To Every Thing There is a Season

The Very Best of The Byrds

The Very Best of The Byrds (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I woke up this morning with a song in my head (as is not all that uncommon). I’ve liked music all my life, and a decent song can often become an earworm, as we all know.

But this was different, this was the song

The Byrds obviously were promoting peace back in 1965 but now its 2014 and the cry is “Peace, peace, but there is no peace” and we are witnessing a butcher’s bill not seen in 70 years. And so, Obama and Kerry have both said the work ‘Genocide’, if I remember correctly; US domestic law compels the USG to take whatever measures it can to combat genocide, as well as to protect American citizens.

And so, now, again, it is a time fo rend, to tear down, and for war.

God help us all.

That song, not incidentally, is almost direct quote of Ecclesiastes 3

 

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:

2A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;

3A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;

4A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;

5A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;

6A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away;

7A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;

8A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.

 

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

4 Responses to To Every Thing There is a Season

  1. the unit says:

    Been out of commish e-wise since early last night. A Mediacom tech got me up and going a little while ago, bad modem and couple of fried connections. Have not had time to thoroughly read last two articles so just saying… I here looking and reading, not commenting, but would not allow myself to miss it.

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Thanks, Unit. I know the feeling, that was part of why Jess was here so much this weekend, my machine was wonky as well. Now, I’m really nervous cause it seemed to fix itself, and in my world the usually means something catastrophic coming soon. But I keep hoping, cause I don’t really want to buy a new machine.

      Like

      • the unit says:

        I don’t know any tech stuff, but I’ve suspected my modem for a long while. I lose connectivity from time to time several times a day no matter what machine being used. Actually had a newby laptop in between.
        I don’t know if fix is for real…if I stay connected a day or two then maybe I’ll think so. Waiting to see. So far so good.

        Like

        • NEO says:

          That’s my motto as well, “So far, so good”

          Beyond that, we’ll have to see. I’m a bit of a techie but, it’s hardly worthwhile anymore.

          Like

Leave a Reply

