90 Days to nowhere… Submarine Documentary 1977 « theleansubmariner

One of my oldest blogfriends published a post near to his heart this week. Actually, it’s close to mine as well, for my (unfulfilled military dreams all included SAC. Here’s Mac:

Another great video from a bygone era. The 41 for Freedom Boats were still in their glory and the USS Ohio was going through its growing pains at the shipyard at Electric Boat. While the patrol cycle is sometimes given short shrift by non-boomer sailors, it had a unique purpose and involved a large number of men in both operations and support.  The operations tempo and the transition to the newer subs is very nicely described here: http://fas.org/blogs/security/2009/03/usssbn/

Source: 90 Days to nowhere… Submarine Documentary 1977 « theleansubmariner

As Mac notes. and I have as well, the strategic forces have been on a war footing since about 1948, both Navy and Air Force. This Veteran’s Day, we should remember as well those who have kept the peace, as well as those who have fought the wars. For truly for the boomer guys, as well “Peace is our Profession”

BZ, Guys

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

5 Responses to 90 Days to nowhere… Submarine Documentary 1977 « theleansubmariner

  1. PatriotUSA says:

    Shared and great post. I have known a couple who served in same service. God bless them and all who serve. Takes a very special breed to serve on a sub.

    I have to be totally deep sixed, sedated into the netherlands before they can stuff me into an MRI. Double God bless them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Yep, I’m much like that, too. Give me an airplane. 🙂 But “Bless ’em all!”

      Like

  2. PatriotUSA says:

    Survived a mine cave in in 1975, underground for 15 hrs, had to dig ourselves out. No one knew we were there. Abandoned gold mine. The narrow confines of an MRI horrify me. I can deal with most else. I travel by train on rare occasions I do travel, exclusively. Of course no trains to Oz or Scotland so yeah, I will fly when need be.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Yikes, nothing in my life to answer that one! I tend to take the train myself, takes a while but it’s comfy, and I​ hate airports anymore​, still, as you say, there are times. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: My Article Read (11-8-2015) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

