The Center Cannot Hold

ff68080e47ca2e9bab95a6349766aacb3811374b809571b1a4dc7a8a3bc3511cWell, my friends, and colleagues, today is election day,

Get out and vote!

Many of you know that my partner, Jessica, got seriously ill in September, and underwent a cure which could only have been a miracle from God. She chose to recuperate in a cloister, and it increasingly appears that she intends to stay there.

May God continue to bless her, I want only the best for her. But I find that, at least for now, i cannot bear to write knowing she will likely never be here again.

Maybe that will change someday but, for now that is how it is. And so I am suspending the blog for the present.

I want to thank you all, I have had a wonderful time with you. And I will miss you as well. The blog will remain here for the foreseeable future, so feel free to read our articles. Some, mostly Jessica’s, are quite wonderful.

I hope to return someday, and so I hope you will keep us in mind.

A bit of Yeats to finish off

Turning and turning in the widening gyre
The falcon cannot hear the falconer;
Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold;
Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world,
The blood-dimmed tide is loosed, and everywhere
The ceremony of innocence is drowned;
The best lack all conviction, while the worst
Are full of passionate intensity.

    Surely some revelation is at hand;
Surely the Second Coming is at hand.
The Second Coming! Hardly are those words out
When a vast image out of Spiritus Mundi
Troubles my sight: a waste of desert sand;
A shape with lion body and the head of a man,
A gaze blank and pitiless as the sun,
Is moving its slow thighs, while all about it
Wind shadows of the indignant desert birds.

The darkness drops again but now I know
That twenty centuries of stony sleep
Were vexed to nightmare by a rocking cradle,
And what rough beast, its hour come round at last,
Slouches towards Bethlehem to be born?

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

23 Responses to The Center Cannot Hold

  1. the unit says:

    Best wishes for both of you. Will miss you. I hope you keep your email alert list as I’ll be watching in case you return. Thanks.

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Thanks, Unit. I think I think I will be and I hope Jess will be, but right now, it hurts too much. I’ll delete nothing, so if you don’t-you’ll be the first to know.

      Like

  2. Indeed life here in this broken, fallen and dying world is always about change! When Samuel Rutherford lay dying a friend came to see him in his bed, and he said: ‘Well I see that you are still in the land of the living…to which he said, no I am still in the land of the dying, but soon I will be in the land of the living!’ Indeed it is so very hard for us to look toward what we cannot see, save by faith! And of course that faith is itself “the gift of God”! (Eph. 2: 8)

    “For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory; While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.” (2 Cor. 4: 17-18, KJV)

    May God Bless us all who know Christ by faith, to hope in Him!

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO: You know me somewhat, always the “preacher”! 😉 My prayers are for both you and dear Jessica! Indeed “Christ Jesus” is surely enough! 🙂

      Like

      • NEO says:

        I do, Thanks, Fr. Robert. 😉

        Like

  3. Ike Jakson says:

    Thanks for doing so much to keep us informed, Nebraska. Go with God and stay close to Him. I know you will. Until Wederzijn.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Thanks, Ike. Someday, perhaps, we’ll resume, I hope so anyway.

      Like

  4. chalcedon451 says:

    I ticked ‘like’, although I don’t really, as I will miss your forthright comments and poetic extracts. As you know, I understand and respect your verdict. But know you will be missed. C451

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Thanks C451. I do know that and hope someday, I will be able to resume, because I already miss it, although not the pain.

      Like

      • chalcedon451 says:

        I know whereof you speak my friend.

        Like

        • NEO says:

          Thank you.

          Like

        • Just a quick note on “pain”, but for the Christian, the Cross is a spirituality of redemptive suffering, and of course this is not always an easy intellectual exercise… “But we have this treasure in jars of clay (literally, “in earthen vessels”, of course our bodies) to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body. For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus sake, so that his life may also be revealed in our mortal body.” (2 Cor. 4: 7-11)

          An amazing place of redemptive-suffering ‘In Christ’! Here words rather fall short, save the revelation of God!

          Liked by 1 person

        • Brandon Christensen says:

          chalcedon451,

          I’m a big fan of the recently-launched group blog, All Around the Western Front, that you and NEO are a part of (well at least you, anyway).

          I hope you guys keep at it.

          Like

        • NEO says:

          I’m sure C. will be along, but we’re finding it a bit of a strain with Neo, Jess’ blog and AATWF. And it often ends up at the end of the list.

          So we’ll see

          Like

        • chalcedon451 says:

          Thanks Brandon!

          Like

  5. Mike says:

    Thanks NEO. I’ve enjoyed your stuff. I’ll think of you if I ever get back to eat a Runza (no cheese) and Cruise O street. Go Knights!

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      You bet, Mike. Leave it in the reader, maybe after some time, I hope so, anyway.

      Also the best burgers (well, fast food anyway, in the state). Next time I get there I’ll think of you.

      Ha! My step-kids were Black Knights!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Brandon Christensen says:

    Hey NEO,

    Sorry I’m late to the party and even sorrier to hear the bad news.

    Keep ya head up.

    Like

    • NEO says:

      No problem, Brandon. Sometimes it’s a bit much but, hey, she’s alive and that’s enough for now. I just need to get it worked through, I was going to say head, but it’s more a matter of the heart. I suspect there’ll be a post or two next week.

      Like

      • Brandon Christensen says:

        Glad to hear it.

        Maybe you could ease you way into things here again by blogging over at All Around the Western Front 😉

        Like

        • NEO says:

          Maybe 😉 Still, like you, I’ve got some pretty loyal readers here that deserve better of me.

          Like

        • Brandon Christensen says:

          It’s hard being a rock star, and that ain’t no lie.

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Maybe I’ll find out some day 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

