EU Preps for War Against the Internet: Decides to Lose Again

AAEAAQAAAAAAAANYAAAAJGU4MmZmYjg2LTg5NjQtNDFiNS04MWRkLTcwZmMyNmY0M2RkMAWell, this is interesting, although not very surprising, really. Does anybody really think that Europe (especially Germany and France) can compete with the US on a level playing field? No, me neither. The UK, maybe, but nobody else has a chance, and if good sense ever breaks out in the ruling clique in Britain (or they lose the election) they’ll likely get with the program and with their friends and run away from Europe, again.

I say that because I’ve noticed something. If you look at European technical prowess, especially innovation, in anything from civil engineering to the internet, you’ll find the British leading, and everybody else following, while they whine about ‘the Anglo-Saxons’.

They’re right, as well. The American Interest noted today that the EU wants to regulate Google et. al., much more than they do.

THE EU VS SILICON VALLEY

EU Preps for War Against the Internet

EU Preps for War Against the Internet – The American Interest.

As an aside, I’m no huge fan of Google, I think they’re more than a bit intrusive, and I’m not overfond of their data mining and selling my information to all and sundry. But you know what, I use Google products because they work, I don’t have to. There are other providers, just as I no longer use Microsoft products. But it’s remarkable that a company that started in an American garage a few years ago has all Europe scared of them 🙂

Maybe I’m just old-fashioned but I hope they do. Why? because if they do, the US will simply increase our lead over the hidebound, over-regulated Europeans, while the best Europeans will again come to America where they can innovate much more freely than they can at home. (And make us still richer, and more innovative!)

Funny thing, isn’t it? We’ve built this powerhouse of a country (not that we don’t have plenty of problems, ourselves) on the freedom to try new things and see if you can make a living with them. We’ve done this since about 1650,nd we have built the most powerful economy in the world, and protect it with the most dominant military the world has ever seen with our pocket change. We’ve done this by letting people try and fail, and try and fail, and finally try and succeed.

It’s a hard model. It’s follows from that old saying about the Oregon Trail, “The weak never started and the sick died along the way,” But, you know, there was nearly always someone around to feed the hungry and nurse the sick, and the dead got a decent burial. And the ones that made it, built a world that their grandfathers couldn’t have imagined, where one of the consequences of being poor is being too fat, because you eat too much while playing video games.

I don’t condone such a lifestyle but I’m in awe at a system that can take a world that nearly starved for billions of years and in a few generations make that happen.

And that is what America has done, with some British help (and gold) and with the people who were stifled by Europe. It’s a logarithmic curve, if you haven’t noticed, constantly accelerating, if we keep going there is no way to know where we’ll be in twenty-five years, let alone a hundred.

Carroll Bryant once said:

Some people make things happen.

Some people watch things happen.

And then there are those who wonder, ‘What the hell just happened?”

I know where I want to be. How about you?

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

7 Responses to EU Preps for War Against the Internet: Decides to Lose Again

  1. the unit says:

    Yes as you say. “…anything from civil engineering to the internet, you’ll find the British leading, and everybody else following, while they whine about ‘the Anglo-Saxons’.
    I know you know about this…http://www.engadget.com/2015/03/02/worlds-first-tidal-power-plants-uk/
    But not sure they’ll come here with our regulations expanding to supernumerary powers to the nth. degree.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Interesting, although i note that they’re doing it on the public dime, but it makes more sense than most, at least for an island. 🙂

      It’s a concern but we’re still better than most that way, but we’d be wise to improve as well!

      Like

      • the unit says:

        Ok better. Time to go out and check my mail. We’ve had so much rain last week there are mud puddles between me and mailbox. I’ll find someway around or pole vault over so as not to step in EPA regulated water with my old boots. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Yeah, don’t contaminate the wetlands! 🙂

          Like

  2. the unit says:

    My laptop has been so arrogant lately that several hours ago I clicked that button to return it to original factory setting (anti-aging), losing all, but so what? Viruses gone too. This first site I restored. May keep it that way. 🙂 But I guess I better reinstall my anti-virus. ‘Til later…see ya.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Been there done that. See ya in a bit! 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: My Article Read (5-1-2015) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

