Men of Honor: Forces of Disorder

3rd Infantry Division (United States)

[Am I back? I don’t know,  we’ll find out together. But I happened to glance up at my TV last week, and something struck me, and I want to share it with you]

Last week many of us were semi watching the far overblown coverage of the confrontations/riots/ whatever in Ferguson, Missouri. One of the things we saw was an attempted (judicial) lynching of a law enforcement officer, who was simply doing, according to his beliefs, his job. As always, I’m sure there are some legitimate grievances-on both sides. That’s not my point here.

What I happened to see was the stand-off at the Ferguson Police station, if memory serves, although in truth it hardly matters.

In the street was the usual rabble,many of them concealing their identity, like the cowards they are, behind those contemptible Guy Fawkes masks. They recall the man who set off anti-Catholic feelings in England that were so strong that they are still remembered today.

Now do understand that much of English anti-Catholicism was more political than religious, there was a widespread fear that the Catholics would obey the Pope instead of the King. Likely it was untrue, that is also irrelevant. The closest modern equivalent is likely the way some of us feel about the Moslems (especially the militants) in our midst.

In short, an obvious reference to those who would destroy our civilization.

And there also was the Missouri National Guard, standing at port arms under arms, in good order and discipline, as always. Disciplined defenders of civilization and America. Most of us would say, “The Best in the World”, with justifiable pride in those who represent us.

But something else I noticed, on the right sleeve of an army uniform a soldier is entitled to wear the patch of a unit he served honorably in, in combat. And so it was here, on the right sleeve of one of those young men, who has pledged his very life to us, if necessary, was the patch of the 3ID

3d Infantry Division

 

The third infantry division is one of the army’s most famous units. It earned its nickname in the Great War as ‘The Rock of The Marne” for its valor. The rest of its record is comparable. It is also the unit that performed the run up “Thunder Road” in Iraqi Freedom in 2003, and have no doubt served in both Iraq and Afghanistan since. One of our best.

And there was that patch on the shoulder of that young soldier, once again defending civilization, this time at home in Missouri from a rabble that would destroy it.

But there’s something else here as well, that goes to the very root of who we are. That insignia, if you look at it in the mirror, it is no longer the US 3ID, it is something else.

It is the coat of arms of Lancelot du Lac himself, legendary Knight of King Arthur.

The motto of the US Army is:

This We’ll Defend

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

17 Responses to Men of Honor: Forces of Disorder

  1. the unit says:

    Very interesting. I wonder who designed both insignias? One stripes top right to left, one top left to right. Mirror images I guess. Please don’t think me being a $marta$$, and I know it means nothing, but I can redirect snowflakes here left to right and right to left with my pointer. 🙂
    Yep, be back as is good for you, it’s good for us too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      It was funny, Unit. It was like a 10 second piece of video but the flash of that 3ID patch just just jumped into my mind, and its been bugging me ever since, just an anonymous guardsman stand in ranks and waiting, says it all, doesn’t it? 🙂

      I didn’t know that, it’s just something I’ve always let run.;-)

      Like

      • the unit says:

        Well, I’ll just consider both a rejection of the mark of the as both slant down. And snow flakes… I’ll just keep’em moving right. I glad for that control. 🙂 I won’t be blowin’ in the wind.

        Like

        • the unit says:

          Beast. My keyboard missed strokes. Maybe a conspirancy.

          Like

        • NEO says:

          There is definitely a conspiracy amongst keyboards to make us all sound stupid 🙂

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Good, the wind this year is kinda cold. 🙂

          Like

        • the unit says:

          You sound back to me. Even in Nebraska cold. Heck been cold here as well, I stay out of the wind as well, I shouldn’t say this..; let the blowin’ go on in Chicago and D.C. and wherever our politicians are. Oh, that wasn’t nice, sorry. lol

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Perhaps, although I doubt everyday yet. Something Jess and I used to talk about is that we wrote best when we just wrote, and on this one it took longer to find that picture in my files than it did to write the post, but it had been hanging around a week, as well. So, we’ll see.

          Cold wind in those places might moderate the hot air a bit at that. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Well, I’ll keep the snowflakes flowing to the right. That’s a prayer for you both. I think “to the right” is mentioned Biblically. I don’t need a rug to kneel and clasp my hands in askance for “Thy will be done.” No dirty hand to do the clasping in Christianity. Not after being washed in the blood and acceptance of the Lamb.

          Liked by 2 people

  2. Btw, the old 3rd Marine Division isn’t so bad either! I am not so sure about the English hatred of Catholicism, seems it ran both ways back in that day. As one raised Irish Roman Catholic, in the 1950’s and early 60’s, the old pre-Vatican II Church was more cultural than truly Catholic! My feelings at least. And Rome ain’t looking so good with “Francis” either! But I will shut-up!

    Just a note, but I think old Audie Murphy was in the Texas National Guard, and was a Major there. I love the old American Audie Murphy cowboy movies! HE was the real deal!

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Fair amount of truth in that, Fr. Robert. My point was that it was almost anything but religious. Of course, i was referring to the gunpowder plot way back when.

      Yep, I liked him too, although I do think he was a better soldier than actor 🙂

      Like

      • Well I am one of those TCM guys! I generally love old movies. But yes, “Murph” was a B movie actor, but there was something genuine about him! Many people don’t know that his mother (died when he was only 16), that she had very long hair, well past knee length so Murphy said. Murphy so loved his mother! And btw Audie Murphy also went to bat for the early ideas of PTSD in the Nam Vet’s. He said he slept still with a hand-gun under his pillow even into his 40’s. I keep my 9mm Browning rather close myself! 😉

        Like

        • NEO says:

          Yep, he was a very good man, and even without your experience my Govt model is rarely far from hand, for that matter. 🙂

          Like

        • Btw too, Murph had two son’s, (one born 1952, the other 1954, Terry and Skipper) The oldest became much taller than his father! Murphy’s second wife Pam, and the mother of his two son’s died in 2010 at 90 years old. She worked closely with the VA, and the Vet’s there they say! RIP!

          Also, Murphy was given every combat Army medal a soldier could get, the Bronze Star, Silver Star, DSC, and of course the American Medal of Honor. All with valor I believe! Yes, he’s a favorite American for me! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          He is for many of us, indeed. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • And ya know I read both the book: ‘To Hell And Back’, and have seen the movie several times!

          Liked by 1 person

  3. the unit says:

    I’ll take a little liberty to add this to Men of Honor: Forces of Disorder as you not feeling too much like getting with it these days. Forgive me please, I have to spout somewhere. 🙂
    Seems congressional men and women are yielding to the forces of disorder and sacrificing honor already before the new congress is seated. Even the new may be tainted before long. A legitimate co/over-equal faction of the people’s republic needs to convene a grand jury to see who did a choke-hold on the congress and killed it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

