A Miracle for a Dear Friend

mary_rosary-31

And all shall be well and
All manner of things shall be well
By the purification of the motive
In the ground of our beseeching.

Julian of Norwich

Some of you know that Jessica has been ill. It has been held rather closely for obvious reasons but perhaps I can tell you a bit now. Jess went to the doctor early in September with what she thought was sinusitis, would that it had been. It turned out to be a very aggressive cancer. A week ago, those of us close to her were despairingly preparing to say goodbye. If you know us at all, you know that there was much prayer involved for, and by, all concerned.

But I think most of us here believe that prayer does work, and often. I have felt the effects of Jess’ prayers several times, and perhaps this time mine, and others as well, were heard. I think I can in good conscience, share a bit of what Jess wrote on her (private) blog today.

There was a moment, just over a week ago, when I thought that was it. If it was His will, then I was ready to bow to it – after all, I would be going home, and have many people there with whom I look forward to being reunited – and for my friends here, well it would be but a short while before we were united again. But, for whatever reason, God decided it was not my time, although, as the medics keep telling me, it may well be, and soon, as the cancer may return as mysteriously as it seems to have gone; bless them, you can’t expect a medic to believe in miracles.

I do believe in them, and in my case they come, at least in part, through the dedicated care of doctors and nurses – and hospital chaplains – as well as the prayers of friends and family. We are, as people, so much better than we sometimes allow ourselves to be in the press of everyday life, and during times like the one I have just been through, you see people at their best, as they set aside the ephemera of every day and focus on what we can do best when we act in the image of God – that is the giving of love and of care. As one reaches some kind of extremis time changes, it ceases to be linear. There were times when it moved swiftly, times it moved so slowly minutes seemed like days; and, in my condition, times when whole days vanished in a morphine-induced oblivion.

I believe in them as well, and believe we have witnessed one here. Because today, Jess moved to a convalescent center, without cancer. She is quite weak, she tells me, and uncertain of her future. But a week ago, we who love her had despaired of that future.

And so today I can ask you all to join me in a prayer of thanksgiving from the Book of Common Prayer

GOD, who art the giver of life, of health, and of safety; We bless thy Name, that thou hast been pleased to deliver from her bodily sickness Jessica, thy servant, who now desireth to return thanks unto thee, in the presence of all thy people. Gracious art thou, O Lord, and full of compassion to the children of men. May her heart be duly impressed with a sense of thy merciful goodness, and may she devote the residue of her days to an humble, holy, and obedient walking before thee; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

21 Responses to A Miracle for a Dear Friend

  1. Indeed Praise be to God! May ‘the Lord of Glory’ continue this movement of health, this side of glory, and give Jessica full recovery! 🙂 Indeed “Christ Jesus” is Risen and Ascended, the Lord of Life and Death! (Rom. 14: 7-8 ; verse 9: “For to this end Christ both died, and rose, and revived, that HE might be Lord both of the dead and living.” (KJV)

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Amen, and Amen.

      Like

  2. the unit says:

    I read the Common Pray and recited it and in my simple way as I pray…in Jesus name amen.

    Like

    • NEO says:

      and Amen.

      Thank you, Unit, from both of us.

      Like

      • Here is just one of my Anglican Collect Prayers for the Sick, and one I have prayed for Jessica with… “Almighty Father, giver of life and health: Look mercifully, we beseech thee, on the sick and suffering, especially those for whom our prayers are desired; [my list is long] that, by thy blessing upon them and upon those who minister to them, they may be restored, if it be thy gracious will, to health of body and mind, and give thanks to thee in thy holy Church; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.”

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Fr. Robert, much as I love my Lutheran prayers, I also often use the BCP, especially the older versions, simply the best in English.

          We both thank you for your prayers.

          Like

        • @NEO, True Prayer is always really corporate, and here of course the history of the BCP, with all of the so-called English Collects are such a blessing! And too the Lutheran prayers also! The Reformational Church is really rich here! What a blessing just being part of such a corporate place and body… a churchman in God’s grace & glory! And being a chaplain still is really such a mercy and providence, as ‘In Christ’! I always count it one of my richest blessings to pray for God’s People! Again, thanks be to God for Jess! May she have good and blessed days ahead! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  3. the unit says:

    Good guidance here, yes. However, I don’t know the prayers in a book. I say what’s on my mind to needs for myself, family and what seems to be troubling the world. Usually just lay me down to sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to keep. Then I fall to sleep and so far have waked up in the morning Too easy I guess?

    Like

    • NEO says:

      I’m no expert, Unit. Mine are usually ad hoc as well, usually while I’m walking. I do use the Book of Common Prayer and the Lutheran Book of Worship some, especially in the morning and evening to concentrate my mind, and sometimes I do the Rosary as well. it depends on the day as much as anything, but being a bit more formal helps me to close my mind down enough to sleep, usually. 🙂

      The main thing is to talk to the Boss, I think. I doubt He cares much what words we use. 🙂

      Like

      • Amen! I only use so-called liturgical type prayers to help my mind track on the subject or subjects. But surely to pour out one’s heart to the Lord demands some spontaneity, but prayer also does need some premeditation and thought. At least this is how it works for me. But thankfully God’s knows our heart before we ask! I also like to read some of the old mystical people, I love this statement by the profound Anglican women, Evelyn Underhill: ‘Love is a grave and ruthless passion, unlimited in self-giving and unlimited in demand!’

        Liked by 1 person

        • 🙂 I also like Hymnology… the Gospel in hymns can be so profound! And take us into prayer…A mighty fortress is our God!

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Yep, some of the best theology going is in those hymns 🙂

          Like

        • the unit says:

          I do get it fellows. Had to research corporate prayer. To make sure not something bought by the Koch brothers. 🙂 I have prayed with others, just had not heard it called that.

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Yeah, Unit, sometime I hang around with professional god-botherers so much that I start talking like them. They’re actually pretty fun, too. 🙂

          Like

        • Really the only thing “professional” about the old irishanglican, is “God’s calling”! Strange how God uses sinful-beings in His use of the Gospel? Indeed “Amazing Grace”!

          Like

  4. chalcedon451 says:

    A splendid post Neo.

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Thanks, Chalcedon. I was a bit nervous about it, for obvious reasons.

      Like

      • chalcedon451 says:

        Understood – but a fine piece.

        Like

        • NEO says:

          Thanks.

          Like

  5. Oh my. Been wrapped up in my own issues of late. Please, pass on my best to Jess. Prayers of course for intercession will be coming her way. Miracles do happen.

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Thank you. I will, of course, when I can. Her internet, at the convent where she is recovering is limited. And yes, they do indeed,

      Like

Leave a Reply

