53 Yogi Berra Quotes: His Funniest One-Liners and Witticisms

w7042So we’ve lost still another national treasure. I was going to do another post today, and sooner or later that one will show up, but this is more important.

Enjoy:

Baseball legend Yogi Berra died Tuesday at age 90, and while many will certainly remember him as a 10-time World Series champion, many will also remember him for his brilliant one-liners.

Baseball legend Yogi Berra died Tuesday at age 90, and while many will certainly remember him as a 10-time World Series champion, many will also remember him for his brilliant one-liners.

“When I’m sittin’ down to dinner with the family, stuff just pops out,” Berra insisted during a recent interview, The Associated Press reported. “And they’ll say, ‘Dad, you just said another one.’ And I don’t even know what the heck I said.”

The well-known book “Bartlett’s Familiar Quotations” lists eight of Berra’s witticisms, but we’ve gathered 53 below attributed to the baseball great.

  1. “I never said most of the things I said.”
  2. “It ain’t over till it’s over.”
  3. “Mickey Mantle was a very good golfer, but we weren’t allowed to play golf during the season; only at spring training.”
  4. “If the people don’t want to come out to the ballpark, nobody’s going to stop them.”
  5. “Baseball is 90 percent mental. The other half is physical.”
  6. “I can see how he (Sandy Koufax) won 25 games. What I don’t understand is how he lost five.”
  7. “In baseball, you don’t know nothing.”

Source: 53 Yogi Berra Quotes: His Funniest One-Liners and Witticisms

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

9 Responses to 53 Yogi Berra Quotes: His Funniest One-Liners and Witticisms

  1. Indeed a piece of 20th century Americania! RIP!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. the unit says:

    One of the best Yogisms which I only read this morning in an obit. His wife once asked him did he want to be buried in St. Louis, New York , or Montclair. He said “Why don’t you surprise me.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Yep, I​ saw that one the first time this morning as well. It’s a good, of so very many! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        His Yogisms will be used for years to come. Maybe become #86 in the Federalist Papers. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Could be useful there. Yep, his contribution to the language​ will go on. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  3. the unit says:

    I woke up this morning and besides Yogi I learned Coach Jenkins passed at 90 as well. Yeah lots of good and great people passed somewhere this week. But this was my coach, mid ’50’s, I was just track manager, handed out shorts, jocks and shoes at practice after class…and took them in and washed after practice. 🙂
    Coach said I was fast enough to help the team, so I ran too, and ran. I really wasn’t that fast but thought I was good enough to at least try. It meant a lot all these years.
    Thanks Coach RIP. Y’all would think I Boehner if you could see me now.
    http://www.wlox.com/story/30111244/coach-bert-jenkins-was-a-winner-on-and-off-the-court

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Yep, a few of those in my life​ as well!

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        Long before he was locally famous, I said to him one day I didn’t feel like practicing today. He said I don’t care how you feel, you will practice. Now still practicing. In race of life, no time for feelings, mission must be accomplished. Practice makes perfect, as much as possible.
        P.S. he had one of those paddle boards with holes drilled in it. Parent approved too. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Good motivators those boards were 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

