Townie

Like you all, I love it when my friends surprise me, and Rachael really did me yesterday morning. She’s been writing very wonderful Haiku lately, and I always enjoy them but, I do miss her fiction. Or at least she says they’re fiction, somehow they ring true for me, and I thought this one might for you as well.

It seems to me that it would speak to almost any of us who grew up in an old house, with the proviso that an old house in this part of America is practically new in Rachael’s part of England. Enjoy!!

Sometimes I still harbour the idea of cultivating the genteel and ordered rural existence I have read about, but it always gets scuppered. If it isn’t by being kept awake by the sociable Death Watch beetles as they tap out amorous messages to one another through the timber framed walls, it’s the delighted squeaks of rats shamelessly having sex in the thatch while the vicar raises his voice in embarrassment as we sip Earl Grey from china teacups and nibble on cucumber sandwiches. With the crusts off, of course. But what I have found most important in the absence of a companion, is an adequate supply of hot water bottles.

542bb-sheep-covered-in-snow-in-003

I am lying in my king size bed with two freshly filled luxury specimens bought by a friend who had taken pity on me last Christmas, and I am gloating. It’s the only place in this house that’s even remotely above freezing. From the tiny mullion window that pokes out from beneath the eaves of the thatch, I watch Edward my next door neighbour leading his two mares into their meadow. They have made it clear they think it’s a rotten idea. They toss their heads and skitter sideways; not in that happy rather frisky way horses sometimes do, but as if something unpleasant is imminent. It has taken them less than ten seconds to make up their minds about the cold white stuff that’s just blanketed everything. I know, and my next door neighbour knows they’ll be complaining at the gate within minutes wanting to be let back in the warm. His hens aren’t impressed with the snow, either. They peer one by one out of the opening in the chicken house, then executing a nifty on-the-spot twizzle, scoot back to the stinking fug of the nesting boxes. Edward will be rather cold out there, and I am feeling smug because I am not – I am warm as toast.

The truth is, it’s time. To throw in the towel, that is. Call it a day. Quit while I’m ahead. Moving to the country was a very nice idea, but the lenses have finally fallen out of my rose coloured specs and I’m not even going to bother looking for them. It’s mostly about the weather really. When did we last have a proper summer? And speaking of roses, the leaves of the Blush Noisette I planted to grace my front porch have turned completely black and fallen off for the second year running, and the few blooms struggling to open drooped shamefully and sprouted powdery mildew that looked suspiciously like a serious case of dandruff. Even the tulips wilted pale in the orchard and gave up. The lawn did grow some fine looking weeds though…

 

Continue reading Townie | Changing Skin and other stories.

Like most of you, I have no experience with thatched roofs although I suppose the sod roof on the old prairie soddies wouldn’t be all that different. Other than that it sounds like life on one of our older farms, doesn’t it? And I know her well enough to know that her garden is spectacular and done with love.

It also, for some reason made me think of this.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

42 Responses to Townie

  1. the unit says:

    I hope not to be too far off thread.
    I’m sure I missed the English nuances here. But not the old house, fun and love… and cold. I remember but three memories of my grandfather who passed in ’50. Very dear is the one where he had me in his lap before the fireplace with me holding the poker turning red hot in the hot coals of yes coal. I know I finally fell asleep there. It was an old house down by the railroad track, across it according to town folks.

    Like

    • NEO says:

      You’re not Unit, that’s pretty much my lesson from it as well, ans she’s a superb writer besides. 🙂

      Like

      • the unit says:

        And stupid everybody is from across the tracks now according to Guber Pile and the Masters. 🙂
        Forrest Gump might say life is like the cats litter box, you know what’s in it. 🙂
        No, no I’m waiting to see what transpires after the election. Blogs are quite waiting as well.

        Like

        • NEO says:

          Yep, it’s pretty much a down time for us all. But I do get tired of ‘my lords and masters’ from east of the Hudson calling me stupid. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. the unit says:

    We know the definition on insanity. Takes time to get smart. I mentioned some time ago getting old comes too fast, getting smart takes too long. 🙂
    But it comes little by little…https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0WhLhF12TBE

    Like

    • the unit says:

      Sorry that link not what I wanted.

      Like

      • the unit says:

        This I hope is link. Improvement over insanity takes us doing it by ourselves. 🙂
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Girandoni_Air_Rifle

        Like

        • NEO says:

          Neat! Thanks! 🙂

          Like

    • NEO says:

      Yep, my version is this:

      Good judgement comes from experience;

      Experience comes from bad judgement, preferably others.

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        Well Patton would say…some Muslim getting his own head cut off for his cult. 🙂

        Like

        • NEO says:

          🙂 Indeed. 11 November is also his birthday, if youi missed it.

