Feast Day of Our Lady of Walsingham

pic_old-mapSo, today is the Feast Day of Our Lady of Walsingham. Seems strange, even to me, that a hard-headed old Protestant like me would care. Like many of you, I was raised that the veneration of Saints and such tended very close to idolatry. And it can, Martin Luther, himself, warned of it but, he also venerated Mary, the Theotokos, all his life.

In truth, many of us venerate soldiers, sports heroes, even politicians, in much the same way. In essence, it strikes me as little more than a desire to emulate an exemplary person. The Christian overlay provides an opportunity for us to ask them to intercede with God for us, is all.

But, being raised when and how I was, none of this penetrated my thick skull, and I know I was hardly alone. But if we are wise we learn, and we grow as we age. At least for me this is true.

I was introduced to Our Lady of Walsingham by my coauthor, Jess, not long after we met, she made the pilgrimage to Walsingham a few years ago, not long after we were brought together.

With my love of history, I was fascinated by the history and have written some about it, as has Jess. But that is not the point, today, while she was there, she lit a candle and prayed for me (yes, I know, not the kind of thing we Lutherans, or in truth most Anglicans) do. The thing is, I felt a peace go through me at almost the moment she lit it, and sundry other effects as well.

Today, Jess’ coauthor on her blog is commemorating Jess’ writing on Walsingham (in truth, so am I), with a repeat of her first post on her pilgrimage to Walsingham a few years ago, and links to the rest. We both think it a fine occasion to acquaint some of you newer friends with her writing, and it’s power. The story moved us then, and it moves us now. Jess has a knack for persuasive writing, in truth much of the basis of our friendship, and yes love, will be found in the series of posts, he links. It’s called Our Lady of Walsingham, so go there already, I’ll wait.

It fired our friendship, and it especially did so in three areas, our love of God, a shared passion for history, and my renewed love of poetry. How can one not be moved by Eliot’s

And what the dead had no speech for, when living,
They can tell you, being dead: the communication
Of the dead is tongued with fire beyond the language of the living.
Here, the intersection of the timeless moment
Is England and nowhere. Never and always.

For here, at Walsingham is one of the places they are made very true.

Jess also tells us about the sprinkling service, and how moved she was, and I’ll add how moved I was by her telling of it. And now I will also always remember that shortly before she received last rites last fall, before her miracle cure, she was again sprinkled with Walsingham water.

There may be other explanations, I suppose, but I haven’t stumbled across them, and it is from that moment that she became my dearest friend, a moment shared across the ocean and half a continent. There are more chapters to tell of this story, but not today, they will have to wait.

An interesting note is that the first Roman Catholic service at the shrine since the Reformation was performed by US Military personnel on 17 may 1945, just after VE day. They certainly had something to commemorate.

But in general, as Jess has always said, as you draw closer to Christ, His Mother has a very great appeal, and why wouldn’t She.

In truth, I think there is definitely simply Something about Maryas the linked article will tell you.

Although not really linked in history, this was the period when we adopted some of Julian of Norwich’s words as related by Eliot as a catchphrase, for me, for Jess, and for our blogs, and our lives:

WhOur_Lady_of_Walsinghamatever we inherit from the fortunate
We have taken from the defeated
What they had to leave us – a symbol:
A symbol perfected in death.
And all shall be well and
All manner of thing shall be well
By the purification of the motive
In the ground of our beseeching.

Today is the day that I will merely note and ask Our Lady of Walsingham to continue to watch over us, and those we love.

O Mary, recall the solemn moment when Jesus, your divine son, dying on the cross, confided us to your maternal care. You are our mother, we desire ever to remain your devout children. let us therefore feel the effects of your powerful intercession with Jesus Christ. make your name again glorious in the shrine once renowned throughout England by your visits, favours, and many miracles.

Pray, O holy mother of God, for the conversion of England, restoration of the sick, consolation for the afflicted, repentance of sinners, peace to the departed.

