Christ the Physician Walks the Wards

Professor Carole Rawcliffe

This week our Newman Lecture from UEA is by Carole Rawcliffe of UEA. Here is part of her biography:

Carole Rawcliffe was an editor on the History of Parliament Trust (1979-92) before becoming a Senior Wellcome Trust Research Fellow at UEA (1992-7). She was made Reader in the History of Medicine (1997-2002) and Professor of Medieval History (2002).

Her research focuses upon the theory and practice of medicine in medieval England, with particular emphasis upon hospitals, the interconnection between healing and religion, and urban health.  As editor of The History of Norwich (2004), she maintains an interest in the East Anglian region, and has written extensively on its medical provision.  Her most recent book, Leprosy in Medieval England (2006), is a study of medieval responses to disease.  She is currently investigating concepts of health and welfare before the Reformation.

Her full biography is here.

I found this one particularly interesting, especially when I contemplated how few of our medical people even believe in God anymore,let alone that  He will help in particular cases. of course, that hit close to home with me, since I have seen His work, when all of our skilled people had given up.

You’ll also note that this week Professor Charmley has provided us with the visual aids as well. Actually there is a Storify story linked at the end of the article, I simply could not get it to embed, so I compromised.

Here’s Dr. Rawcliffe

And here is a slide show of the visual aids to watch while you listen. I am afraid the may have gotten somewhat jumbled. Sorry.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

19 Responses to Christ the Physician Walks the Wards

  1. Christ the physician/healer is a most underplayed understanding that people overlook. He healed me. 13 years clean and sober March 3.
    .

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      He is indeed, Carl, and congratulation, keep it up. 🙂

      Like

  2. A bit too much “Catholicism” for me! And the Anglican Newman, of the Via Media is so often set aside! As Newman the Anglican can say: “Romanism may be considered as an unnatural and misshapen development of the Truth; not the less dangerous because it contains traces of its genuine features.” Indeed the Anglo-Catholic Newman firmly believed all parties in the CoE or Anglicanism rejected Rome, all held by antiquity and by the Bible itself!

    Btw, not looking for any argument here, as of course Newman later did go to Rome, but it took over 40 years! Sometimes the question might be asked, which Newman should I follow? Just a history point, and of course an Anglican one for me!

    *And btw, I have Catholic friends (even a few priests) who are for the most part admitted agnostics! But this is hardly just a Catholic problem, as the fruit of modernity and postmodernity. ‘Live long and prosper’! 😉

    Like

    • NEO says:

      If you’re going to talk about medieval medicine (pre-1499 or so) it’s likely going to look pretty Catholic, particularly since the Jews had been expelled from England.

      Like

      • Sorry, I was being somewhat sarcastic, for who really cares about medieval medicine? I was reading the other day, what even later happened to George Washington (well after medieval times) who died in 1799, and how his doctors bled him! Crazy? Sorry, just strange to me the things we research? But, yes I know someone has to do it! 🙂

        Like

        • NEO says:

          Actually a lot of us do because it helps us to understand their life, and yes their faith and how it worked in their world. And besides, it just plain interesting.

          Like

        • Yes, I am always something an an eccentric myself! And study just things of interest! But always my philosophical logic gets the best of me! Btw, I was in the debate club in Catholic high school, so I do like debate and to contest things a bit! 😉 I can be a bit too, cantankerous, at least intellectually! But maybe you have noticed that? lol

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Now and again LOL 🙂

          Like

        • Yes, I am also sure part of this comes with being born an Irish Brit, at least from my clan! 😉 One of uncles was an Oliver Cromwell scholar! Now that brought out some debates in an Irish family!

          Liked by 1 person

        • I like C.S. Lewis here, who though born in Belfast Ireland, did not consider himself being Irish? and said, “I’m more Welsh than anything.” Descended, as he said, from my father’s side… “a practical Welsh farmer.” Yes, that’s pretty strange, and surely eccentric to my mind! But Lewis was always the “Englishman” in my regard! For of course Northern Ireland is quite considered “English” by many, if not most being part of the UK! And of course Lewis’s Protestant Ulster roots ran deep!

          Btw see the Lewis book, by David Downing: The Most Reluctant Convert, C.S. Lewis’s Journey to Faith, (IVP, 2002). But without doubt my favorite Downing book is his: “Into the Region of Awe, Mysticism In C.S. Lewis.” (IVP, 2005). I believe Downing is an American?

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Another along that line is T.S. Eliot, i think much his understanding of England came from being born American.

          Like

        • Yes, T.S. Eliot was/is an interesting soul for sure! A naturalized Brit! (Came to England or Britain in his 20’s as I remember, and never left!)

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Yep, that’s about right, but he seemed to have more insight than many native Brits did.

          Like

  3. the unit says:

    No movie or long link this Saturday. So submit this.
    Would love Fr. Robert to debate Flip Wilson on The Church Of What’s Happening Now. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      That would be good. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        Flip gave Ed Sullivan credit for his break. Yeah, Fr. and Flip would be a “really big shew tonight.” 🙂
        Not demeaning your message or belittling Fr. Robert. I enjoy his commentary along with yours.

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • Indeed those were tame times and years compared to now! Though, the Devil always makes me do it! 😉

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: My Article Read (3-1-2015) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

