23,226 Days

"I cannot lead you into battle. I do not give you laws or administer justice but I can do something else - I can give my heart and my devotion to these old islands and to all the peoples of our brotherhood of nations" Queen Elizabeth II, Christmas broadcast 1957

“I cannot lead you into battle. I do not give you laws or administer justice but I can do something else – I can give my heart and my devotion to these old islands and to all the peoples of our brotherhood of nations”
Queen Elizabeth II, Christmas broadcast 1957

The New Elizabethan Age

That’s a pretty long time, a bit over 63 years in fact. And that is how long Elizabeth has been Queen, at 11:30 CDT, it will be longer than any British monarch, ever. I’d say she’s been one of the best.

I think she’s likely had a good bit to do with keeping Great Britain together through some pretty stressful times. Of course, her ancestors know a certain amount about that, she is, after all, a direct descendant of King Alfred the Great of Wessex, and so of the oldest ruling line in Europe, ruling (well, presiding over) the oldest nation state in the world.

It’s hard to believe that she was an ambulance driver in the Second World War, seems like several lifetimes ago, even to those of us, who know many of those who survived, including some rather famous people. Most of whom justifiably got that way, during the war.

article-1382331-0BD9943C00000578-288_634x421She will take that longevity record from her great-great-grandmother, Victoria. It was her mother, Elizabeth Bowes-Lyon, wife of King George VI, who started the tradition, of Brtish royal brides bouquets be placed on the tomb of The Unknown Warrior, a lovely gesture, a remembrance of her brother Fergus, an officer of the Black Watch, killed at Loos, in 1915. It sometimes seems so long ago, but it really wasn’t. And we can easily say that it is likely that without The Queen Mother, and the Queen, and their very strong sense of duty, it is unlikely that the monarchy itself would have survived, and we would all be the poorer for it.

And so, the queen will mark the day by reopening a railroad closed by the infamous Beeching report’s consequences, it will reopen with a steam drawn train, as is appropriate for the largest railway opening in Britain since Victoria was queen, and one that closing hurt Scotland badly.

But perhaps the highest tribute to the Queen is the fact that she oversaw the transformation of the Empire – her Mother was the last Empress of India – into the Commonwealth. Which is, in fact, a tribute to what the Britsh and the Empire accomplished, not least because it is voluntary. As an American, I think it safe to say, it also contains the best friends, this group of former colonials could ever hope to have.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

12 Responses to 23,226 Days

  1. As an Irish Brit, born in Ireland, and of course a retired RMC, I respect the Queen and the British Monarchy, but the so-called monarchy must change in my opinion, gone are the days of the reality of Kings and Queens, and so-called Titles. And even the Victorian age. This was part of the problem in WW I, the King of England and the Kaiser were of course cousins. And look now at so-called Great Britain, it is but a shadow of its former self! The tide of modernity and immigration has struck these “Islands”!

    Like

    • Sorry, not much nostalgia for me these days with the UK! And old Ireland of the 50’s was/is me homeland! 🙂 Both my son’s live in the UK btw. My oldest son (25) considers himself an Anglo-Irish.

      Like

      • Btw, just to clarify, I am NOT anti-monarchy, but a true and so-called modern or mature monarchy should and can hardly be truly royal, especially as there is but One Holy Family, ‘In Christ’, and Judeo-Christianity. This is the essence of the Headship and Lordship of Christ! (1 Cor. 8: 5-6) Any thing else is some form of idolatry! Christianity is a “free man”, In Christ. No Popes, no Kings. And indeed only the “Kingdom” of God In Christ-Messiah!

        Like

        • cathy says:

          For someone who is not anti monarchy you do a very good impression.

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Indeed, I think the lady doth protest a bit too much.

          Like

        • Indeed that American Constitution has surely effected me! Old Jefferson did not like the King! And even Sir Edmund Burke liked the Americans.

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Actually Jefferson was a very loyal Brit, even to the King. but he would not abide the prerogative power, even when wielded by Parliament. You could add William Pitt the Younger and Fox to the mix as well. The only time they agreed on anything, probably including the dinner menu.

          Like

        • I think you could get some arguments about the King and Jefferson? I have myself read a few choice lines he made toward the monarchy. So “loyal” would need some definition! 😉 One thing is certain however about Jefferson the so-called “Christian”, he was NO conservative! I have a copy of his so-called Holy Bible, KJV of course, but what a eclectic mess!

          Like

        • Btw, I used “a” on purpose! It is of course quite an eclectic choice by Jefferson.

          Like

        • PS… Every American should see the 2010 movie, The Kings Speech, Geoffrey Rush was especially good!

          Liked by 1 person

  2. cathy says:

    Not really the day for attempting to score points.

    Congratulations to HM, although rather weird for her to consider that if she were Queen Victoria this would be the day that her reign ended. Not exactly a pleasant thought; no wonder she went off to open a railway line.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: My Article Read (9-9-2015) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

