Top Gear Gets Black Flagged

One of the rarest things on NEO today: a post on the entertainment industry. I don’t know if any of you watch Top Gear, UK but it has rather blown up. Essentially the Beeb has allowed political correctness to trump making money. And those that made it money (until they got fired) are talking to a capitalistic American firm, instead of the wanna be British monopoly. Some lessons that should be (but likely won’t be) learned there

Some say that Jeremy Clarkson got into a confrontation with a producer (some say because hot food wasn’t provided one night), in any case it couldn’t have been all that serious, since said producer took himself to hospital.

In any case the Beeb decided to fire Clarkson, the lead presenter of what has become number one TV show in the world. Like all decisions that has consequences.

My understanding is that James May and Richard Hammond have both decided not to continue without Clarkson. In addition Executive Producer Andy Wilman has resigned from the BBC.

Clarkson and Wilman rescued the show back around the turn of the century, when it was in danger of being cancelled, and redesigned it.

If you’re a fan (as I am) you know that the show is marginally about cars, mostly it is a comedy featuring three British Blokes, and is often screamingly funny. For an American with our over-regulated automotive market, it is fun to see all the really neat stuff that is available in the UK that we can’t buy, as well.

But the political correctness of the Beeb seems to have killed it. I’m sure they’ll try to recreate it but that Ferrari has left the paddock, so to speak.

There are rumors swirling about that Clarkson, and the other three as well, are talking with Netflix about, of all things, a car show. I’d say it would be very wise of Netflix to be quite generous with them! 🙂

Jeremy Clarkson Preparing New Show With Netflix? – UlstermanBooks.com.

Here, have a clip and a Sunday laugh.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

6 Responses to Top Gear Gets Black Flagged

  1. the unit says:

    Ok. I got to leave it to the Blokes to comment as I never saw the show. And guess because of my poor hearing and not being used to British accent missed what the short video was all about.
    Not car related, but my lawnmower experience last week was entertainment, comedy, and P.C. for wife and me. Entertainment for me working all day on the rider, comedy for wife when I told her it fixed and I will cut grass in morning, P.C necessary in my language which I can’t type here when it wouldn’t go.
    Not a money maker lost, but not costly either, just a gallon of gas, which I will drain for the push mower. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      That works for me, and heaven knows i have similar misadventures, and often too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        You mention rare post on entertainment industry. If you decide to do a post on the food and cooking TV industry keep this in mind. Some parking lot person stuck a sticker on wife’s car door the other day. Pulling it off left a goo of sticker glue on finish. What to do? Internet search and called auto parts stores, even the local car dealer. Decided Turtle Wax sticker removal fluid might work without damaging finish. It worked pretty good.
        As to food relation, I just ate a what’s called a hot dog now in USA for lunch. Chased it with 2 oz. of Turtle Wax goo remover. 🙂 (Kidding but may need to in the morning)

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          I know the feeling, I’m doing hot dogs, cabbage and boiled potatoes tonight. I may need some too!

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Be careful if you have to get it from Advance Auto Parts. Was $7.25 with tax. Wife gave $10.25 and waited for change, none forthcoming. Manager called over who gave her $2.75, explaining her .25 over made her change $2.75, Si? She had had enough comedy lately, took it and gladly left. Also said I get to go there for the next entertainment and see if I can hold my P.C. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Yeah, I’ve been down that road a few times. *I dislike Advance for other reasons but that’s about normal in US retail these days. probably college graduates at that. 🙂

          Like

Leave a Reply

