Pilger, NE: Before and After

This is interesting. You’ll remember that I showed a video of the tornado up in Pilger, shortly after it happened , here. Anyway, yesterday the £ Daily Mail ran some photographs taken from The Advanced Spaceborne Thermal Emission and Reflection Radiometer (ASTER) instrument aboard NASA’s Terra satellite. What’s interesting is that you can trace the paths of (both EF-4) tornadoes.

Here’s a before picture:

article-2673027-1F347EF300000578-538_634x376

And the same view after:

article-2673027-1F347EF900000578-460_634x421

There some difference in the vegetation which may or may not be connected with the storm (I don’t know) but the tornado tracks are as clear as day on this.

Here’s the town after:

article-2673027-1F347EEB00000578-397_634x396

There’s more and a video at the link.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2673027/New-images-destructive-power-storms-hit-Midwest-visible-space.html#ixzz360xMdLns

Keep your head down when the sirens go off, this was bad, even for out here, and more are forecast in eastern Nebraska and Iowa today.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

13 Responses to Pilger, NE: Before and After

  1. +My Thought and Prayers with you at Nebraska State+

    Like

  2. the unit says:

    My heart goes out to all affected there. I think I do have a understanding about things like that. Twenty three years ago my friends 16 year old daughter was killed in her boy friends car wreck. I went to him and expressed my condolences. Six months later my 19 year old son was killed in his own car wreck. My condolences became reality and immensely understood better.
    Then in 2005 my boyhood home was washed away down to the slab by Katrina. Not just wet… needing fungus treatment after filth removal and drying out. Gone as in never been here.
    My point is some folks in Pilger ain’t gonna recover too well. But every tomorrow is a new beginning and chance. I wish them well.

    Like

    • NEO says:

      I hear you Unit. the place where I grew up has also gone back to wild woodland, with no trace of human occupation, and yet, it is a part of those who remember it. So it is with all of the physical world.

      Pilger will recover although it will never be the same, not necessarily better or worse, just different.

      There’ll be those that have trouble, and there will be, Thank God, those there to help them, and they will have, and do have our prayers.

      Like

      • the unit says:

        🙂 Yep!

        Like

        • NEO says:

          🙂

          Like

  3. the unit says:

    Off thread. A fellow was asking over at JCurtis this morning about C.C. I’ve been wondering about ol’ Longstreet myself. Was afraid he may have been ill. I think May 5 was his last post. However, I’ve since seen him comment on another blog a couple of weeks ago. So guess he just worn out a bit.
    Also Rat been missing from Rat Nation. Do read him at IJR. I guess he can’t re-blog on his site?
    Read C.L. and appreciate, but not the same as Rat.

    Like

    • NEO says:

      I haven’t seen anything from Longstreet either. Jack been doing his own, and I suspect Rat just got busier than he expected, don’t know either, I like CJ a lot but no, she’s not the Rat. Probably the same story as me, after a while it gets to you, and you just can’t always get the words to work, and life intervenes.

      Like

      • the unit says:

        I do understand. Like you told me a few months ago when I asked about Sarah Roman @ American Freedom, sites disappear.
        I do have email with Rat and he mentioned the money is good @ IJR, so I was guessing that there was some agreement to post only there. I can’t blame him for any chance to produce some income nowadays. We got to build that ourselves you know. 🙂

        Like

        • NEO says:

          That we do, and its good to see him moving up! 🙂

          Like

        • the unit says:

          Yeah, that’s what I told him then. He on site it seems with lots more viewers so that’s good.
          Plus as for working. When I was 65 CFP’s were saying work until you’re 70. So I did…71 in 2013. Then at that time they said work until 80. Now they say never retire. They must be only 45 and can’t imagine what it’s like. I’m done only because I have to be. 🙂

          Like

        • NEO says:

          I’m getting to that point as well, although I doubt I’ll ever be able (or actually want) to completely retire but, I’m taking it easier. 🙂

          Like

        • the unit says:

          Well keep it up as long as you enjoy and can. There aren’t any prizes after you hang it up. No awards for the over the hill gang for participating. Still “so glad to be here.” 🙂

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Yep, I have little pressure now, I do work I want to (which includes blogging, which I have come to love. Most months I make enough to get by, and that’s all that really matters. 🙂

          Like

Leave a Reply

