Westward look, the land is bright?

This is a post of Jessica’s first published on 31 December 2013. It was sort of a retrospective of what has gone wrong in our countries. She also makes the point, with which I strongly agree, that we need to be choosing by the person, not by the party label. In this election, most of the people I would vote for are Republicans but, I look for the character, not the label. Neo


 

4021828787As we come to the end of 2013, conservatives on both sides of the Atlantic could be forgiven for not wishing each other a happy New Year. On my blog, my co-author, Chalcedon has penned a philippic [I am sorry, very sorry in fact, but it is no longer available because that blog is now private.] about the shortcomings of conservative politicians which amounts to saying they aren’t worth voting for.

I’m not a politician or an analyst, but I am instinctively conservative on social norms, at least by modern standards. My instincts are those of a Christian: I loathe abortion; I am not a fan of contraception (although see where it can be useful); I dislike the ways in which easy divorce is leading to generations of children without fathers; and I am in favour of the traditional family and see it as the bed rock of social unity. So I tend to vote for any politician who also seems to favour these things. Were I fortunate enough to be an American, I should have noted Republican last time; and I would have done so without great enthusiasm, as I know many of you did. I would have been downcast at President Obama’s victory, as I would have been at the disorganised nature of the Republican opposition to him.

Over here we have a Coalition Government in which the Conservatives have a large majority of seats, but which is hell-bent on pushing through an act to legalise gay marriage. It is content to allow Courts to rule that Christians have no protection against being made to work on a Sunday, or to abstain from having to perform civil partnerships in Registry Offices.  I am sure it differs in some significant way from the other parties, but perhaps it needs to enlighten me as to how.

But perhaps we need to remember that, at least for the Christians amongst us, politics are not the most important thing. Jesus and the Apostles were not, whatever some of our church leaders think, involved in social activism and political reform. For us, nothing is more important that witnessing to the Gospel message of love and repentance. Jesus knew what our politicians of all types don’t  – that the only change that actually effects the world’s problems is a change of heart.  Real change, unlike President Obama’s mantra, only comes from a supernatural rebirth of the corrupted human heart. From that personal transformation comes other tranformations – of the family, the community and the nation. America’s Founding Fathers understood that – ‘One Nation – under God’.

So, call me Pollyanna, and I’ll put my blue dress on and put my hair in plaits, but I cannot get myself worked up about conservatism and its plight. The politicos will continue to play their games, and what we really need are more like dear Rebecca Hamilton. If I lived in her District, I’d be voting Democrat, because of her, not because of anything that party does. And perhaps that is where the real fight back begins? Not with labels, but with people. Get the right people willing to do what Rebecca does, and we can say, as Churchill (http://youtu.be/mdImjJzAAIs) did:

 

For while the tired waves, vainly breaking,
Seem here no painful inch to gain,
Far back, through creeks and inlets making,
Comes silent, flooding in, the main.

 

And not by eastern windows only,
When daylight comes, comes in the light;
ln front the sun climbs slow, how slowly,
But westward, look, the land is bright.


 

But you know, this week we again get to choose who represents us in Washington. I like you, am often disappointed with the quality of the candidates. While I’ve written little about it this year, I have been paying attention, and I will vote for those I think best. I ask you to as well.

This ad, I think lays it out almost perfectly.

And so the main thing to remember is this:

If we don’t demand the best, we will get the rest.

Neo

About JessicaHof
Anglican Christian, evangelist, survivor, grateful

5 Responses to Westward look, the land is bright?

  1. the unit says:

    I go so far back with that thought… “I vote for the ‘man’ not the party.” Er…before women ran.
    This is the first time though I wouldn’t mark anybody with a “D.” And I did it early.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      I agree with you this time, Unit.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “Conservatism is not so much a philosophy as an attitude, a constant force, performing a timeless function in the development of a free society, and corresponding to a deep and permanent requirement of human nature itself.”

    Sadly the Conservative party in/of the UK has quite lost its way, as too in the USA! Only a moral change and order can save both lands, and this can alone be found in the Judeo-Christian Revelation! But only a remnant these days, (Lk. 18: 6-8).

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Ike Jakson says:

    Very good Post, Nebraska. In fact excellent will describe it even better. It is often good to see ourselves through the eyes of our friends who are not as involved in the emotions as we are. I am in agreement with her views, word for word all of them.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. the unit says:

    We have much division in our country even before the present…reward our friends, revenge on our enemies administration.
    Maybe you and those who have studied much can address this. Something from the internet. I don’t know how truthful it is.
    http://www.beliefnet.com/resourcelib/docs/54/Letter_from_Thomas_Jefferson_to_Dr_Thomas_Cooper_1.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

A Paradoxical Millennial

Somewhat-alternative thoughts on Society and Culture

SupportOurLefty

Totally unconditional support for Our Lefty, i.e. Me, friends.

From the Green Notebook

My thoughts on war, warfare, and leadership

Organized Lunacy

Inspiration and motivation for every life situation.

historyxpolitics

" God cannot alter the past, though Historians can. "

Charlie R. Claywell

Exploring How Being American Affects My World View.

joyfullyandperfectlyhis

My life as a daughter of the King

Journey Towards Easter

Discovering the beauty of truth

My Daily Musing

With God we will gain the victory, and he will trample our enemies. Psalms 109:13

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

An Unlikely Wanderer

God will give to the soul a new understanding of God in God, the old human understanding being cast aside – and a new love of God in God. - St. John of the Cross

Think Defence

UK Defence Issues and the odd container or two

Anglicanicons

Writing in words and pictures

The Catechesis of Caroline

A Catholic woman blogging about life

Changing Skin and other stories

Creative Writing and unfinished business...

Omaha News & World Report

Local, National, & World News; Expert Reviews, Biased Commentary, Raw Polls, & Random Musings

Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Joanne Begiato Muses on History

Talking through my research

nebraskaenergyobserver

The view from the Anglosphere

The Nice Thing About Strangers

Creative Non-Fiction Short Stories. :) Travel, Oldsters, Love, and Compassion.

Ye Olde Soapbox

News and Views, Stimulus for the masses

World History Blog

The view from the Anglosphere

Watcher of Weasels

Keeping an eye on the weasels of the world

Villainous Company

The view from the Anglosphere

Unedited Politics

Just Political Videos

Two Nerdy History Girls

The view from the Anglosphere

Thomas Sowell's Townhall.com Column

The view from the Anglosphere

Thin Pinstriped Line

The view from the Anglosphere

The Tree of Mamre

Politics, religion, and life. Unapologetically conservative, Christian, and iconoclastic.

The DXZone.com Amateur Radio Internet Guide

The view from the Anglosphere