O blessed Mary, mother of God, our Lady of Walsingham, intercede for us.
Amen.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

19 Responses to Feast Day of Our Lady of Walsingham

  1. the unit says:

    Gosh it’s that day again? I remember reading something about it I guess a year ago. I know that’s not long to be a reader here, but I’ve read often and thoroughly as I could and been a pretty consistent commenter.
    I being Southern Baptist and wife Catholic, schools for her and all, so this visit by Pope has inspired some interesting conversation here. Not argumentative. We both too old to argue.
    Mainly just come to the conclusion besides RINO’s, we know a bunch of CINO’s.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Yep, there a lot of that going on – in all our churches, sadly. Yep, it’s that day again. Jess’ posts are fascinating (at least to me) and quite moving as well.

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        Moving yes. I never read here without realizing Jess’s influence on you. And silently say Lord Bless and Keep Her as a prayer. Would love to read new contribution, but not my will necessarily will be done. God Bless you too NEO. And keep you. I ain’t throwin’ you back.

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          So would I, nor will necessarily my will be done, but I continue to hope and pray, and it may happen. She changed me, and that’s a fact, Jack. And thanks for that, I ain’t the swimmer I used to be! 🙂

          Like

  2. I have been to Walsingham myself, there is a so-called Anglican Shrine Church or Chapel there also, built in the 1930’s as I remember. As also a chapel for the Orthodox pilgrims. As a more classic evangelical Anglican Christian now (for many years), I cannot “pray” to any other Mediator but Christ, (1 Tim. 2: 5). But, certainly St. Mary the Virgin is central in biblical Christology, the Mother of the Incarnate Christ!

    Btw, I have an interesting older book (1955), that was done or compiled by the English or British Catholic Christian, Donald Attwater…called: A Dictionary of Mary, (312 pages). It is worth the read, and Attwater gives a sort of historical descriptive of the Catholic titles and history-ecclesiastic of Mary, and he quotes even the “Panagia”, He Panagia, (Greek) “The All-Holy,” of the Orthodox… “Great is the name of the Holy Trinity, All-holy God-bearer, help us”. The Orthodox always quote Mary (correctly I believe) within the aspect of the Incarnation, i.e. the Theotokos. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      I was brought up that way myself, but have found Her helpful in the later years. “Pray” to, not really, merely ask for her intercession. Theotokos​, indeed.

      Like

      • Yes, you know me, always seeking that biblical and theological “perception”! Seeking the true place of the “Reformers”! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • Not to forget, I was brought up Irish Catholic… all the way! Indeed we all come from somewhere! 😉

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          That we do!

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Yep, no problem, and we all end up someplace on the spectrum. 🙂

          Like

        • I will be 66 next month! And I want to see the “Lord of Glory”… though perhaps not just yet? 😉 Btw, some I believe will be in the so-called spectrum of “the lost”! Not a popular thought today!

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Nope, it sue isn’t!

          Like

    • The book by Attwater, my copy anyway is Longmans, Green And Co LTD, Great Britain, (1957). There is an American edition also, P.J. Kenedy & Sons, New York. And yes, I have both! The American edition is larger for the eyes!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. the unit says:

    Swimmer, that was me! A laugh for me. I was fortunate to be sent of to Camp Le Conte about ’54. Went by train to Chattanooga, then by flat bed stake body truck with suitcase to the camp somewhere in the mountains for two weeks.
    Had couple of days of homesickness, but nothing being short sheeted wouldn’t over come.
    One competition was a swimming race across a ice water lake. I came in second, nearly numb and incoherent, from the cold.
    Counsellor said don’t feel bad, the fat boy who beat me was from New Orleans. Duh, I grew up on U.S. 90 just across the highway from the Gulf of Mexico and swam all the time, in summer. Maybe he in the .1% with lessons and year around pool.
    I didn’t know about those folks back then.
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      I did some, dad came up with one of those above ground pools when I​ was a kid, I wasn’t bad, but like most things, I could make my presence felt – once I got there. I played tackle for a reason 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Feast Day of Our Lady of Walsingham | Christians Anonymous

  5. the unit says:

    Mighty late again when thoughts come together. King Richard III’s DNA and wounds seem to identify he was buried under a English parking lot (witch came first :). ) However the following royalty may not have that evidence due to hanky panky. No body denying the Queen ain’t the Queen however. How about check on the Muddifer of Islam, can any one draw his DNA?

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      The car park was actually church (another one of those monasteries that that Henry VIII destroyed) in those days. For the rest – Yeah.

      Like

  6. Pingback: A Reflection on Walsingham | All Along the Watchtower

Leave a Reply

