Christmas Schedule

christmas-eve-religious-2Well, it’s that time of year again. I shall be leaving on a (not very) fast train tomorrow evening, actually very early morning, for the east coast, so I can again spend Christmas with my family.

That means that I will be only sporadically around, and if you were here last year that meant that I left you pretty much without whatever you get from reading here. It was a not overly merry Christmas for me. Yes, there was the joy of seeing my family again, but I was deeply worried about my dearest friend, and partner here, Jessica.

This year has had deep meaning for me as we moved into Advent. Jess is nearly recovered and amongst those closest to her, and indeed herself, we have begun calling her recovery an advent as well, for it has been a time of waiting and praying, as well. Here you have seen a few many signs that she is about, and she began posting again a few weeks ago on her site. Lately, she’s been almost carrying both blogs, obviously, she had a few things stored up in her for us.

This year will be different because she is nearly (very nearly indeed) well again. In addition, she has agreed to come back to us (or at least mostly you guys). She being her normal efficient self, has already scheduled her posts for you. I should note that she, like me, will be a bit sporadic in answering your comments, she doesn’t have all that great internet access at the moment, but she will likely respond eventually, as will I.

I have read them, and as always they are of almost timeless interest, and cover quite a great span of things. I confidently predict you, and I, will enjoy them greatly, and in addition, they will make us all think.

So be nice to her, or else. I’ve missed her greatly here on our blog, and this is one of the happiest events I can remember.

And shamelessly stolen from The Thin Pinstriped Line for Jess, and you all!

 

Finally, in the words of the great Sir Humphrey Appleby himself,

“I wonder if I might crave your momentary indulgence in order to discharge a by no means disagreeable obligation which has, over the years, become more or less established practice in government service as we approach the terminal period of the year — calendar, of course, not financial — in fact, not to put too fine a point on it, Week Fifty-One — and submit to you, with all appropriate deference, for your consideration at a convenient juncture, a sincere and sanguine expectation — indeed confidence — indeed one might go so far as to say hope — that the aforementioned period may be, at the end of the day, when all relevant factors have been taken into consideration, susceptible to being deemed to be such as to merit a final verdict of having been by no means unsatisfactory in its overall outcome and, in the final analysis, to give grounds for being judged, on mature reflection, to have been conducive to generating a degree of gratification which will be seen in retrospect to have been significantly higher than the general average

Jim Hacker: Are you trying to say “Happy Christmas,” Humphrey?

Sir Humphrey: Yes, Minister.”

Merry Christmas to you all,

especially you, dearest friend 🙂 xxx!

Christmas

See you next year!

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

61 Responses to Christmas Schedule

  1. JessicaHof says:

    Hurrah – and thank you – I shall try not to sink the ship whilst the commander is away 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      That’s why it lovely to have a wonderful first officer! 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • JessicaHof says:

        I hope so – I didn’t manage to hit any rocks two years ago, so I hope that will be so now, too 🙂 xx

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          You’ve certainly steered a good course, so far. Born ‘Gator, I guess! 🙂 xx

          Liked by 1 person

        • JessicaHof says:

          Good chart I reckons, sir!

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Possibly, ma’am. good thing I didn’t write it!

          Liked by 1 person

        • JessicaHof says:

          Ha! 🙂 xx I hope ypu have a marvellous time back east – give your family my love 🙂 xx

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          🙂 xx I likely shall. No worries this year! Huzzah! 🙂 xx

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Something of a High Church Lutheran and a High Church Anglican, together! Did I get it right? I have friends in both btw, especially the latter. There is always much that we can agree on actually! 🙂

    God Speed NEO, keep ya eyes on any bad guys on that train!

    Liked by 2 people

    • NEO says:

      Yep, that pretty much covers it! Always is, it’s a matter of different roads to the same destination.

      Thanks! And Roger that, Marine!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Btw, my wife says to me, watch-out for them potholes on my road to glory! She knows me, that I can get side-tracked at times! She is my balance-beam!

        And Semper Fi on dat train!

        Liked by 2 people

        • NEO says:

          She’s got good advice for us all, I reckon!

