Audacity

The audacity to aim for a new apogee

The audacity of a civilized people to defend themselves.

Make no mistake, the IDF is on the front line, in defense of all civilized people, for truly

There are barbarians at the gates.

I have been told that the friend of a friend, a young woman who, in college, married a Muslim, is very distressed that she has received bad comments on the street. As I said last night, her distress distresses me, but these are becoming hard times, when western civilization has little leadership, and so the barbarians are restless. I recognize that in years past, the chasm between Christian and Jew on the one hand, and Islam and the secular humanist on the other, did not seem so wide. But I am afraid, unless she can find a way to recant her choice, she will have to live with the consequences of choosing darkness. May God have mercy on her, for it may not be possible for man to.

It bothers me to say that because I think many, likely including her, made this choice lightly, thinking that joining Islam was a cultural choice, like going to the Methodist church instead of the Lutheran, that in many ways it was the same. In truth, the leadership of the Christian churches have encouraged this, all the while knowing, or at least they should have known, that Christianity, like Judaism, is a religion of life, while Islam is a religion of death. We are now starting to see that decisions have consequences, even when we didn’t think so when we made them. God help us all.

On a lighter note, for it is indeed Saturday

The audacity of proper English

 

The audacity of silver linings at perigee.

 

This week has felt a good bit like this hasn’t it?

THE SECOND COMING

Turning and turning in the widening gyre
The falcon cannot hear the falconer;
Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold;
Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world,
The blood-dimmed tide is loosed, and everywhere
The ceremony of innocence is drowned;
The best lack all conviction, while the worst
Are full of passionate intensity.

 
Surely some revelation is at hand;
Surely the Second Coming is at hand.
The Second Coming! Hardly are those words out
When a vast image out of Spiritus Mundi
Troubles my sight: a waste of desert sand;
A shape with lion body and the head of a man,
A gaze blank and pitiless as the sun,
Is moving its slow thighs, while all about it
Wind shadows of the indignant desert birds.

 
The darkness drops again but now I know
That twenty centuries of stony sleep
Were vexed to nightmare by a rocking cradle,
And what rough beast, its hour come round at last,
Slouches towards Bethlehem to be born?

William Butler Yeats

 

 

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

36 Responses to Audacity

  1. I loved the Yeats quote! It seems we in the West have quite forgotten the depth and reality of great poetry! Science does not like poetry or even moral and ideological prose! I quite remember my father the scientist missing this! He could never understand my love for English Lit! But, we loved each other, and I am his first-born son. But not much of the “scientist”. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Yep, my dad was the same. I think that it was because they worked so hard and long to make a living that they never learned to listen to that part. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

      • Agreed! ๐Ÿ™‚ My father inherited some of his money, but that old German physicist Albert Einstein, and his theory of relativity had a hold on him! Funny too, but he never read Einstein’s religious and philosophical stuff? Btw, thank God Einstein went to Princeton in 1933! Note his acknowledged emphasize on the importance of his predecessors, Hume and Mach.

        Like

  2. the unit says:

    Both your fathers sound like very practical men. Mine built us a new house in ’48, likely the first from scratch of any kin before him. He would not put in conventional fireplace, said he done cut all the fire wood that needed cutting, his wife and kids would heat and cook with gas. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I would like to mention the only mention on the internet of two carpenters who helped dad build our house…Shorty Wilkerson and Mr. Ellerman, Gulfport MS. All three long gone but not forgotten.

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Yep, they do sound a bit alike. Dod did put a fireplace in when he (himself) built in 1950. Course in was in the middle of 5 acres of woodland, and well out in country. That heatilator unit would heat the entire house. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • Yes indeed my father was the patriarch type, he thought he could do almost anything! And he did do much! I chased that image for several years myself as the oldest son. But I finally gave that up, and went my own mental and intellectual way! WE used to argue religion and science some, when I became an Anglican priest/presbyter. But he ended his walk and life in a plain path of faith and Christian acceptance, thank God! And he said this was my effect? It was not of course so, but he simply loved his first-born son! God Bless his memory!

        Like

        • NEO says:

          ๐Ÿ™‚

          We argued politics a bit, he lived and died a ‘New Dealer’ for good and sufficient reasons, I think. But he stayed true to himself.

          Like

        • ‘To thine own self be true!’ (Shakespeare)… Do not deceive yourself! This is always a constant need and reality, especially in this our tech age!

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Isn’t that the truth. I often think that a goodly part of our problems, both personally and as a society, stem from people who haven’t found out who they really are. Living the dream just doesn’t work, no matter how much we all wish it did!

