Do the U.K. Election Results Matter to US?

Poor guy missed out on the best. from the Guardian

Poor guy missed out on the best.
from the Guardian

While we weren’t paying attention last week, the Brits had an election, a real General Election, where they elect a whole new Parliament (instead of however many seats have opened up) and that party (in theory the majority party) forms a new government.

Does it matter to us, here in the US? Well, yeah, I think it does, for a few reasons.

David Cameron the Prime Minister, is a member of, and the leader of the Conservative Party, and he’s been running a coalition government with some parties from the left because he didn’t have a majority in Parliament. That’s what they mean when they talk about a coalition government. To me, and likely you as well, he makes Jeb Bush look very conservative indeed, that’s why we look askance at Europe so often. But he’s conservative enough to make the UK the Texas of Europe. If I remember correctly, the UK has created more jobs than the rest of Europe combined. That sounds like a fair record to me.

Labour is essentially owned by the trade unions, which came very close to killing Britain in the seventies, their avowed goal is to renationalize many companies because, I don’t know, privatising them meant their members actually have to do some work or something. Most of the rest are insanely left wing, ranging from Bernie Sanders to simply communist, and the Green Party, which still exists for some reason, which wants to outlaw business and industry, and grow flowers or something, while the people starve. OK, likely none of that is entirely fair but, that’s how it looks from here anyway.

In any case, the polls all said that Dave would lose seats and either be out of power or have a very weak coalition. They were, in a word, wrong. Completely and catastrophically wrong. The Conservatives picked up an absolute majority in Parliament and so can do pretty much what they want.

The best write up I’ve seen for Americans is by Charles C. W.. Cooke who is British but now lives here and writes for National Review.

On the morning of April 10, 1992, my father came into the kitchen and told me that something remarkable had happened. The party, which had been widely expected to form the next British government, had somehow managed to blow it, and the Tories would be heading back into power — in clear violation of the pollsters’ predictions. This, my amazed father concluded, represented an “upset for the ages.”

I was seven years old at the time, and, in all honesty, I can’t say I particularly cared about this news. And yet I do remember hearing something that has stuck with me to this day. “I suppose,” my dad said wistfully, “that when the voters went into the booth and thought about sending Neil Kinnock to Downing Street, they just couldn’t bring themselves to do it.”

This line has popped to the forefront of my mind each and every time I have been asked who I thought would win the U.K.’s general election this time around. Naturally, I am as capable of reading a poll as is anybody else. Indeed, when writing soberly about a subject, I do not think it good form to presume that most of the available evidence must be incorrect (as, happily, it proved to be in this instance). And yet, in truth, I never believed in my heart that Ed Miliband and the Labour party were going to form the next government. There are spreadsheets and there are predictive models and then there is good old-fashioned human instinct, and, drawing on the latter rather than the former, I had wondered in earnest whether British voters could actually bring themselves to tick the box for Ed. Apparently, the answer was “no.”

Continue reading Will the U.K. Election Results Doom Labour in the Long Term? | National Review Online.

The “Shy Tories” they are calling them. It’s a cute moniker but I think it means that the average Brit keeps his own counsel, and like us, gets tired of being talked down to. Because, make no mistake, here we talk about the government party and the country party sometimes (we tend to refer to it as the ‘Beltway mentality’, but compared to the Westminster Bubble, it simply doesn’t exist, and in the UK there;s a strong class element to it as well.

And that brings us to the UKIP, the UK Independence Party, Nigel Farage’s bunch, universally damned by the other parties, the press, and the church (also run by Parliament, if you recall) as xenophobic, insular, bigoted and all those other things the elites call patriots, including racist.

They only got one seat in Parliament, and a hell of a lot of votes. They came in second a lot. Well, we all know that second really means being the first loser. The Brits call it “First past the post” which means I think, that you have to win in your district. In other words, if I lost in the 3d district in Nebraska but got more votes than the winner in the 1st district of Wyoming, I still wouldn’t win it, because I was running in Nebraska. Seems fair to me.

Looks to me like they are doing their level best to write off UKIP. I think that will bite them in the butt. looks to me like UKIP speaks to a pretty large segment of the British population and it merely needs better organization and perhaps a bit less calumny

I’d say the biggest lesson for us is to not lose heart, and to keep on keepin’ on. We know that our media does not have our best interests at heart any more than the British media has the best interest the average Brit. I’d say our task is to find a way around the media to get our message to the people who need to hear it, and act on it.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

5 Responses to Do the U.K. Election Results Matter to US?

  1. the unit says:

    I don’t know much about how politics work in UK. Will watch a bit more. I read about UKIP a while back and thought they were the real conservatives. But articles I read now say Cameron and his Tories are conservative and have had to work in coalition govt. with labor liberals and what have you, but now have majority alone. Will watch and see. Think direction is still down the path to world government. Control the order of the ages. There sure need to be some…self control these day and down through the ages.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      I think you’re about right. The conservative party is (by our standards, at least) very mushy. But they don’t have the written foundations we do, either. Both come mostly from Burke and the old Whig party, on both sides of the pond, so we’ll see. The key thing is, I think, that the electorate told the media to shove off.

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        Media shove off! Be a start. Then again I had this original magazine years ago, but long lost now. Cover showed family cooking out in back yard, with line after line of on lookers watching over privacy fence. Sorry I lost, but was 1994 edition. 🙂
        Did find article. Long. Read or not read at your pleasure. Whole lotta shoving going on.
        http://www.theatlantic.com/past/politics/immigrat/kennf.htm

        Like

  2. the unit says:

    Never meant such a long article to turn off comment. Being honest and white I hope what the authors propose for the world may come about without losing my kids, grands, and race. Looks like we got to pay to play, Clinton Foundation. 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: My Article Read (5-11-2015) (5-12-2015) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

