Martin Luther Reviews Joel Osteen’s ‘Your Best Life Now’

That about sums it up, I think.

Zwinglius Redivivus

Luthers handschriftlicher Eintrag der Lebensdaten der Heiligen Elisabeth in dem Sammelband mit der Signatur 75.2 Quod. Luthers handschriftlicher Eintrag der Lebensdaten der Heiligen Elisabeth in dem Sammelband mit der Signatur 75.2 Quod.

May God punish you, I say, you shameless, barefaced liar, devil’s mouthpiece, who dares to spit out, before God, before all the angels, before the dear sun, before all the world, your devil’s filth. You are in all you do the very opposite of Christ as befits a true Antichrist. You are the devil’s most dangerous tool! Must we believe your nightmares? We leave you to your own devices, for nothing properly suits you except hypocrisy, flattery, and lies.– Martin Luther

View original post

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

11 Responses to Martin Luther Reviews Joel Osteen’s ‘Your Best Life Now’

  1. the unit says:

    Well, I don’t know what to say. I haven’t read a inspiration or self help book since “I’m Ok, You’re Ok.” That turned into tripe for me an mine back then. They seem to do well without my money. 🙂

    Like

    • NEO says:

      I’m the same, they’re all tripe, I think 🙂

      Like

      • Good old Luther! Rev. 3: 16 comes to mind here…”So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth.” And boy howdy, so-called Biblical Theology is so lukewarm today!

        Like

        • NEO says:

          Yep, he tends to say what he thinks, and leave little doubt. Wish some other folks would try it, might change a lot of things!

          Like

        • The church of modernity & postmodernity, has lost the Reformers, straight-up! As old Philip Melanchthon said when Luther died: “Alas, gone is the horseman and the chariots of Israel.”

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Melancthon had a way with words, he was also right.

          Like

        • Yes, I actually do like old Philip sometimes… He was a real intellect! But like Erasmus he missed it on so-called Free-Will! See Luther’s, The Enslaved Will (1525). Or again as Luther called it, “bound choice”! 🙂

          Like

        • Luther was so against the idea of the so-called Freedom of the Will! Like a horse with a bit in its mouth! He could not abide with it! It comes out of St. Paul and Augustine for him! And sadly today for us, we are seeing a renewal of a kind of Pelagianism in many churches.

          Like

  2. the unit says:

    As I’ve mentioned before I don’t know much about these old theologians. My example was my mom from Sunday School and Vacation Bible School. It was a old fire and brimstone preacher visiting our church where he convinced me to announce my public profession of faith. Ol’ R. G. Lee, Baptist, from Bellevue in Memphis. I don’t think he ever got rich, his famous sermon was “Pay Day Someday.”
    But Mom’s example is what I witnessed all through the years, teaching and giving. When she had to go into assisted living and sold her house, I was signed on to administrate those matters. She simply said I was to give her tithe to the Lord through her church and so it was done…$25,000. Blessings as it sold about a year before Katrina absolutely washed it off the face of the earth. Well so was her church and the assisted living facility.
    Her last days were in a nursing facility near my home in Florida which at the time cost $1050/week from January to June (September to January was the 100 days Medicare benefit and a little hospice ) . But Lord had provided the funds. She was happy and comfortable and led prayer meetings there… an aide told me “your mother shore can pray.”
    After her passing her wheelchair and clothes disappeared. Went to the Lord’s work at the home as well. 🙂

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Yep, and you know, neither Jess’ nor my dad hardly ever darkened the door of a church, but they were fine Christian me, I think. 🙂

      Like

      • As the old saying goes, one of the big surprises in Heaven will be seeing those who we did not believe were Christians; but of course the biggest surprise is that WE ourselves are there! Surely we will never define completely the Grace and Mercy of God! But GOD is both a just and merciful God In Christ! Sadly however our modern and now postmodern culture knows almost nothing of this! WE really are in the midst of the great Gentile Apostasy, (2 Tim. 3, note verse 5!) And is not the true faith a confessional reality, but also within? (2 Cor. 13: 5)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