          Like

        • When I was a teen I dreamed of one day winning the British Open in golf! I was good, I shot almost scratch for a while (short while lol). But I could not hit the ball but about 270 at best, and of course that ain’t far enough these days, or really those days. But boy how I did love to play, and bang golf balls! Now with a bad back (surgery) after retirement, I can’t play. So reality comes back to centre! ๐Ÿ˜‰

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Yep, my comparable one was tennis. The old knees says to slow down, not that I was ever all that good, but I surely enjoyed it. Maybe if I conditioned hard enough I still could, but I don’t have a reasonable partner here either. Wonder what happened to all of those people that used to play. ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

  3. Pingback: Audacity

  4. Pingback: Audacity | Christians Anonymous

  5. the unit says:

    My Mediacom internet been off for couple of hours…was trying to send this timely.
    I think I’d put it observing life at opposite ends of a chalk line, poets and dads providing…connected but apart.
    Heat…our gas floor furnace did the same heat rising thing. Cooling was a bit longer coming. I had seen Dinah Shore’s 15 minute show @ 5pm… “See The USA in Your Chevrolet” a summer year or two before we got it, on friends tv…later even came… cooling AC unit… always one room at a time. I was a wetback then. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Always, and after the money had been earned, none of this borrowing for fripperies, like they do now. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • the unit says:

        I always followed that example and paid my bills with that which was earned. Now sit here in my tawdriness of faded jeans, yesterdays undies and socks, waiting until my turn to use washer and dryer. Sometimes I wait too long and have to use Resolve Pet Oxi on a brown spot or two. I did polish my engineer boots before going to the doctor last week. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

        • NEO says:

          Good man, it’s amazing how few people polish their boots anymore, no wonder they’re always broke. Good boots are expensive, and deserve to be taken care of ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

        • the unit says:

          I think Mae West said a good man is hard to boot out. Or something like that. The sole on my Lake of the Woods (30 years old) split out working hard after Katrina. While getting repaired I got Georgia Boot Wellingtons. When they wear out I’ll go back to the repaired Lake of the Woods. Let’s see 72 plus 30…you can make it if you try. ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Georgia’s are OK. I screwed my last pair of WESCOs up working on pivots, couldn’t keep the mud off them effectively. WESCO wanted 75% of the price of new ones to fix them so I had to pass. Maybe someday, again. Right now, Redwings will have to do. ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

        • the unit says:

          Yep. Will have to do. That’s what I mean…72 now and whatever years I git will do fine. I got resoled Lakes to be buried in. ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Yep, I hear that, wish I’d kept the WESCOs. ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

        • It’s hard to take the old RNC (Royal Marine Commando), i.e. the “Bootneck” (our name for Leatherneck) out of me! I shave every other day now (I shaved every day of course for years, save when I was in combat at times). And shinning boots and shoes was also part of that, then came the desert boots of course, but one brushed them also! The Uniform is so important for the RMC, as the American Marine of course! In the civilian sense, I have some black boots, Justin regular round toe that I keep very shinned. And I do have some black Don Post cowboy books also. As too some black Tony Lama’s. I sometimes play my Fender Jazz Bass, as my Martin acoustic guitar, mostly with a country band, so the cowboy boots. But that’s rare these days. I have played guitar since I was about 8. Now mostly I play for myself, as my wife, and sometimes for a church funeral. I don’t really like to play much in the church these days, it has become so performance oriented!

          Like

        • NEO says:

          You have much right about the performance orientation but that is a matter of discretion, mostly.

          Like

        • Damn, *RMC!

          Like

        • NEO says:

          ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

        • I have seen and had my time in some of the music stuff, it was fun somewhat, but nothing touches the firing of the arrow of the Word of God pastorally, i.e. the “kerygma”, 1 Cor. 1:21!

          Like

        • NEO says:

          I can see that, easily

          Like

  6. the unit says:

    Yeah, and I could walk in them again. In fact do put on sometimes and say…look at that! As for working, not much working out of me these days. Also little afraid maybe old leather and new stitching might fail. But they polished and ready for Beulah Land.
    BUT…so far I ain’t done yet. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Nope, neither am I really. But I think my role has diminished down to telling the young’ins how it should be and how it should be done. But it ain’t nearly as much fun as doing it, but those days are, I fear, pretty much over. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  7. the unit says:

    Plug away with what you do and can do. When I reached 65 the CFP gurus said work ’til 70. I made it to almost 71. At that time they said work ’til 80. Good luck… boss died then… five years younger than me and business closed.
    Tech nerds say technology exists to extend life span to 200-300 years. Yeah, well …how about my neck and job? Both wore out. Thanks, but no thanks. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Yeah, who wants to live that long, unless we were still physically in our 40s or so. What we can, as long as we can, and I need to quite whingeing. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • the unit says:

        I never heard you whingeing. Then again my TENS unit sort of numbs me thank goodness. And it’s going now. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

        • NEO says:

          I hear you! ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

  8. Ike Jakson says:

    Great Post Nebraska

    Have you been or are you near Scottsbluff Nebraska?

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Thanks, Ike. I’ve been there once, maybe twice. I’m about 150 miles east of there, practically next door, just no good reason to go there.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Ike Jakson says:

    Nebraska

    Next time you are near Scotssbluff enquire about a new American from South Africa by the name of Carlos White. He is a handyman, builder, and painter; in short will do anything that anyone can do with his hands. Got fed up here a year ago when he couldnโ€™t find work because he is white and found a job in one of the Dakotas as a farmhand, met an American Lady and married her [adopted her little girl from a previous marriage] and started working for himself. He was earning enough money within a year to send his mother the funds for a plane ticket and she has just returned from her first visit to your shores. She runs a small eating establishment in our little hamlet and I go there for fried fish and chips on Friday mornings. Give him a pat on the shoulder and tell him we are proud of him with his parents.

    Like

Leave a Reply

