Having solved all other problems, Obama to fix your dishwasher

Seal of the United States Department of Energy.

Seal of the United States Department of Energy. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Well, guys, Apparently, our appliances still aren’t efficient enough. Of, course you know, and so do I that every time the government mandates things for your own good, the aforesaid things get worse. How many times do you flush your new super efficient toilet? Yep, so do we all. How many time do we have to flush a low flow toilet before it uses more water than the old one? 2 maybe 3.

You know of course that washers and dryers made in the 60s and 70s will last forever, you probably also know that new ones won’t, a couple of years is it. Why? because they are efficient. Sounds counterintuitive, but really, it’s not. You make things efficient by making them just barely good enough. Very little margin involved, just enough water on average, just enough motor, don’t use 16 gauge metal when 22 gauge will work, and so on. You make long term dependability by over engineering things- making them better than they absolutely have to be. You can’t have both, and you can’t choose anymore either.

From Hot Air

I guess he really was multitasking out on the golf course. The President’s team has been hard at work behind the scenes, coming up with a strategy … well, maybe we should say plan, to address the nation’s many challenges.

Spurred by President Obama’s climate action plan, the Department of Energy is pumping out new standards for refrigerators, dishwashers, air conditioners, ceiling fans, furnaces, boilers, water heaters, lamps and many more appliances.

The administration says the standards will not only help the planet but also stimulate the economy by saving consumers money on their energy bills that they can spend elsewhere.

After what we’ve been through with energy regulations, you’d think the administration would be at least a little hesitant to leap in for another grab at that brass ring. I mean, won’t a sudden raft of new requirements for the products everyone has to purchase have some, er… unintended consequences? William Teach seems to have been thinking along the same lines.

While the rules may save a bit of energy (and there is nothing wrong with that, though it should be the consumer choice, not Government Mandate), it will also drive up the cost of the appliances/devices, which will harm the lower and middle classes.

Having solved all other problems, Obama to fix your dishwasher « Hot Air.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

31 Responses to Having solved all other problems, Obama to fix your dishwasher

  1. the unit says:

    I stumbled upon from gooberling your advice months ago for some appliance I use. Oh yeah I remember now, a light bulb differing from the usual appliance 40 watter in my fridge. That worked. I wrote you about new problem and you couldn’t advise as to the new leaking problem though as you had not run into that with yours. It was leaking ice maker valve thingy I found out.
    So many towels used to dry up wetness. Wash, then dry. Yep…savings.
    I decided not to fix…let the water squirt in surveillance eye of O and Soros.
    P.S. Did stop flow though….and did it by myself. Gone back to ice trays. 🙂

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Would you be surprised that I’ve never had a fridge that had an icemaker, had two that could have them put in, and din’t really see the point. In the days when I did a certain amount of commercial appliance repair-there was no more troublesome appliance, mostly because the owner didn’t replace the filters with good enough ones, or often enough. Those small lines clog easily. Trays for me as well. 🙂

      Like

      • the unit says:

        You lucky dog! But who would need a icemaker in a camper? Mine wasn’t bought fer yours truly, uh oh… no, no… others in family who it was needed for they thought. Oh well they now use to ice trays too. 🙂

        Like

        • NEO says:

          True, but that includes my last few houses, including while I was married. You’re right, I got lucky. Ice trays work great-with just a little planning. 🙂

          Like

  2. My wife and I love Antiques! I have my share of antique book cases, ones with doors and windows are my favorite. And my wife has some antique American Indian stuff, she has bought here in the USA in the last five years or so…arrows, a peace-pipe, and even a wee tomahawk. She has some stuff up above the fireplace, etc. She also loves horse pictures, both some prints, and a few real painted ones… no junk for her! Then my collection of old Prayer Books (BCP), and one I got here, a Wesley edition or Methodist Social Hymn Book, (dated 1856). Books, yes always books! And a few English Bibles! 😉

    Like

    • NEO says:

      For me it’s also books, and woodworking tools both English and American 😉

      And if I had the money, perhaps an Elizabethan house, nothing like a dream 😀

      Like

      • Yes, just an Airplane for me! 😉 My bookcases are mostly British, but I have bought a few since I have been here, but two I got here are also Brit or old English. And an old desk too, which is American however.

        Like

        • NEO says:

          Hard to tell them apart, sometimes. We’ve been importing stuff from Britain since we imported John Winthrop. And the quality has often been better. There’s some really good American stuff floating around though, as well. 🙂

          Like

        • I bought my wife a rather expensive Thomas Kinkade Print (House picture), which he had supposedly done some kind of real touch-up to, obviously well before he died. RIP. Yes, we do acquire stuff along the way don’t we, and especially our generation!

