juwannadoright, another voice of common sense from the west
  6. PumabyDesign 001, another of my oldest blogfriends, and just outstanding
  7. Quotes and notes and opinions, still another old friend, Sherry spans Christian and political, somewhat like we do here
  8. The Lean Submariner My favorite bubblehead and some lean management as well
  9. IrishAnglican’s Weblog Father Robert is not only an Anglican Priest but a retired Royal and US Marine (Recon if I remember)
  10. And finally, just to round it out, one of my very favorites Catholic Cravings, Hi Laura!

So there you have it, from Old England to OZ, some of my favorite blogs

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

25 Responses to Sunshine and Faithfullness

  1. yubahome says:

    Just trying to prosper in the face of adversity. ;)

    • NEO says:

      Aren’t we all ;-)

  2. Rachael Charmley says:

    Congratulations to a lovely man. :-)

    • NEO says:

      Why thank you so much, you’re very kind. :-)

  3. JessicaHof says:

    Thank you very much, dearest friend – and you see, there are lots of us who think you are wonderful :) xx

    • NEO says:

      A few, I suppose, it’s nice to get these, and even better to give them :-) xx

      • JessicaHof says:

        More than you think :) xx

        • NEO says:

          That would be very pleasing :-) xx

        • JessicaHof says:

          :) xx

        • NEO says:

          :-) xx

  4. Sherry says:

    The honors you received are well deserved! And I’m always humbled and honored to receive a mention from you on your blog. Not one blog post here by you (or Jess) :grin: has ever made me stop reading it. God bless you always, NEO!~

    • NEO says:

      We do make some effort not to offend our friends, although neither of us is known for pulling punches. I can easily say the same for your blog (and those you contribute to as well)

      Thank you, Sherry and God Bless you always, as well :-)

  5. Congratulations on the awards! :)

    • NEO says:

      Why thank you :-)

      • You are welcome. :)

        • NEO says:

          You do know that you would have been on my list but, I got preempted, don’t you? :-)

        • Awww, thank you NEO! :-) You are very kind to think of me to say that. I understand, no worries. :)

          By the way, do you know if Dave is ok? I have not heard from him in a long time. I sent him a Happy New Year message, but didn’t hear back.

          I hope he is ok.

          God bless you NEO, and enjoy your awards!

        • NEO says:

          You’re one of the best ones I’ve met on the internet, and I think of you often :-)

          You speak of dave, I’m going to assume you mean Servus? Far as I know he is, he comments over at Jess’ quite a bit, and that pretty much the only place i see him, he hasn’t been here in quite a while. As far as I know he’s OK, but we haven’t chatted, maybe he has with Jess but she hasn’t mentioned it.

          Bless you Isabella Rose :-)

        • Thank you NEO. I really struggle, so that means a lot to me. :)

          It sounds like Dave is ok – unless he has been abducted by aliens who happen to like commenting on Catholic websites. :) But given that likelihood to be rather narrow, I will assume the best. :-) I am glad he is ok though.

          God bless you too and Happy New Year!

        • NEO says:

          Hah! We all do, my dear friend, at least sometimes, t’s part of the challenge. :-)

          That’s my assumption as well, that alien would have to be very good at simulating him, in any case, so I think your assumption to be justified. :-) He seems to have slowed his internet activities down considerably but, I have no idea why since I haven’t interacted with him, except occasionally in comments there.

          Happy New Year CNG :-)x

        • Those aliens can be tricky though! What with all that advanced brain activity – that’s why they have such gigantic heads you know. :-D

        • NEO says:

          That’s very true :-)

        • :-)

        • NEO says:

          :-)

  6. Pingback: A bright, bright, sun-shiny day – Sunshine Bloggers Award | Ancestral Yuba

Leave a Reply

