Pew first: Gun rights top gun control in major public opinion shift

12-10-2014-2-19-42-PMThis is interesting, although to be honest, I find it unsurprising. From the Washington Examiner:

Exactly two years after President Obama’s bid for gun control following the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting died in Congress, a new poll has discovered a huge shift in public opinion to backing Second Amendment gun rights and away from controlling gun ownership.

The reason: Americans now believe having a gun is the best way to protect against crime, 63 percent to 30 percent.

Pew Research Center found that while support for gun control once reached 66 percent, it has dropped to 46 percent while support for gun rights has jumped 52 percent, the highest ever in the past 25 years.

“We are at a moment when most Americans believe crime rates are rising and when most believe gun ownership – not gun control – makes people safer,” said the survey.

Keep reading: Pew first: Gun rights top gun control in major public opinion shift | WashingtonExaminer.com.

I said above that I don’t find it particularly surprising. That’s because I don’t think Pew got the cause completely right. probably because of the news coverage we get, some of do think crime is up, and it is, in some locations, like, say Chicago. But I think there is more to it.

Most of you know that I have family on the east coast, and they are fairly normal for the area, compared to me, you’d likely call them liberal, some, at least, voted for Obama, at least once. But when I was back there at Christmas, one of my nieces, who lives in a somewhat isolated area, commented that she was considering getting a gun. I was surprised, although not shocked. Like all my family she has a big dose of reality based thinking in her, and knows that women living alone are vulnerable.

My only advice to her is what it always is, “Make sure first that you are willing to use it, otherwise you are simply giving someone a weapon to use on you. And practice!”

But I don’ think this is driven by crime, at least in the normal sense. I think a large part of this is driven by the administration. Obama has made governance in this country a continual constitutional crisis. His disengagement with many of the American norms of government (even if for most, they are merely lip service), has made much of the citizenry uneasy, and unseemly trends in the surveillance state, and the militarization of police departments has added to the mix.

On an objective basis, many of these things can have a case made for them, but coming one after another, it is distressing, and the obvious unwillingness of the Department of Justice to enforce the law on an objective basis (remember the Black panthers in Philadelphia back in 2009?) has made it worse, far worse.

In large measure then, I don’t think the country is arming itself against crime so much, as it is arming itself against a rogue government, in defense of our freedom. That is, of course, the real purpose of the second amendment, not to protect hunting, or to fight crime, but to stop tyranny in its tracks.

And it appears to be working.

I also find it interesting that politics is changing as well. if one were to look at American governance outside of Washington, one would find it to be more conservative than it has been since 1928. so perhaps what we are seeing, is the return of that peculiarly American individualism and self-reliance, and the beginning of the break up of the nanny state.

Well, one can hope, anyway 🙂

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

13 Responses to Pew first: Gun rights top gun control in major public opinion shift

  1. Since I am a Brit, though in the US for several years now, I will say little here overall… But, I would quite disagree with this statement: “I also find it interesting that politics is changing as well. if one were to look at American governance outside of Washington, one would find it to be more conservative than it has been since 1928.” Again, conservative to what, and really how? Help me out here NEO! Are you just talking guns?

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      No, i’m not. While not all are really conservative, republican hold huge majorities in state legislatures and governorships, in the mid to upper 30s of each if I recall correctly, and most are more conservative than the national parties as well.

      Guns in this case, are simply another indicator.

      Like

      • I see, well myself I just don’t see the moniker of republican verses democrat to be a real conservative aspect and reality today, at least from what I see in America today! Again, modernity & postmodernity, with so-called today’s marketing seems to press Americans, with also today’s techno aspects. And much of this sure “ain’t” conservative! But then, I am 65, and come from quite another generation.

        Like

        • NEO says:

          In a lot of the States its considerably different than the national party. It ain’t beer and skittles but it’s better.

          Like

        • I have somewhat traveled some of the States, the South and North and South Carolina, with Virginia, was very interesting! Such a mixed big of people therein, I was amazed that liberals and atheists are quite alive even there?

          Like

        • *bag

          Like

  2. the unit says:

    I hope your hope is hopefully so. I’ve been reading various sites since we’ve learned of surveillance of us by government agencies i.e. where we visit online and now physically, where we post, what we say being recorded and on and on. I learned that I better buy a boat too. So I can tell authorities..”.my boat sank and all my guns were in it.” 🙂
    Would help the economy too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      it could use it, and I’ve said that too, mostly over at Ace’s 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        Little lady I worked with bought two guns. She took concealed carry class and range prep. She showed to me but I forget just what she bought, one a laser sight thang, the other one that shoots I think .38 special or 40 cal. and 410. I don’t knock unannounced on her door, 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Me either, knock polity and wait. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Little lady conservative and God loving and fearing to the hilt. Moved to our town from Miami 30 years ago and brought the American Flag when she came. Daughter not so dedicated though. Granny is left raising couple of grands, youngest 3 years old. In good spirits about it, still needs our prayers. She has ammo. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          P.S. and a boat. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          🙂

          Like

Leave a Reply

