Farewell Letter ~ Gabriel Garcia Marquez | Jack Hammersley

This is very beautiful, with a hat tip to Rachael Charmley of Changing Skin and Other Stories

Before he died on 17 April 2014 at the age of 87, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Colombia’s illustrious Nobel Laureate for literature, had declared his retirement from public life. He had terminal cancer and sent this letter of farewell to friends and lovers of literature.

_______________________________________________________________

If God, for a second, forgot what I have become and granted me a little bit more of life, I would use it to the best of my ability.

I wouldn’t, possibly, say everything that is in my mind, but I would be more thoughtful of all I say.

I would give merit to things not for what they are worth, but for what they mean to express.

I would sleep little, I would dream more, because I know that for every minute that we close our eyes, we waste 60 seconds of light.

I would walk while others stop; I would awake while others sleep.

If God would give me a little bit more of life, I would dress in a simple manner, I would place myself in front of the sun, leaving not only my body, but my soul naked at its mercy.

To all men, I would say how mistaken they are when they think that they stop falling in love when they grow old, without knowing that they grow old when they stop falling in love.

via Farewell Letter ~ Gabriel Garcia Marquez | Jack Hammersley. Do follow the link.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

6 Responses to Farewell Letter ~ Gabriel Garcia Marquez | Jack Hammersley

  1. the unit says:

    One of us missed something here.

    http://www.economist.com/node/2424015

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Yeah, I know, but it was still a good letter.

      His politics and most of his writings were bad though.

      Like

      • the unit says:

        Yeah well, like Roseanne said about G.H.W. Bush….”he don’t sing so good either.”
        Even his letter…”I would give merit to things not for what they are worth, but for what they mean to express.” Huh? Some folks give O a pass because they say he means well.

        Like

        • NEO says:

          Difference between a writer and an executive, perhaps, it move me, but of course your mileage may vary. :-)

          Like

        • the unit says:

          I was just joshing with you anyway. I like lots of other folks say things not for what they are worth, but for what my little mine can perceive. lol

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Nothing wrong with that, i get stuff wrong too, and you gat me to reread it more carefully. And you that’s something too. Lots of folks, even leftists occasionally say something right. It’s pretty rare though.

          Like

Leave a Reply

