Take Away That Foolish Bauble, the Mace

So said Oliver Cromwell, as he dismissed Parliament back in 1653. I suspect the Canadians disagree these days. You see carrying the mace (essentially a medieval club) is one of the duties of the Sergeant-at-Arms. But the job has an actual security component as well, the defense of the King (or the Speaker) is what it originally was. He done good.

But he had some surprising back-up mobilizing as well

From Weaponsman

[…]

The Canadian politicians did none of that. Now, the PM did hide in a closet, which is only partly excused by the fact that it was his bodyguards that stuffed him in there. At least he had the stones to reject his American counterpart’s invitation to call this “workplace violence,” American-style. But the rank and file MPs took action:

Some positioned themselves on risers that flanked doors, ready to attack an assailant.

“There were 15 flags up at caucus and all but two were taken down,” one MP recalled.

“These guys were up there holding these spears ready to impale anyone who came in,” the source said.

“It was that or get mowed down,” the member of Parliament said of the threat posed by a gunman who was ultimately shot dead by Parliament Hill security.

The MPs-turned-halberdiers (or at least, pikemen) didn’t know that the PM was still in the caucus room, or the closets thereto, until a flying wedge of Mounties swept him out of there.

It looks like Canada will be springing for new flags, as the MPs who manned-up during the attack have grown attached to theirs.

Continue with A Weapon is Where You Find It | WeaponsMan.

Good for them, it’s nice to see some men in charge, and Canada’s about as good as it gets, anyway.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

33 Responses to Take Away That Foolish Bauble, the Mace

  1. Actually the Canadians got somewhat lucky in my opinion, that this was some loner, who was somewhat under-armed, and not too savvy! But yes, thanks be to the armed SAA, and his shooting ability! But sad again for the poor Canadian soldier, RIP! And his family. WE live in a fallen, broken world.. and we must keep alert, even more so today!

    Like

    • NEO says:

      They did, and I think they know that. But it was good to see the Members arming themselves to defend their house.

      Like

      • Yes, the “Canuck’s” always come thru, their military record speaks for itself!

        Like

        • NEO says:

          True that 🙂

          Like

  2. the unit says:

    NEO, thanks for the details and link. I thought I followed it, but in MSM it was different. They said Sarg. @ Arms shot the guy, and I thought Sarg. is always armed. I guess only the enemy and bad guys.

    Like

    • NEO says:

      That struck me as strange as well, Unit. I would have thought so as well, maybe it doesn’t work with the ceremonial uniform or something.

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        I bet something changes there now as to protection from work place violence. Hope it will. And I know they called it what it is.

        Like

        • NEO says:

          Yep, Canucks are rational. There’s even rumors that the guards (it’s the equivalent of the Tomb of the Unknowns) now have pointy bullets. I hope so.

          Like

        • the unit says:

          I hope they get some hollow points for up close and Sniper #1 is stationed overlooking them with intelligence observation reporting in all the time. And their fellows, not NSA or CIA.

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Likely not, since they’re military, but I agree with all you say.

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Yeah, just bumps in the road.

          Like

        • NEO says:

          No, what I meant is that they’ll likely have hardball, the interpretation has always been (although it makes little sense) that HP violates the Geneva convention, of course so does terrorism but that doesn’t seem to count.

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Oh well let’s dust some know liberal feathers with conservative truth. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          That’s know it all liberal feathers.

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Works, and well, for me 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Yeah. Geneva Convention. No good for war. But good for more than a billion for from Post Office, NASA, Dept. of Agriculture to Homeland. Excuse me! lol

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Yep

          Like

        • Hardball still works, if ya know how to put that round down range! 😉

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Indeed it does 🙂

          Like

        • the unit says:

          For sure and willing to be beheaded together or be beheaded separately.
          http://ratnation.me/2014/10/26/rehana-the-famous-female-kurdish-fighter-responsible-for-100-isis-deaths-has-been-beheaded/

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Yep, I saw that as well.

          But if we each take a hundred +, before they get us, we win.

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          I like 100+ to one. Just that my stamina compared to when I was only in 60’s is a bit diminished. But yes come to my door and I’ll meet ya. That’s a modern song that I don’t keep up with all that but l looked at lyrics and say to Islam…Taqiyya…come to my door.
          From ‘True Grit’… Bust a cap. And before that Boston Blackie…Pop a cap.

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Yep, I always remember that “one eyed fat man” myself, and 2 out of three ain’t bad. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Not a’tall. And I got the ricochet formula from the Leghorn flick. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  3. the unit says:

    Foolish babble. NASA rocket blows up.
    ABC July 6, 2010
    A few days ago, in Cairo, Bolden told Al Jazeera that when he became the NASA administrator, President Obama charged him with three things: “One, he wanted me to help re-inspire children to want to get into science and math; he wanted me to expand our international relationships; and third, and perhaps foremost, he wanted me to find a way to reach out to the Muslim world and engage much more with dominantly Muslim nations to help them feel good about their historic contribution to science and engineering — science, math and engineering.”

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Babble, babble, babble. I wish someone would name just one beyond a few pretty mosques. You know why they don’t, Unit? Mostly because there aren’t any!

      Skaelings, that’s all they are.

      I get so tired of BS some days! 🙂

      Like

      • the unit says:

        I been gone off to pre-bedtime nap a couple of hours. Well that includes supper as well. I had to look up….skaelings that’s all they are. Best I can tell they fantasy beings of some sort of internet game i.e. MobaFire or some such. Well ok, that’s all they are. No wonder we got no leaders. And yeah, BS weary most days. 🙂 But this fantasy being hanging in to see election results and then some more.

        Like

        • NEO says:

          Not quite, Unit. That’s what my ancestors, the Vikings, called the Indians in North America, it means basically, savages. 🙂

          Like

        • the unit says:

          Oh ok. One can’t always believe what one finds on the internet. But yours defines our enemy and the other our leadership, and maybe both the same really. 🙂

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Pretty close at that, and in some ways barbarians also work, since the goal is to overturn the work of millenia. 🙂

          Like

        • the unit says:

          Yes, and with this I signing out for now. Been clinching my teeth so much today I got TMJ syndrome. Got to relax my old jaw and remember not to sleep on the side of my head that shifts my jaw out of whack. See you next time. Been fun and serious as well.

          Like

        • NEO says:

          That’s when it’s best, I think. Look in tomorrow, I think you’ll like it. Have a good night, my friend.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

