Decadence, Part 3: Democracy

Decadence_Title_(Screenshot)And so we return to the series. On this one, we’re going to have to turn some filters on since we’re mostly Americans.

He focuses here rather strongly on Australia, which is fine, but Australia is not America, and most of us are Americans. Our problems are not dissimilar, but in ways Australia is the most nanny state of us all, and the amount of government meddling in lives would likely shock us. I also sense a  lessening of the old fear in the English-speaking world (by those opposed to the government, at any given time) of the old fear of “Mobocracy”.

I also notice a decided lack of respect for the base reason we formed states in the first place, to protect ourselves and our property from others, whether gangs, other states, or a flood of refugees who want us to take care of them, and turn themselves into illegal immigrants to be such.

But even if we don’t agree with all he says here, he does an excellent job of limning the issues.

Enjoy, and think.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

5 Responses to Decadence, Part 3: Democracy

  1. the unit says:

    I watched it. Don’t think I get all that was presented. Bunch of old men and younger ones waiting to be old men in power. Don’t trust anyone over 30 may still be right. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      This was, I think the weakest of the series, prejudice​ got in the way overmuch, I think.

      Like

      • the unit says:

        I really couldn’t follow quite well enough to say. My old ears have trouble with British\Aussie accent, and with limited volume control on my laptop. My doctor’s nurse is from England and I can follow her questions and requests to get weight and BP, but if we get into any conversation I have trouble following sometimes.

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Yep, all of that, and sometimes in trying to appeal to the young fold, the presentation becomes jumbled​, I think. I found this one to be useful, but much weaker than some​ of the others.

          Like

  2. Pingback: My Article Read (9-1-2015) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