          Like

    • NEO says:

      Close anyway, Jess is really an Anglo-Catholic, and I’d likely be a Confessional Lutheran, if there was one nearby! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I’d rather you both define yourselves, in the Christian and theological sense. I too have been Anglo-Catholic in my long road in Christendom. Though now I would prefer that I am somewhat High Church on some things theological, seeing Mary as the Theotokos, but not a Mediatrix, or Co-redemptrix, and ‘No Mariology without Christology’, is a good maxim! Luther, I believe would be right here! But surely Mary is the Mother of the great Incarnation, at least historically and in time. My belief anyway. Sometimes Joseph gets left out here with Protestants. He was such a righteous man and Jew!

        Merry Christmas!

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Indeed, Joseph is one of my very favorites. I very righteous man, who did his duty, superlatively.

          merry christmas!

          Like

        • “superlatively”… Love those scholastic like words! In fact, I love Protestant Scholasticism! See Richard Muller’s grand book: Dictionary of Latin and Greek Theological Terms (the subtitle is actually: Drawn Principally from Protestant Scholastic Theology).

          *But also, the nice little book from Fortress Press: Introduction To The Lutheran Confessions, (1999 Augsburg Fortress Publishers).

          Liked by 1 person

  3. the unit says:

    Merry Christmas and stay safe. Seems I remember last year you nearly had an accident on the way to the train. I think.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      No nearly to it. We wrecked an E-350 van hitting a nice black cow. I will, and the same to you guys. I’ll be in and out some, in any case! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • the unit says:

        I remember the “no nearly to it” now. It really was how now black cow! 🙂
        So take care and have “Happy Christmas.”

        Liked by 2 people

        • NEO says:

          🙂 I shall, and I note you’re getting better at ‘Britspeak’. Not a bad thing! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          🙂 Yepper, indeed so! I tend to pick distinctive words and phases up.

          Liked by 2 people

        • NEO says:

          As do I, especially when they are better than ours!

          Like

        • My wife says my “Britspeak” has gone to hell! Well maybe just a bit? It’s actually always been hell bound, as an old Bootneck, that’s an RMC! Btw, I think old Luther used to cuss some? And sometimes a good old cuss word hits the correct spot! Aye ya bloody so and so! My WW II father, uncles, etc. I miss them all, especially at Christmas time!

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          She has some point, I think, especially in everyday usage. but at it’s best, it’s quite wonderful, still.

          Same for us all, one of the sadnesses of getting old (er)!

          Like

        • Funny, but being raised Catholic, I don’t remember taking the Lord’s Name in vain? I am sure I did sometime? But I really can’t remember when? Just one of the good things about being raised Irish Catholic in the ’50’s! Goodness those days are seared (hammered) in my memories and somewhat conscience!

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Or even Reformed/Lutheran. When we did, it had a lot of meaning attached, not least because it was so rare, and we meant it!

          Like

  4. the unit says:

    After New Years maybe y’all can discuss what is really “taking the Lord’s Name in vain?” Was it as a child hearing my Dad after hitting his thumb with the hammer instead of the nail? And I did it too. I would bet it has been discussed here before. Refer me if so. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Don’t know that we have. I’ll think about it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Well, saying GD, or JC in some vain way would cover it to my mind! And I note I hear the latter sometimes even more! Very sad! Btw, think of the Hebrew name for GOD, “Elohim”, the Creator, and too the Covenant name for God! And in Genesis it is plural, 1;1, etc.

      http://www.oxfordbiblechurch.co.uk/index.php/teachings/the-character-of-god/2327-the-jehovah-yahweh-covenant-names-of-god

      Like

      • The last comes from a so-called Bible Church (Evangelical) in England. I would follow much here, of course that is Biblical. But NOT all of it! God In Christ is sovereign in any healing, but this dispensation (administration) is NOT the time of the early and Apostolic Church as to divine healing. Of course my belief and theology.

        Like

      • the unit says:

        Fr. I meant as a topic for after New Years. Anyway certainly when used overtly, premediated, with malice as in a certain church in a Chicago church not long ago.
        And now we got another word to decide what is “vain” to a liberal and the SCOTUS. 🙂
        Here’s to next year!

        Like

        • @Unit: Indeed the liberal herd follows their own version of just about everything! They reinvent whenever it suits them. Sadly here we might find “sinners” in the hands of an angry God, who knows? But truth is Truth, and it really cannot change! We must constantly seek to find it!

          And yes, to Next Year!

