Maureen O’Hara

maureen-o-hara-003When I was young, there were certain names on the marquee that insured I would be interested in a movie (Yes, James Bond was one of them) 🙂 But mainly, they were names like Maureen O’Hara, John Wayne, and John Ford. No group of filmmakers has ever appealed as much to me.

As James Bond signified the suave British secret agent we all wished we were, the Duke and Maureen signified the down home basically decent Americans we were, although written very large indeed. And truthfully, as much as I loved Sean Connery in the role, Daniel Craig makes me think he really was replaceable. But Maureen was completely unique. I don’t think there ever was, or ever could be, another. Nor did it hurt to remind us how many of us were immigrants, often from Ireland. It was exactly as we wanted to be, and to show ourselves to the world, and yes the world liked the idea, as well.

But sadly, they, like the genre thy epitomized are all gone now. Maureen O’Hara died last Saturday. I suspect I’m not the only one who fell in love with feisty, headstrong, but essentially sensible, not to mention absolutely gorgeous redheads watching her. And yes, I’m still convinced that even on film Gingers steal your soul.

Rest in Peace, Maureen, knowing how we loved you.

One of my favorites, not least because it features her background more than his. And it’s a lovely film.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

19 Responses to Maureen O’Hara

  1. Maureen O’Hara, was surely one of the most beautiful Irish redheads God created! A Dublin born girl, RIP!

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Indeed so!

      Like

      • As I remember she was born in an up-scale Dublin suburb! And one of her sisters became a cloistered nun.

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Could well be.

          Like

        • Yes, she was born Maureen FitzSimons, and Charles Laughton sort of discovered her, and was the one that re-named her O’Hara, I believe. She also later had a dual-citizenship, of course Irish and American. She died in Idaho.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Btw, since my father was a British bit actor in college (after WW2), I was exposed to his love of movies, and of course both the Brit’s and American actors, etc. He loved O’Hara to say the least!

          Liked by 1 person

        • My father was surely a so-called “Maslow” high-achiever! (Part of that Greatest Generation!) I chased his image for many years! But, I could never match that old Irishman, but I tried! 😉 Yes, I am his first-born son! He was born just before O’Hara. RIP to that Generation!

          Liked by 1 person

  2. the unit says:

    Those were back in the day when one’s favorite actress favored one’s own mother.
    http://www.fanpop.com/clubs/classic-movies/quiz/show/592710/what-year-maureen-ohara-honored-with-most-beautiful-legs-america-national-hosiery-manufacturers

    Liked by 1 person

    • Indeed there is quite nothing more beautiful than a nice (kinda lean for me) woman’s legs! Thank God He created Eve! … Where would be without her?! 😉 And yes, me mum was beautiful! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Make that ‘long and lean’! (As my wife’s)

        Like

      • the unit says:

        And I agree, and that’s wholesome too. But pic I was trying to link to was more about modesty and DOMA, not sleaze of today. I was wondering if O’Hara ever posed showing legs and found the picture of hosiery award, just showing nothing but ankles and feet. In the days of imagination, or fascination, and wondering. 🙂

        Like

        • “imagination, fascination, and wonderment”… that about covers it! Such is the mind of beauty! And btw, no wonder Adam could not give-up Eve! 😉

          Liked by 1 person

    • the unit says:

      Something went haywire in this link. Site doesn’t jive with what is says in address. In fact each time entered to something different. I don’t know how it’s done. So I’m going to explore a bit to see if I can duplicate the pic.
      Anyway it was a pic of O’Hara lying on a beach, fully dressed, nothing showing but ankles and feet.

      Like

      • I don’t need pictures, its already in my mind and memory! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Mine as well, why do you think McClintock runs so often here? 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • This was a great “tread” (post)!

          Liked by 2 people

  3. the unit says:

    I don’t know why link failed, but if you want to see…just google ‘In what year was Maureen O’Hara honored with the most beautiful legs.’ P.S. she did show her shoulders. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • the unit says:

      Nice shoulders. 🙂

      Like

  4. Pingback: My Article Read (12-5-2015) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

