The Bear is Loose

I suppose you’ve heard, the President has taken to Twitting, uh sorry, Tweeting, “The Bear is Loose” when he supposedly sneaks out on the Secret Service to go have a burger with his prepositioned worshipers. It’s not only pretty sophomoric but also pretty transparent but, I suppose it’s more fun than presidentin’, especially after you’ve messed up every thing you’ve looked at. Kind of reminds me of Boo Boo and the Pick-a-nick baskets. But maybe Jellystone Park is not really the Yellowstone Caldera after all.

On a slightly more serious note. there is another bear loose in the woods, the Russian one. Contrary to what the TV wants you to think, this one isn’t exactly the Grizzly of the old Soviet Union, either. It’s more like a half-tamed brown bear that escaped from the Moscow Zoo. A quick chart will make my point here, I think.

140519_GlobalGDPFixed (1)

Huh, look at that! Just a tad bigger than Germany, the last time I looked the UK was a little bit bigger than Germany, and some sources say Germany is bigger than Russia. The thing is Russia is badly unbalanced. It lives and/or dies based on its gas and oil sales to Europe. It’s about as diversified as Saudi Arabia.

So if you really think about it, while Europe is terrified of losing Russia’s gas, Russia has to be just as terrified of it. OK, Europe is also paying a lot for that gas, like three times what we pay in the States. In my opinion, that while LNG is expensive to transport, it may well be feasible to replace Russian Gas with American, although a pipeline or 3 would be helpful.

If this was the “Rompin’, Stompin, Red Army” of the old cold war days, do you really think those Ukrainian rebels would be half-trained proxy fighter, dumb enough to shoot down an airliner? No in the old days this would be the real Red Army, just like it was in Germany in 45, Hungary in 56, and Czechoslovakia in 68. And in truth, even in those days, Ivan wasn’t ten feet tall, but he was pretty numerous. These clowns are pretenders to the czarist throne.

The problem is that the leadership in the west is even worse. President Bear, running away from his duty, Frau Merkel thinking that the World Cup is equivalent to the Kursk Salient. Russia isn’t winning, we’re just trying harder to lose.

The real problem here is that while Putin is a thug, he has an idea of what he wants and a plan to get it, which looks fairly realistic, and the guts to execute it. When you have no plan other than to perhaps react to someone else, if the media yells loud enough to be heard on the golf course, inevitably you are reacting, and slowly at that, and so Putin is getting what he wants, not because he has the power, but because the west is asleep at the wheel. They’re so far behind the curve that the OODA  Loop has crashed.

Same story in Iraq. Same story on the southern border, Same story in Israel, and soon, same story in the Pacific, and the same story in Washington.

Here, have a peanut butter sandwich.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

20 Responses to The Bear is Loose

  1. I’d rather watch Yogi Bear!

    Btw, one of my cousin’s, who was in the British Army in the mid 50’s to early 60’s, was an intell officer, and quite remembered the Hungarian Revolution in 1956. Of course it was a revolt against the Russian or Soviet pressed policies in the communist Hungarian Working People’s Party. Several thousand freedom seeking Hungarian people were killed! This older cousin even had a Hungarian girlfriend somehow? Not sure of the time-frame and how they met? But I do remember her coming to Dublin for a visit later when I was a young teen. And wow what a blonde babe! Tall, lean but with what we called curves then! lol Yes, in those days I was about 13 or 14, and girls were quite on my radar! And I do remember he took her to London, that was the big party place in those days!

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Me too, he was at least acting rationally in his own interest. Hungary was a tad before my time, but I’ve read a bit about it, and yeah, it wasn’t pretty. If I recall, Eisenhower took some heat but, really what was he going to do.

      Those intelligence types used to find some fine women around the world, apparently they all took lessons from James Bond or something. 🙂

      Like

      • Yes, this cousin is in his mid 70’s? And he used to race Porsche’s for a living. He still have a bit of his looks, and chases the women I hear! But aye he was cool to me, and still is! 😉

        Like

        • NEO says:

          He sounds very cool, indeed. Once upon a time, I knew most of the Jag F1 drivers (I did some work on their facility in Indiana). Fun (although driven) people. The Hawaiian Tropic Girls weren’t bad either 🙂

          Like

        • Yes, I come from the car people generation, even as a Brit! I have had my share of cars too! Btw, I love the old Triumph motorcycles also! Yes, my Irish male family members liked and like beautiful women! Must be in the genes? lol And like my one older cousin, tall and lean, with curves works for me! My wife is such! A man simply must have a passion for his woman! And aye.. I still do for mine! And btw, that passion is not just physical, but must include her soul! 🙂 Thank GOD He made women!

