CONFESSION: YESTERDAY AND TODAY: The Newman Lecture

Another fascinating lecture, which gave me some insights into my own life, as well as why ‘confession is good for the  soul’,. As usual the Storify is linked below the Soundcloud, and Professor Charmley outdid himself in live-tweeting this one, there is a huge amount of meat here for your digestion.

Professor Henry Mayr-Harting is former Regius Professor of Ecclesiastical History at the University of Oxford (1997-2003), amongst many other honors.

 

//storify.com/ProfJCharmley/confession-yesterday-and-today-professor-henry-ma/embed?border=false[View the story ” ‘CONFESSION: YESTERDAY AND TODAY’ Professor Henry Mayr-Harting” on Storify]
On a personal note, Yay! for me, I got quoted as well. 🙂
About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

2 Responses to CONFESSION: YESTERDAY AND TODAY: The Newman Lecture

  1. I have an old copy (1954) of Bonhoeffer’s book: Life Together, the last chapter (Five) is: Confession and Communion. It is sort of a Protestant or Lutheran version of “Confess your faults one to another.” (James 5: 16) Though as Bonhoeffer says one of the “dangers” is “the one who hears confessions.” “It is not a good thing for one person to be the confessor for all the others. All too easily this one person will be overburdened; thus confession will become for him an empty routine, and this will give rise yo the disastrous misuse of the confessional.” Well as one who was raised Irish Roman Catholic in the old 1950’s, I can say amen to this! We simply must dial in the reality of some of the negatives to this practice! Though Bonhoeffer can also write: “Though it is true that confession is an act in the name of Christ that is complete in itself and is exercise in the fellowship as frequently as there is a desire for it!”

    *Btw, as an Anglican presbyter (semi-retired), I still get people who come to me, mostly former Roman Catholics that desire the use of Confession, which of course I do for them. But surely in my own biblical & theological understanding! I don’t see it as a strict Sacrament myself, but it can have a very spiritual place! My two-cents, but I know many of my Catholic brethren will disagree! I say all of this, so we can seek to find perhaps some new “theological” ground and practice here?

    Like

    • Btw we should look at the Lutheran idea and practice here… http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Confession_in_the_Lutheran_Church

      But, as always Bonhoeffer had his own spin on most of Lutheran theology!

      Like

Leave a Reply