          Like

        • NEO says:

          That we do, and our generation is old enough to recognize the good stuff. Top of my list right now, is a Springfield Armory M1-A I always loved the M-14, best of the Garands, and an outstanding all around rifle. 🙂

          Like

        • Oh don’t get me go’in on guns! When I was in the Nam, attached to the American Force Recon, we could carry just about any weapon we wanted, and sometimes we even used (per the mission) a scoped M-14 sniper version (of course 7.62 or what you call the 308), very sweet! But of course I also carried my 9mm Browning side-arm, with the regular M-16, but sometimes the .223 CAR, because of the lite weight. Though ya had to keep that weapon very clean!

          Like

        • NEO says:

          My favorite of them, that’s all. That and the 1911 A1 (or maybe the single action army depending. But you know, I used to have an SMLE that I liked a lot too.

          I could spend several fortunes on things I want, of course. 😉

          Like

        • I have a few side/by/side shotguns that were me dads and grad-fathers, one is a Graham & Co. Innverness 12 bore. And a few .303 Enfields, both the carbine and the infantry, WW 1 and II. They are of course in our home in greater London (my oldest son lives there). That house is worth too much to sell at this point! Besides it looks as if our son’s will want it!

          Yes the great problem of “stuff”, is where to store and keep it!

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Nice, my dad’s only gun was a .410 bolt action shotgun, ands its the only gun that I never could shoot worth a plugged nickel. It had maybe about a 24″ barrel, and I can hit better with a trench gun. Indeed, I’ve never seen such prices as the London housing market, when I was doing well, I couldn’t have afforded a 1 bedroom flat.

          It surely is!

          Like

        • Strangely, the market (UK) is somewhat down right now. But our house is again still worth more than even we could have imagined! Let’s just hope the UK stays in one piece? 😉

          Like

        • NEO says:

          I quite agree, and also hope it decided to be the UK again instead of a European province. 😉

          Like

        • NEO: In reality the English most especially have always been somewhat European (in WW 1 the English King and the German Kaiser were cousins), but not so much either the Irish Republic, or Scotland. But indeed times have a changed with the Irish Republic going with the EU sadly. And the Scots wanting to go maybe Independent? (Note btw how many British military bases are in Scotland!) And there are actually many Brits now that want to get away from the EU! WE share see?

          Like

        • I should have said before WW1, with the King of England and the German Kaiser, as cousins and friends to some degree. But indeed many so-called “English” have somewhat tended to see the European model for some reason?

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Seems to go all the way back to the conquest. The upper class has always been sympathetic to the French, witness Somerville at Oran in 1940. Not the other ranks though.

          Like

        • Btw, note just how screwed-up the Aussies and down-under has become! And their supposed to be British! Even the “Kiwi’s” which tend to be somewhat traditional British like, have taken a nose-dive also! And the new Canadian PM appears much more conservative, though of course Canadians themselves are all over the place, it just depends where one is at in Canada, i.e. the province. I like British Columbia and Alberta myself! Maybe sometime in the future we might move to Vancouver, or Victoria on Vancouver Island, B.C.?

          Like

        • NEO says:

          I’m fond or the Canucks myself. My family is from between Fargo and Pembina, and dad told of marching in the parade at Ft. Garry, now Winnipeg. Never really seemed like a border at all.

          Like

        • Yes UGH with the Upper Crust “English” pretty much! Though this generation of the 20-30 crowd is a mess in just about anywhere!

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Pretty much, I note that nearly all of my friends, worked their way up.

          Like

        • I miss the smell of the sea and just the sea air! And I like fog and just the overcast! Thus Vancouver Island, and perhaps Victoria? We shall see in time perhaps, God is provident!

          Like

        • NEO says:

          That He is, and I can understand that.

          Like

    • the unit says:

      Fr. Robert were they out of authentic tom toms in Cherokee when, I guessing y’all were there.
      There are some for sale on ebay. 🙂
      A little history of the nation in the war of northern aggression.
      http://www.tennesseehistory.com/class/Thunder.htm

      P.S. I have two arrowheads my dad found in his boyhood in north central MS. in early 19 hundreds. Obviously dropped by Fauxcahontas. I’ll hold on to them ’til she becomes president, then they be worth zillions!!! I’d make your wife a good deal though, for a friend. 🙂

      Like

      • Unit: My wife has a real American Indian source! Which is in Utah I believe? Her stuff is very authentic!

        Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Just a little American “joshing” with you, you know that. Not Josh Earnest style. 🙂

          Like

  3. the unit says:

    Btw NEO did you notice CC is picking up some ads? I actually enjoyed the 10 actors who died on the set or production. I got no objection if it helps keep sites going, I will have to get laptop tuned as it is a slow mess waiting to load them. Rat emailed me that the money is good over at IJR.

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Nor do I, but I tend to run an adblocker, some sites get carried away. Good for him, he deserves it.

      Like

      • the unit says:

        Nothing irritates me more than the scroll arrow disappearing and then get automatic ad if you click where arrow was. Seems to be spreading. It’s worse when one has zoom tool at 125 like I need. Arrow disappears and behold an ad is there to be clicked on when I think I’m scrolling.
        I didn’t know about ad block. Will see if I can get learned about it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

