Safety, and Personal Responsibility

I was taught from childhood on: There is no such thing as a no-fault accident, somebody always had a way to prevent it. Fault is a legal term and means something else, but all accidents are avoidable by taking (or not taking) some action, or list of actions. Let’s start here:

I’m sorry but such a list of blown safety rules, to me, makes this little less than suicide, and him a poor employer, and you know what, once he thought about it, I’ll bet his supervisor wasn’t surprised, although saddened. But that’s fine, he failed as well.

This is the overhead companion to that post the other day about fixing underground cables and is a pretty clear indication of why I like so many of my peers prefer overhead construction. Of, course it has it’s moments as well:

It shouldn’t happen, but it does, and frankly it is why you never see electrical utility crews leaning on our trucks, which we specifically do ground. The advice given here on what to do if this happens to you, is the same that I have been taught all my life.

One thing that causes us out here to lose afarmer every once in a while, is when the get something to close to a power line, note that you don’t have to touch it.

And finally, most American power companies have demonstration rigs like this that are available, and the skilled presenters that go with them. if you haven’t seen one (or even if you have) pay attention, this is the straight scoop from our side of the meter.

And yes, I have killed more than a few generators (and sometimes the tractors they were attached to, when I safed a line. DO IT RIGHT, or be prepared to kill a lineman, or trplace you generator

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

10 Responses to Safety, and Personal Responsibility

  1. Reblogged this on BPI reblog001.

    Like

  2. the unit says:

    Interesting to me. For as long as I can remember in several resident locations, power company said they are responsible for maintenance of power line up to where it attaches to my structure, then I am responsible thereon. That would even be meters as they after connection to abode.
    I live on section line, several utility companies have easement rights down my driveway to supply others. Anyway from the easement power pole to my house I’ve never had the company trim any limbs, I’ve done it for now over 30 years. Use pole saw, and stand on ladder in back of truck sometimes. Some cuttings fall on that line to house. Have just always grabbed and pulled on down.
    Am I learning that’s not safe.
    Trying to not be responsibly dead and non-responsive. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      That’s what we call the ‘service drop’ and leather gloves are almost always enough, that;s what we tend to wear 🙂

      It’s hard to find enough budget for vegetation management, as we call it. But eventually, if you don’t it will bite your butt hard, usually at two in the morning. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ike Jakson says:

    NEO

    I bet you enjoyed doing this Post and I enjoyed reading it and looking at the pictures. I was a woodwork hobby man; not as risky as electricity but feeding 5 meter length 2 by 3 inches beams through a planer thicknesser requires skill and precautions. My main career was in graph paper and tabulations of data, from computers in the later years; the damage of error did not involve physical safety risk but someone could lose his livelihood if those tabulations were based on the wrong assumptions or analyses. Thanks. I still enjoy and love watching a good handyman at work. They have become a rare breed, how sad?

    IkeJ

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      I did indeed, Ike. Yep, I understand​ you completely, one of my hobbies is cabinet making, another is modeling the railroad between Fort Wayne​ and Chicago. In both cases do it right, or go home. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: My Article Read (8-15-2015) | My Daily Musing

  5. Pingback: BPI reblog001 Daily Archives: August 15, 2015 | boudicabpi2015

  6. Pingback: BPI reblog001 Daily Archives: August 15, 2015 | Boudica2015

  7. Pingback: BPI reblog001 Daily Archives: August 15, 2015 | Boudica BPI Weblog

  8. Pingback: BPI reblog001 Daily Archives: August 15, 2015

Leave a Reply

