The Worldwide Domino Effect of the French Attacks

I don’t really know enough about Europe to even have an opinion, but I know what I read here, and some over there as well, and I think Leon H. Wolf over at RedState may well be on to something.

The series of coordinated attacks by ISIS in Paris may not even be over, but they may have already set into motion a series of events that may shape the globe for years to come in ways that we cannot even predict at the moment.

Lost in much of the media coverage of the attacks in France is the fact that they occurred mere weeks before France’s national regional council elections, which serve as a rough comparison to our off-year elections. Before these attacks even occurred, France’s far-right National Front party was poised to take somewhere between one and three regions – an unprecedented level of power for a party that was long sullied by its association with Jean Marie Le Pen. National Front is now led by Le Pen’s daughter Marine, who has purged the party of its anti-Semites and made it respectable; in fact, Marine Le Pen is currently leading in the polling for France’s next Presidential elections (to be held in 2017).

Hollande, meanwhile, has been in deep doo doo polling-wise for over a year, with approval ratings that hit a stunning 13 per cent earlier this year. Hollande has rebounded somewhat as the year has gone on, but he still polls a distant third behind Le Pen and Sarkozy. France has a Presidential primary that is roughly similar to Louisiana’s “jungle primary” system, and it has looked for some time like the final round would be between the conservative Sarkozy and the even more conservative Le Pen, with liberals and Hollande supporters throwing the win to Sarkozy in the final round.

Source: The Worldwide Domino Effect of the French Attacks | RedState

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

20 Responses to The Worldwide Domino Effect of the French Attacks

  1. the unit says:

    I remember hearing a lot about the Domino Effect from LBJ and McNamara 50 years ago.
    What I’m expecting not is nation wide Montezuma’s revenge from this immigration and refugee situation.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Yep. I don’t say we shouldn’t take refugees, but we surely ought to vet them properly.

      Like

      • the unit says:

        Yeah some fellow said what is planned for immigrations is like admitting 2 people in a 30,000 stadium. I think one was stopped with strapped on bomb trying to get in a stadium in Paris.
        So properly vetted, if it could be done. FBI director said there are no records to properly do that.
        My urogenital system was properly vetted yesterday. Develop that for refugee vetting. No pain no gain. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Yeah, pretty much. It’s definitely a problem.

          Like

    • the unit says:

      I meant expecting is, not “expecting not is” I think you caught it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • NEO says:

        Yep, I did. I also know how I type and make allowances. Remember when we were kids and keyboards were for girls? 🙂

        Like

  2. Indeed France is quite another European world, I have not been there since the 1990’s. But I would not want to overly press the French! God Bless the Blue-White-Red…the French Tricolour!

    Liked by 1 person

    • And btw, John Calvin (Jean Calvin) was born in France!

      Like

    • the unit says:

      There is a story at Drudge on the increased inquiry into military recruitment there. But as one commentator said, better vet them well. Want another Nidal Hasan?

      Liked by 1 person

      • There was a time when I was young, when I thought about the French Foreign Legion! (Now mostly foreign nationals join).

        Liked by 1 person

        • And this is worth putting up! https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/French_Foreign_Legion Not too many Americans perhaps ever wanted to be in the French Foreign Legion? But some wee Irish lads used to! But that was another generation! 😉

          Like

        • NEO says:

          I suspect many of us thought of it!

          Like

        • the unit says:

          No I never contemplated joining. But I knew of them way back. Probably from a comic book. Mickey joins the French Foreign Legion was a bit before my time. However, a first cousin six years older than me collected all sorts of comic books, a closet full. I visited often and read many. I might have come across it and read it back then. 🙂

          Like

        • Thinking was about as far as I got in my French Foreign Legion ideas! My one Irish grandfather, a WW1 vet, did not like the French much? And the RMC’s are of course British!

          And btw Bear Grylls was never in the French Legion, he just did a show about them in 2005, and sort of “played” the role! And some have said that Grylls was/is sort of a fraud? I don’t know? But he is the son of Conservative politician Sir Michael Grylls, and Lady Sarah Grylls. Lady Grylls is the daughter of politician Patricia Ford, briefly an Ulster Unionist Party MP, and cricketer and businessman Neville Ford.

          Like

        • http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/7304617.stm

          Like

        • And just a friendly point, but I have 25 years, on Grylls who is 41. And of course I am low-brow Irish! 😉

          Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Yep, when they get serious, well best get out of the way.

      Like

      • The French Underground in WW II, had guts & glory! And they have had some sweet Aircraft over the years, the Dassault Rafale ain’t bad!

        Like

  3. Pingback: My Article Read (11-20-2015) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