          Like

        • the unit says:

          Missed I did, thanks. Cream on the cake to remember next year. 🙂

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Yep, me too, maybe I’ll remember next year 🙂

          Like

        • the unit says:

          Forgetting. It is something to think about. Doesn’t sound like you got that problem yet. I’ve been to those websites telling of the 10 or 11 signs of Alzheimer’s.
          I would list them but I forget. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Yeah, but I knew so much more when I was 18 🙂

          Like

  3. the unit says:

    Actually I thought I enjoyed my knowledge until I was twice that age. Then I had another thunk a coming. About that time I entered the Age of Realitaius. No calendar month named as tribute as yet. Dang…that half my life ago now. Can I smile now? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Sure, might as well, make ’em wonder what you’re up to. 🙂

      Like

  4. the unit says:

    Yes, I even wonder, wonder, wonder. So let’em too. 🙂 Used to be the Shadow knows, now NSA knows. George Beverly Shea, It’s no secret what God can do.

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Yep, and He decidedly can, and I’ve seen the proof in my own life. 🙂

      Like

      • the unit says:

        I’m considered elderly you know. Twice 18 and now double that and a little more. Approaching Zeke Emanuel’s expiration date. Ate my simple supper after my last comment and lay down for a nap. With that knowledge and song in my heart slept soundly for an hour. Refreshed now. Will last a few more hours and hit the sack again and with just a simple prayer acknowledging God and Christ as Savior I will sleep soundly ’til the morning dawning. Good sleep for older folks is sparingly, so it is a good to know the secret that’s no secret and helps me make it through the night.
        And no…I didn’t build that by myself! You got that right Obama and your government. Too bad y’all don’t know how it works.

        Like

        • NEO says:

          Indeed on all points. I seem to have slipped off into the Slough of Despond for the time being but perhaps that will be cured eventually.

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          I was done as well. Stayed up but groggy from then on, so wasn’t fit for more commenting. 🙂

          Like

        • NEO says:

          I hear you. I think I found a bug, makes me hot/cold, running to bathroom all the time and gloomy as all get out. Not really decent company 🙂

          Like

        • the unit says:

          Let us stay away from that Gruber Stupid Bug or Virus I’ve been reading about, something that comes from pond algae scum, well like the swamp in DC. 🙂

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Yep, it’s a malarial swamp, 150 years ago British diplomats got hazard pay for being there. 🙂

          Like

        • the unit says:

          Now they get retirement, best health care, …and insider trading. 🙂

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Yep, so it is.

          Like

        • the unit says:

          Get to feeling better. Don’t stray to far from where democrats got flushed the other day, until bug gone. I’m over and out for now. 🙂

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Good advice there, Unit. See ya later 🙂

          Like

  5. the unit says:

    Rat’s back on RN.

    Like

    • NEO says:

      I saw that, CL’ s got a paid gig. Good on them both 🙂

      Like

      • the unit says:

        Does that mean she is off Con. Cit. and all? Can you tell where she has gone. Rat seems to be wanting to come back. He told me months ago money was good at IJR. But he misses RN.

        Like

        • NEO says:

          Yep, Unit, she’s writing for DC Gazette now, for the rest, I don’t know but likely so.

          There’s something very nice about saying what yo damned please on your own blog. 🙂

          Like

  6. Hate to be off-topic but Fr. Kimel has a task for a Lutheran…
    https://afkimel.wordpress.com/2014/11/24/can-lutherans-commit-mortal-sins/

    He wants you to elaborate on mortal and venial sin. Since you are a Lutheran, I hope you don’t mind taking him up on his offer.

    Like

  7. the unit says:

    Obviously something has gone awry. I wish you comfort and strength for whatever it is. I just TU now at other sites.

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Dear Unit,

      Thank you. Not really awry but neither has anything really improved. I frankly have even less idea now of my course than I did then. It will have to wait for guidance from a much higher pay grade than mine.

      I hope you had a good Thanksgiving, and I will wish you a Merry Christmas now, because I care but, I must get myself sorted out, I’m rather useless at the moment.

      Neo

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        I understand. 🙂 See you later when all better, Lord willing. No response necessary.

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          If I have learned anything over these many years, one must always thank ones friends for their sympathy and support.

          So, thank you 🙂

          Like

        • the unit says:

          Let me add this. I was looking back at your Veterans Day post and the picture of Dough Boys struck me. They gone now of course. Looked like us in younger days. Bet they had bullets in their guns!
          Then I was shredding paper I accumulated over the years, got to make room you know. But found story that fits into your history recollections. A AP page, but AP says web page at address no longer available. Anyway was story of Jerzy Bielecki.
          Bet we will have those worldwide again and from now on who will defend freedom. Still some stories available when doing a Google. It was just so touching how he, a Christian and his Jewish girlfriend from Auschwitz meet again in the 1980’s’.
          Of course some say it’s a fairytale, like the Big Guy in the Sky. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          In some ways it is a fairy tale, Unit. That is quite a story for which I thank you.

          The can call the Big Guy a fairy story all they like but, you know, I have seen and felt his actions in my world, in things that that have no other explanation. 🙂

          Like

        • the unit says:

          As you say…”yeppers.” 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          🙂

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

