The Culture of Prayer Amongst Persecuted English Catholics; 1560-1760

PROFESSOR JOHN MORRILL University of Cambridge

This is a very interesting lecture, I think. It’s sponsored by the University of East Anglia Institute,  and the Newman Lectures. This is the second season of the lecture series they sponsor each spring, and I think they need more exposure here as well as in England.

In full disclosure the head of the Institute, Professor John Charmley is one of my closest friends, and yes, I met him through Jessica.  In fact I was one of several people worldwide who urged John to make these available to the rest of us in podcast or video form. As he told us, it is up to the speaker what form, if any, we will have available but we will have them here as available. He is ably assisted by another friend of mine, Siobhan Hoffmann Heap. The appropriate biographies are here.

But you know me well enough to know that I don’t feature things here because a friend had something to do with it, for me it’s all about quality, and John is the same way. He is also why you get a fair amount of British history here, through John I  have interacted with quite a few distinguished British historians, some whom you will see on TV (if you watch British history anyway).

This lecture was delivered by Professor John Morrill of Selwyn College, Cambridge. One of his main research interests is the religious dynamics of early modern British History. His biography is here.

Enjoy!

John and I commented yesterday that knowing how the Catholics managed their prayer life in early modern Britain may be useful knowledge given how poorly our governments are doing in dealing with ISIS, although Elizabeth was far kinder to her Catholic subjects than ISIS is likely to be. And it looks to me like what she really wanted to do was look the other way, until the Pope foolishly told her Catholic subjects that they should depose her.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

12 Responses to The Culture of Prayer Amongst Persecuted English Catholics; 1560-1760

  1. the unit says:

    NEO, I’ll just say this and be off thread I guess. Again laptop volume is not good so I couldn’t make out much of the audio. Also I don’t know much about cultural prayer of Catholics of any period.
    But I sending this comment made directly to me at another site last evening concerning prayer/worry from (self described) reformed liberal, now a independent he says.
    “Dear Unit – – I have an old saying that goes like this: ‘If you are going to worry, then why pray and if you are going to pray why worry?’ ” I haven’t thought that all out yet.
    Since I’ve read a bit about him through his comments for a while, I asked “Are you sure you’re not practicing a little Taqiyya? He seemed a little miffed by that. But I told him I give him the benefit of the doubt. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      I hear you on the laptop volume, i have the same problem sometimes. he has a point in that saying, but it’s hard to do, isn’t it. You keep giving ’em heck, my friend. We’ll ffix it yet. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. the unit says:

    What adventures I go on after reading here. At first I was just going to say that it’s just my old ears as why I don’t hear my laptop speakers. Then I thought about how long since I’d heard katydids. So I researched then and reference was made to cuckolds which led to Geoffrey Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales (c. 1372–77), the “The Miller’s Tale” and lots more. There is no end to research. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • the unit says:

      I got interrupted with call to dinner. Thank goodness. Next research site was about climate change and next about… its Bush’s fault.

      Like

    • NEO says:

      It’s fun though, i find. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        Yeppers, I agree. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: My Article Read (2-22-2015) (2-23-2015) | My Daily Musing

  4. Amyclae says:

    Congratulations on giving this series a little bit bigger profile.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Thanks! I really like them, It’s too bad the first year never became available, but they’ll be back next spring, I’m pretty sure. 🙂

      Like

      • Amyclae says:

        I do some work over at the Center for Law and Religion at Emory University, down in Atlanta. I am not part of the lecture series, really, or even as closely related to the organizer as you seem to be. But I do like them, and so far have found some broad general similarities. i think you’ll like it!

        http://cslr.law.emory.edu/events/download-lectures/

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Thanks, I’ll jump right over!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