          *Btw, just a note, but my wife has an exact twin! Both beautiful ladies! She lives in England with her husband and family. And yes, that has been interesting, her husband is 12 years younger! And he too was an RMC.

          Like

        • NEO says:

          You said a lot here, I was a car guy myself (now it’s mostly trucks and some of the cars I grew up with) but yeah, Triumph bikes were very special.

          And that’s the thing with women. It’s far more than the looks (although no guy ever said he didn’t like beautiful) brains and heart are really more important. I think God did his best work in making women! Just don’t tell them 🙂

          Like

        • Yes, how bout them British Brough Superior’s! (SS 100, 1924 -1940) I think T.E. Lawrence was riding a Brough S, when he got killed?

          Yes, my dear-heart has brains & beauty! I actually “adore” her, both body & soul!

          Creation, now there’s a big subject and debate today! 😉

          Like

        • NEO says:

          I mostly remember that a friend (or maybe his dad) had one when I was in college, somehow I mostly missed the bike gene. 🙂

          Adore is such an appropriate word, when you find the right one. Doesn’t get much bigger, does it? 🙂

          Like

        • Yes, “adore” says it all almost! WE both still touch & kiss each other daily, and say I Love You daily! The latter, I Love You! cannot be said enough! Btw, “respect” is in there also! She is MY “Eve”, and in the best way! Surely my best “gift” of God! (And she is sometimes more conservative politically than I!)

          Like

  2. the unit says:

    This would only fit in thread ’cause “the bear is loose.”
    Woman blocked from hospital while in labor for celebrity processional in L.A.
    Cartoon suggestion for Carl…Presidential limousine with trunk open, red neck pick-up slide-in camper protruding from it. Sign on camper…Gosnell’s jail Cell, …can’t cross the street? No waiting.

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Not bad, I think. Even LA was testy last night about the motorcade

      Like

      • the unit says:

        Thanks for letting me comment. I’m running out of sites as they disappear. Some folks sites younger than me….some close…some older. I can’t find newbys asking questions about what’s going on. Maybe I be too picky. 🙂

        Like

        • NEO says:

          Maybe you are but so what, if we don’t have enough time to kid around and talk about this and that, ah the hell with it, we’re supposed to be about people, all of them, not just their politics. You’re welcome here, and always will be, and I think I can speak for Jess, that she feels the same way about it. 🙂

          Business needs to get done, but so does life or it just isn’t worth it. 🙂

          Like

        • Amen here NEO! Life is about people in GOD’s creation! Redemption comes to right where we are! 🙂

          Like

        • And the three of us are certainly from another generation! 😉

          Like

        • NEO says:

          That we are, and damned proud of it! 🙂

          Like

        • I’ll Amen that again…and say Rock On! 😉

          Like

        • the unit says:

          Well thanks again! You speak for Jess as well…Ok! I always mean well.
          The old one I miss is Longstreet, the young’un is S. Roman @Americanfreedom. Blessings they were. I count them and save to my memory bank. 🙂
          Hey, had a P.T. treatment this morning with a young guy with two scars, one on each knee. He only 62. Had complication of infections, making recovery hard.
          He was on next table from me…he listened to tech call me by name, took into his M.O. and wished me well when I was dismissed.
          Yes, I blessed…just as my 83 old Doc says…I just wore out. Stuck my neck out too long…that’s where my pain and P.T. is. 🙂
          And I getting along.

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Longstreet I never made it to, don’t know why, but I miss Sarah too. She’s good people. I shouldn’t, I suppose, knowing how women be, but she’s generally more tolerant than me (lot better looking, too)

          Yep, infections’ll slow you down alright, lucky you missed out on that. Then again I blew out my knee playing football in high school, Doc told me I’d need a new one by the time I was 50, and I’m still stumblin’ on. Not as mobile as I once was, but not bad either. 🙂

          Like

        • the unit says:

          And Hi to Fr. Robert. We spoke, well…we typed some time back, he acknowledging I older, therefore…well therefore is therefore therefore.
          Yeah, you may need replacement one day, but stay with what you got ’til ’til, “just give grandma a pill.” says Doc Obama. 🙂

          Like

Leave a Reply

