Of Dark Webs and Surveillance Societies.

140820-internet-trolls-2346_00499daa06aa00b7d583df7a4fbe2fb7-412x430Sorry about the last couple of days, I’ve been feeling rather suboptimal.

In any case, a close friend sent me these, and he informed me that the first one, a new BBC documentary kept his ten-year-olds interest right through. It did mine as well.

Now, Ed Snowden, I’m not going to tell you how to feel about him, partially because I can’t decide either. This doesn’t cut down on any of the old separations, liberal-conservation, young old or anything else does it. Except maybe, we have a right to live our lives without the government knowing everything about us.

One thing these talk about a lot is the sheer power of traffic analysis, what they’d like us to call metadata.

And always remember what Theodore Roosevelt said

patriotism_-_roosevelt

 

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

28 Responses to Of Dark Webs and Surveillance Societies.

  1. Reblogged this on BPI reblog001.

    Like

  2. the unit says:

    I promised not to comment until I’d read or listened to all on the post. There was much on the videos so complex I couldn’t really understand.
    I will just say though…the Serenity Prayer.
    Oh well, one more thing. Few years ago I got impression from media Snowden was some wet eared kid, about 17 yrs, whose family ties got him the job he had in intelligence department. Now after these videos, I think just another media, government snow job. I guess more time will tell.

    Liked by 1 person

    • the unit says:

      I mean what I was told before by media. He seems seasoned and dry behind the ears to me.

      Liked by 1 person

      • NEO says:

        He does to me as well, and intelligent to boot.

        Like

    • NEO says:

      That’s rather my impression of him as well. He may well be wrong, but his reasons strike me as honorable.

      Ther is a lot in there, and a good bit of it is too technical for me to explain, or understand! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. the unit says:

    John Doe-re-mi can chime in to explain it all with his special credentials . 🙂

    Like

    • NEO says:

      He can explain it to himself. He managed​ to get himself moderated last week.

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        Ho-ho-ho. I missed comment what caused that. I remember last week Ike writing that somebody had crossed the line drawn in the sand, but had read enough over the last few weeks to say I agree. Civil discourse is getting far and few between nowadays, even at AT. But didn’t the leader say get revenge, punish your enemies, reward your friends…with more cheese? lol (I even read lol is now not P.C.) LOL.

        Liked by 2 people

        • NEO says:

          it was the comment that Ike objected to that did, and I trashed it just before Ike’s comment, so you would have had to quite quick. Frankly, I don’t mind all that much when he tells me, I don’t know much about the military but when he tries to tell me that he knows more than​ I do about splicing electrical cables, well, just what did he think I was doing hanging below that helicopter.

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Navy Veterans of the United States of America

          April 18, 2014 ·
          .
          Eleven people were dangling below a helicopter on a rope. There were ten Naval Officers and one Chief. Since the rope was not strong enough to hold all the eleven, they decided that one of them had to let go to save all the others. They could not decide who should be the volunteer. Finally the Chief said he would let go of the rope since Chiefs are used to doing everything for the Navy. They forsake their family, don’t claim all of their expenses and do a lot of overtime without getting anything in return. When he finished his moving speech all the Naval Officers began to clap…
          Moral: Never underestimate the powers of a Chief.
          🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Now that’s a good one, and a good lesson! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Well, I was in the U.S. Navy with other Americans from all walks of life. Of course that was before we had our first president with an MBA, and from a top, elite school too. I thank moderated one for his service, follow in the footsteps of G.W. Bush who I’m sure he’s proud of. /sar

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          🙂 One of their best! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          🙂 One of their best! 🙂 And yeah, G.W. Bush, you mean the one that volunteered several times for Vietnam duty, with his exceptional GPA from the Ivy L​eague? That one?

          Like

        • the unit says:

          Quite frankly, yes. I never researched his GPA or volunteer record for Viet Nam. But guess those records are open which is closed on the present one. I know much was done to malign his personality and past history.
          I just doubted the moderated one would ever acclaim the only president with an MBA could ever be accorded with pride and dignity. That was my /sar.
          Seen much over the years, doesn’t mean I not naïve on many matters of importance. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Ah, me either, Unit! 🙂

          Like

  4. Pingback: BPI reblog001 Daily Archives: August 12, 2015 | boudicabpi2015

  5. Pingback: BPI reblog001 Daily Archives: August 12, 2015 | Boudica2015

  6. Pingback: BPI reblog001 Daily Archives: August 12, 2015 | Boudica BPI Weblog

  7. the unit says:

    One of my old thangs…a simple short prayer at time to lay me down to sleep, just Lord keep me, don’t tag me and throw me back.
    Wife on Flight DL836 @ 8:50 pm Central Thursday, arrive home on DL2212 @8:14 am Central Friday. That’s my prayer tonight, please watch over and deliver, Thank you Lord. Thanks for your consideration and help friends here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      I’ll join you in that prayer, Unit! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        Thanks, she about mid TSA now. Appreciate thoughts and prays for safe return home. I be a real mess without her. Thanks again.

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Always her for you, my friend. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Home again, safe and sound! Thanks for thoughts and prayers.

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          YAY ! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: BPI reblog001 Daily Archives: August 12, 2015

  9. Pingback: My Article Read (8-13-2015) | My Daily Musing

  10. John Doe says:

    I know you will never let anyone else read this, but you will, and that is good enough for me. Of course I have a background in cyber activity, it is sort of important these days. And you will mock that. I wondered if I gave you my linkedin account and proved my credentials if you would retract? I suspect not.

    There is a quote we used to carry around with us when we were undergrads. It is from Roosevelt, so you should appreciate it.

    “It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.”

    Your problem is you’ve never been that man. You failed at life early, failed out of the university, failed out of the Air Force. You retreated to being a small fish in a small pond. The problem is you are terrified of failure. You’re a coward. Children with parents who went to college often go to college. After your failure, did you fail your kids too? Did you fail in other things? Marriage? Love? Fatherhood? Business? Did you ever tell Jessica Hoff how you felt about her before she left for the convent?

    The dirty little secret is everyone fails. Failure is little more than a passing mile marker. Failure means little, you simply get back up and try again. Everyone fails. You just could not take the small failures, so you never made it any further.

    And there is nothing wrong with being a small fish in a small pond. There is honor in that sort of life. But you seem to feel like you were cheated out of life, cheated out of an intellect, cheated out of influence. You want more when you have earned not even that much.

    I went to some of the best schools in the world truthfully, and I know that your comments are random absurdity. You are given awards by other buffoons and you preen about it like a peacock, without realizing that you will be studied for the buffoon you are by future academics, looking into how people who had no business speaking nevertheless found themselves with a pulpit to fools. And your moderation is evidence of the further failure, the need to hide, the need to cover yourself in obscurity, or else someone will see you for what you are, a broken old man who failed so early that he could not get up the courage to try again.

    I’m going back to school. Doctorate this time. I’m scared. It is a lot of work, a lot of time, sweat, and stress, and I am more than a little apprehensive. But I’m going to do it, anyway. At least if I fail, I will be failing daring greatly.

    You will never know that dignity.

    You can mock, but you will never know how little the mockery means, because you were never the man in the arena.

    Like

Leave a Reply

