Bundy Ranch vs. Bureau of Land Management

Yes, I have been avoiding this story, because I have no idea who originally was in the right (or wrong) here, and further I’m not sure anybody else does either. Makes it really hard to write an interesting story. But the whole thing seems to have simmered down, at least for now. But it’s been a scary and proud week in America.

The parallels to Waco and Ruby Ridge are much too clear, and they lead to one clear conclusion. The internet is critical to freedom, 20 years ago by the time the news of this dispute got out, it would have been over, and likely with dead bodies to mourn, that’s what happened then, and that’s what would have happened now, except for the alternative media with an occasional assist from Fox News.

That my friends, is why the first amendment is so important, and also a warning to the government. It is when I decided that in my mind that the rights and wrongs could be sorted out later was when the BLM decided that they could restrict freedom of speech.

And even tried to impose restrictions on that. As John Hinderaker of Powerline reminds us, there is only one allowable first amendment area in America, and this is it:

And for me that is when the facts of the case became less important. Nothing in America is more important than the government attempting to infringe Constitutional rights, and apparently I wasn’t the only one to feel that way. That was when you started to see the protests turn into a (legally) armed camp, and that is why the second amendment rights are so jealously guarded by the American people. Long ago, the first of America’s wars started when a silversmith rode through the night, shouting “The regulars are out”. And they were out to confiscate weapons. None of us have forgotten what the North ministry tried, and we pretty much all agree, Not on our watch. In the last analysis, it comes down to this:

And that is why America is different. Here The people are sovereign, and every once in a while we decide to remind the government when they get too overbearing. America is a tense place these days, we have an administration that thinks we should be like Europe, and a large part of the people are saying, rather loudly, NO!

Dan miller had the best general write-up of the whole thing that I have seen, here is his article.

Bundy Ranch: the “truth” shall make you . . . ?

The reports, such as they are, from the Bundy Ranch have been confusing. The Feds have contributed to the dearth of verifiable information, suggesting that there are things it would be inconvenient for us to know.

I don’t know what’s happening at the Bundy Ranch because, aside from conservative bloggers and occasionally Fox News, there is very little information, verifiable or otherwise. According to Mr. Bundy, on Friday he

barely recognized the land during an airplane flyover earlier in the day.

“I flew down along the river here, and I’d seen a little herd of cows,” he told a gathering of supporters. “Baby cows. They was grazing on their meadow and they was really quite happy.

“I then flew up the river here up to Flat Top Mason, and all of a sudden, there’s an army up there. A compound. Probably close to a hundred vehicles and gates all around and vehicles with armed soldiers in them. [Emphasis added.]

“Then I’m wondering where I am. I’m not in Afghanistan. I think I’m in Nevada. But I’m not sure right now,” he said to applause and defiant shouts.

Federal officials said that BLM enforcement agents were dispatched in response to statements Bundy made which they perceived as threats.

“When threats are made that could jeopardize the safety of the American people, the contractors and our personnel; we have the responsibility to provide law enforcement to account for their safety,” National Park Service spokeswoman Christie Vanover said to reporters Sunday.

A good collection of links is available at Nebraska Attitude.

via Bundy Ranch: the “truth” shall make you . . . ? | danmillerinpanama.

And so it has settled down, for now, anyway, latest reports say that the cattle have been released, except presumably for the calves that were reportedly run to death by the BLMs low flying helicopters, and after a week, in which that oldest of American peace officers, the Sheriff, which my historically minded readers will remember derived from the Anglo-Saxon Shire Reeve managed to negotiate a truce.

And again the people back down the government, and that’s what happened in America this week

This is my nominee for picture of the week

If you can’t tell, that the BLM force surrounded by the protesters. I’m also fond of this one which looks like America to me.

 

More here:

  1. http://www.powerlineblog.com/archives/2014/04/standoff-at-bundy-ranch-ends-with-photo-of-the-year-so-far.php
  2. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2603026/Senator-speaks-favor-Nevada-rancher-militias-join-battle-federal-agents-accused-acting-like-theyre-Tienanmen-Square-fight-disputed-ranch-land.html?ITO=1490&ns_mchannel=rss&ns_campaign=1490
  3. http://therightscoop.com/breaking-video-ranchers-and-protesters-block-highway-seized-bundy-cattle-released/

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

6 Responses to Bundy Ranch vs. Bureau of Land Management

  1. Amyclae says:

    It sends a little shiver of my spine, but I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or even what the shiver is a reaction too. Either way I’m glad no one died.

    • NEO says:

      It scared me as well, we came very close this time, i think. I hope the USG learned something. We may not always be so lucky.

      So am I, very much so.

  2. the unit says:

    I’ve commented at just a few sites yesterday and today and was pretty blunt.
    I’m glad that at this point it’s subsided, for now. I looked at the pictures of the territory and saw no trees where justice could be carried out for the rustlers.

    • NEO says:

      Not many of those in the desert but, I know what you mean.

  3. Jack Curtis says:

    I don’t expect we’ll know the legal right/wrong of it either. Or whether there was any justification for the Federal resort to enforcement via shock and awe methods. It seems a poor use of an unnecessary amount of taxpayer money at best.
    Your point regarding the significance of the Internet in facing an overbearing government seems the primary lesson that we can take here. And it’s no prophecy to predict that the government search for control of the Internet will never cease … (We note that the Feds have changed their minds and will now hang onto ICABB.)

    • NEO says:

      I think the same way.

      And I guess that I’d rather try to keep the American government hones (sort-of anyhow) that some UN bunch.

Leave a Reply

