Home, and it’s Lovely Out Here

Sometimes we get so involved with all the problems in the world that we forget the good stuff. Yesterday I was chatting with a friend and we were discussing our states, and it struck me that Nebraska is mighty pretty, and I haven’t shared that with you guys for quite a while.

So here you go. Enjoy

 

One in three of us work in jobs connected with agriculture, as I do.

 

 

But we still take pretty good care of the joint, and our feathered friends.

 

 

I’ll live and die an old Boiler, but I’ll have to admit it is pretty cool how the whole state stops on Saturday afternoon in the fall.

 

 

They’re right, Lincoln is about the friendliest city I’ve ever been to, but it’s too big for me. But this is from a county fair out my way in a town of a bit more than a thousand people.

 

 

And that’s all good. but for me this country has always been about long views and far horizons.Willa Cather wasn’t wrong, it can be lonely, sometimes very lonely but, it also gives you perspective on the world and its problems.

 

 

By the way, that fancy Victorian house at about 1:50 is Buffalo Bill Cody’s.

Presumably, regular programming will resume tomorrow. 🙂

 

s.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

12 Responses to Home, and it’s Lovely Out Here

  1. the unit says:

    You made my day. I really enjoyed the videos. I had a great friend born in Nebraska. His mother somehow got transferred to Kessler Air Force base, or took a job there and worked there many years. Never even thought to ask the details…spousal death or divorce or whatever. Met the fellow at that time…about fifth grade. Became friends for life…his ended couple of years ago.

    But I never knew much about Nebraska and you’ve learnt me a lot. Just thought about the famous football.

    Here’s also how you made my day. I didn’t want to deal with the usual stuff I read. This is the day I got another year older, but thankfully not a lot deeper in debt. This afternoon getting a peanut butter cake daughter made. Never had one of those before. Wife gone right now to her mom’s so just me and daughter will eat it…I’ll probably gain 16 tons. Just to help daughter to keep on her diet you know. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      First and most importantly, HAPPY BIRTHDAY, and many happy returns!! 🙂 🙂

      Funny, isn’t it, I didn’t either, just suddenly had had enough, and I ran across that last one yesterday and thought, time for a break.nbrska is gorgeous place, over all, and you can find most anything you want, and some of the best people in the world, although we share that with most of the Trans-Mississippi West. It was too long or I would have found a video of the Aerospace museum (the old SAC Museum) as well, it’s between Lincoln and Omaha right off I-80

      Enjoy that cake, you’re a damned lucky man, my friend. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. the unit says:

    Thanks. Yes lucky and blessed by the Lord above.
    I meant to add in my comment before that the videos showed how lovely it is there, and the people too. I even reread it trying to remember what it was I wanted to say. Does that tell me something? Oh well, I remember to pay my bills. 🙂
    You’re lucky to live there…and realize to appreciate it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Like us all, I get wrapped up in all the problems and forget-too often, but yep, I am but so atre you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. the unit says:

    I didn’t want to do it, fooling with news and politics today. But I can’t resist. I saw this ad on Drudge last night and it’s taken this long to come up again. I didn’t realize how many hundreds of ads he gets at the top of his page, new one with each update, and you can’t find them. I clicked renew hundreds of times today. It just finally came up again on it’s own just minutes ago. I must have made him millions today clicking on the site. 🙂
    Anyway news is Boehner will try to pass the trade bill again Thursday as a consolidated bill.
    So this ad, which I modified a bit, is my gist of it all and what we get.

    Building your dream requires the right foundation, and the right partner. At AT&T, one of our thousands of small business experts will work with you to find the best technology solutions for your needs. Leaving you free to focus on what matters most. Learning how to best say “would you like fries with that?”… Last sentence my addition. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      truthfully, the trade bill doesn’t overly bother me, it is the presidents duty to negotiate this type of thing, and congress is a bit fractious. Sorry, I think I’ll pass on AT&T as a partner in my business-one accountant and one lawyer are two too many 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        And my son is a lawyer and a cpa! So one is too many sometimes. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          At least they should have the same answer then! Which is more than mine can do sometimes. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          He did. He quit both and manages the books of a large veterinary office/ hospital in Fort Lauderdale. I was concerned, but he happy, so I happy.

          Like

  4. Vanessence says:

    My husband and I drove through parts of Nebraska a few years ago, and I have to say, that while I was kind of amazed at the amount of corn crops we saw, Nebraska also had the best highways of all the states I’ve driven through. (27) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      They are pretty good, although the interstate gets beaten up pretty bad by all the trucks.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: My Article Read (6-18-2015) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

