Churchill: the Last Whig?

I think I may have run this before but, it’s worth seeing again. It shows why many of us, while revering Churchill in many ways, have reservations about him, and certainly daren’t call him a conservative.

Nice start to the week, I think, four British historians on Sir Winston

The title comes from Dr. Charmley in the video. Enjoy!

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

7 Responses to Churchill: the Last Whig?

  1. the unit says:

    I guess it’s mostly my ears now, but I really can’t hear much. Then there areother videos I can hear well, good volume and clarity. I’ve done all the internal adjustment I can on my individual machine. I think there is variable quality to all audio on the net.
    I bought external amps several months ago and can increase volume a bit, but no control between treble and base. So not any help really, as increased volume just garbles more.
    I went on to google and found site with comments on video. There were not many, but sounds like the panelist were divided on this question.
    So I have not listened to it. It’s gotten quiet now on Sun. afternoon and I’m going to put on my stethoscope and try to listen on just my laptop, as it is a bit clearer. Ears get so sore after a while.
    But…relative to on your site “A Reminder of Our Heritage”, could a status quo conservative of the time (classical meanings) challenge and defeat not reactionary, but regressionary regressionist?
    Doning stethoscope and listen now…maybe have different opinion after listening to the “old white men.” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      No, you are right, the audio on this one, is suboptimal (considerably). I put it through my stereo, and it got listenable but, it was a trial on the computer.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Indeed Churchill is always somewhat of a dichotomy to me. Certainly a great man, but like all great men, was surely not infallible, but very human!

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Indeed, I think a Whig is a pretty good description.

      Like

  3. the unit says:

    More on nomenclature of political thoughts…
    “”Radicals, liberals, and progressives have dismissed conservatism as a mental defect ever since it emerged as a distinctive brand of political thought…”
    Funny they say though…yours is a bigger amygdalae than my amygdalae. OK, I define my amygdalae. I think nobody been fearful or disgusted with mine. That works anecdotal for me. 🙂
    http://www.theamericanconservative.com/articles/right-minds/

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Couldn’t agree more with you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. the unit says:

    I’m still going to finish listening. My stethoscope, nearly fifty years old, hurts my ears after about a half hour of being inserted. But I can make it if I try. Old song, except it’s you can make it if you try. I be you, you, you…rather than I,I,I, Me, Me, Me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

