Concealed Carry and the Right of Self-Defense

Feb25We haven’t been talking a lot about this lately mostly because other than a few loonies like NYC’s mayor, few are pushing it. But as always, we need to pay attention.

One thing that struck me as we all watched the events in Paris, is how helpless Europeans have become, simply passive sheep awaiting slaughter. Nor was it the first time these thoughts were in my mind.

Most of you know that I have many friends in Britain, and a while back when Drummer Rigby was butchered in Woolwich, we talked about it both on the Watchtower and I expanded on those comments here. It was very interesting to see the differences in  the American viewpoint contrasted with the British, and I suspect continental Europeans are even more passive.

In fact, the passivity contained in the comment by a distinguished British educator chilled my blood.

We are entirely dependent upon the Police”

My response was as follows:

It’s true of course, most of us have read of British subjects sentenced to life in prison for defending themselves in their home from an armed assailant. And I’m certain I speak for most American when I say, with that system, you are not free. To me and most likely to my compatriots it brings to mind a phrase that Thomas Jefferson used.

Malo periculosam, libertatem quam quietam servitutem.”

Which translates as,

“I prefer the tumult of liberty to the quiet of servitude.”

This was brought to mind this morning as I read from Dave “the Sage”, in his usual, calm rational style the case for the armed citizen, which is as true today as it was when the right was written into Magna Charta 800 years ago., thereby codifying an existing right. Here’s a piece  of it:

“A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity.” 

–  Sigmund Freud

[…]

The truth is often very simple. The law-abiding, gun-owning citizen is not the problem but for some reason is often the target of those who seek to disarm the populace.

When I received my concealed handgun permit it required little more than having the right sheriff, taking a hunters safety course, filling out a questionnaire, not having a criminal record, and writing a check. They have since tightened the restrictions a bit, but not by much if you know the right NRA instructor. Seventy-five dollars can get you an afternoon of target practice, training, and your ticket to the coveted concealed-carry permit if you are willing to do your homework.

Think of the growing number of concealed handgun permit holders as thousands of walking safety bubbles moving throughout society and undoubtedly crossing your path while potentially protecting you and your family without you even knowing it. You can live as a victim subject to the whim of criminals and crazies or you can live as a free man and have the potential to protect yourself, your family, and your community. I choose the latter.

[…]

No one should insist on leaving entire sections of the community open and helpless to the predations of murderous psychopaths. It is important to attempt to help change a culture that has wandered hopelessly off the path of logic and common sense, and help to rectify the pathetically failed policies that cost some people their lives. I can think of nothing more important to address than that. People are dead because of others stupidity and continual striving for a utopian nanny state. That cannot be excused or allowed to continue anymore.

Free Americans should have the right to defend themselves from the more unsavory elements of society that attempt to prey upon or outright kill them.

Laws that forbid the carrying of arms… disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes… Such laws make things worse for the assaulted and better for the assailants; they serve rather to encourage than to prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with greater confidence than an armed man.

— Jefferson’s “Commonplace Book,” 1774-1776, quoting from On Crimes and Punishment, by criminologist Cesare Beccaria, 1764

Concealed Carry and the Right of Self-Defense ⋆ Dc Gazette.

It strikes me that the main problem with the Europeans, and with some segments in America as well, is that they have abdicated the right to be a free person, along with (or perhaps because of) the concomitant obligation to act in their own interest. And so they sold their freedom for a little temporary safety, and as always, they soon shall have neither.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

14 Responses to Concealed Carry and the Right of Self-Defense

  1. the unit says:

    Thanks for link. I’d forgot Dc Gazette. You had told me several months ago where CL had gone, but I forgot and typed in to search engines… titles like Conservative Gazette. Looks like bloggers of Cons. Club and Cons. Citizen have gone there.
    Here’s a question I have about Concealed Carry. Does one have to identify the particular arm to be carried? Sort of a registration, well… which maybe the permit is as well. I mean as an alert as to who has arms.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      No problem.

      I imagine it varies by state, like in WY there’s a constitutional right to carry (open or concealed) but usually you have o have some sort of ID or background check to by a weapon, and I imagine requirements vary (probably a lot!) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        And there are no secrets anymore if one uses the web. Last year early spring I found I needed a new camp stove for the upcoming hurricane season as my fifty year old one would no longer mix air and propane to burn correctly. Then did a short search for possible sources. for a new one Then for weeks kept getting pop ads for camp stoves here there and yonder.
        Bet that’s why congress neutered…their searches on record. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Much truth there, Unit. Even the politicians can no longer hide behind their lies, they just haven’t figured it out yet. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. In reality most Brits have never had the problem of an overt evil society, or have seen crime in any big way, at least in modern times, especially since WW II. The government has always been like a big Father and Mother to most Brits. But those days are coming to an end I am afraid. I am glad myself, as my Irish younger brother (who has become an American citizen) to be in the USA! Though as we know, all the West is quite under siege today! I am NOT one who believes that humanity or mankind, is in essence getting better, but just more sophisticated! Man is an innate sinful being, from top to bottom! And it is even more expressed in these days of both modernity & postmodernity.

    Liked by 2 people

    • NEO says:

      Yep, I think you’re right on the Brits, they’ve been coddled by their government and they just aren’t very much into troublemaking.

      I’m not either, but then I don’t wait to see if a rattlesnake is going to bite me before I shoot him. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        68 years ago I saw momma chop the head off a snake with a garden hoe.
        I like Japanese fellow Yamamoto’s idea of gun registration. “You cannot invade the mainland United States. There would be a rifle behind every blade of grass.” Sources say there is no record he really said that, but it’s according to Gordon W. Prange, chief historian on the staff of Gen. Douglas MacArthur. That’s good enough for me. It’s worked for a good long while now, including with Obamamoto, …so far. And I got a hoe. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          I doubt he said it, exactly but, I bet he did say something similar. He learned a lot as naval attache in Washington, enough to fear eagles.

          Liked by 2 people

        • the unit says:

          Wiki says he went to Harvard as well. No information on his grades or if he a foreign student. lol

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Well, yeah he was a foreign student, and I bet he learned a bunch. grades, i haven’t a clue but I’d guess they were damned good. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Oh, I though maybe they were in the Obama lock box. 🙂

          Like

        • the unit says:

          This old man, he plays one
          He plays knick knack on my thumb
          With a knick knack paddy wack
          Give a dog a bone
          This old man goes rolling to bed.

          You know what that means. 🙂

          Like

  3. the unit says:

    On AT this morning.
    http://www.americanthinker.com/articles/2015/01/alone_and_defenseless_a_uk_citizens_call_for_arms.html

    Liked by 1 person

  4. boudicabpi says:

    Reblogged this on BPI reblog and commented:
    Concealed Carry and the Right of Self-Defense

    Like

Leave a Reply