          Liked by 1 person

  5. the unit says:

    I must confess about 2:22 pm responding to Fr. I did it. Not in vain, but a spontaneous utterance of words I’ve heard before. Was cutting up a empty diet drink 2 liter bottle with scissors and nicked my finger. Snipped a vain. Just finished holding a paper towel with pressure. It’s that blood thinning meds that made me have do it. It just comes out without thinking. Not in vain intended, if that counts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well being raised Irish Catholic in the 50’s the Ten Commandments were pressed upon us, and especially taking the Name of the Lord in vain! We were conditioned, because it was could be more than a venial sin! But in your case, it is just a colloquial word, but it does indeed have a real meaning! Just like the F word had become a colloquial word for us RMC Marines! But, the Name of God is quite different! But, I will leave that to you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        I best leave it at that. At least I never used a Covenant Name of God, nor meant to. From now on I mean Allahu according to SpongeBob, durn.

        Like

  6. Merry Christmas! I am glad that this one is so much happier for you than the last, which I remember from our e-mails around that time. It is certainly good to know that Jessica is back.

    Have a safe, happy, fun trip, and come back soon! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • NEO says:

      Thanks, Isabella/CNG, such a good friend that you have two names! 🙂 Those were dark days, and you helped me greatly. Thank you again. I will, and I will be keeping up with Adeline as I do! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • You are welcome! 🙂 I am glad that I was able to help. And thank you for the two names! LOL 🙂 Two names is always fun! As for Adeline, she has kept me up all night, and I still have to finish decorating today! Argh! When will I ever sleep? Safe travels my friend! xx

        Liked by 2 people

        • NEO says:

          I like having my longest lasting friends around. I nearly said oldest, but that is quite inappropriate for you young ‘uns. 🙂

          It is, isn’t it. I’ve had a feeling she might be like that, that’s one of nice things about leaving, I don’t have to! You’ll find time, my friend, or God will find it for you!

          And thanks! xx

          Liked by 2 people

        • LOL 🙂 I am starting to get up there I guess, although I still feel uncannily young. It is nice to have those around from the beginning though, and I am glad you are still here, despite all my many disappearances.Merry Christmas! 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

        • NEO says:

          yeah, well, we all do what we have to, even young ladies like you! 🙂

          Merry Christmas to you, dear friend.

          Liked by 2 people

        • Buon Natale! 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

        • NEO says:

          Foehliche Weinatchen, if I understood you! 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

        • 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          🙂

          Like

    • Hi Jessica. 🙂 I apologize for this, but will you check the comments in my latest post from earlier today (December 22)? I am not sure what is going on, but I thought I should at least bring it to your attention in case there is a misunderstanding that could be easily resolved. He sounds pretty crushed. Thanks, and take care! 🙂

      Like

      • NEO says:

        Hi Isabella, I’m sure Jess will get back to you.

        Like

        • Hi NEO, thank you for the reply. Wow. [edited by admin]

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          OK, I will but there will likely be a delay in my answer, as Jess, said I’m leaving sometime tonight for Philly, but will answer from Chi tomorrow afternoon, if that’s alright?

          Liked by 1 person

        • Oh, that is fine. It may take me that long to send an email. 🙂 I have so much to do.

          Like

        • NEO says:

          You’ll note I edited your comment as well, just to be (and stay) safe! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • Thanks, yes please do. You can take them all down if you like. It may be best. Thanks NEO.

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          I think it’s alright now, and will alert Jess as well, cause I won’t speak to her till tomorrow afternoon, either. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • Sounds good. I hope it all works out ok. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          We all do. I’ll explain in email, a bit more. I don’t know it all, I suspect.

          BTW, I’m just reading your lovely one from today. This is a great story, just really difficult to comment on! 🙂 x

          Liked by 1 person

        • Thank you NEO. I appreciate it. Oh, the story – it is so long and complicated, probably way to long and complicated for a blog. I thought I would give it a go and try to do it a little for Christmas, but there is so much to explain that it is turning into far more than a “little.” Ah well, so goes fiction I suppose. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Well, I love it, my friend! 🙂 And strangely, it sounds entirely possible to me. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • Thank you NEO. 🙂 I think that is one of the hardest parts about being an artist – your never sure if what you see comes across in the right way to everyone else.

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          I doubt this one comes across to everyone, but it speaks very loudly (or maybe insistently is a better word) to me, 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • 🙂 Thanks NEO. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          🙂

          Like

Leave a Reply

