Reflections from an unusual year

new-year-fireworks-in-london-ap-816770464

A year ago I don’t remember what I was doing. That is a function of the fact I was so ill I don’t remember anything at all; I’m glad I don’t, as what little comes to me from time to time isn’t worth remembering. The only thing that sticks is a memory of the kindness of people. I think that a year ago I was where I am now, in convalescence then. I was sick, and they received me; I was a stranger, and they fed and comforted me; I was in need, and they loved me, quietly but with a fierce determination which stemmed from the fact that they truly believe the Gospel message. I know that the internet meme about St Francis saying ‘Preach the Gospel, use words if you must’ isn’t something he really said, but it was the reality I felt then – and feel now. It wasn’t just the quiet efficiency of trained ‘carers’, it was the depth and quality of the care, which came from their knowing that in tending for me they were tending to Christ. In that there was a purity of heart which moved me then and moves me still. This was and is Christianity. They did not care about theological differences; I was a sick woman and they bound up my wounds and they cared for me.

At some point I began to get up and get about again. They were there, quietly and unobtrusively. When I could, I did some work for them, seeing that their patient could do accounts, they were happy to let me get on with it – not least when it became clear that there were various things they had been missing, and the accounts came in better than ever before. Their love had prompted me to offer what gifts I had, and they benefitted in a way they could never have anticipated. Their appreciation in turn helped heal me, helped me feel I could still be useful and of help. That being so, I did some more for them, and so love fed itself and on itself and our final state was better than our first.

On reflection, it seems to me this is how it could be if we freely give as Christ gave us love and salvation. But we are not Christ, even if we aspire to be like him, and we think – rightly – that we cannot do as he did; but can we not try to get a little closer to him? Can we not think what acts of random kindness we can do for each other every day? Even if it is only a little thing, we don’t know how much of a difference it might make to others. Reflecting on this year, where I have been the recipient of all sorts of kindnesses and help, sometimes, it has been the tiny things – the smile, the lending of a book, the offer of a coffee – which have meant the most in terms of changing my mood.

If we are to adopt a New Year Resolution, that wouldn’t be a bad one!

HAPPY NEW YEAR for 2016  from all here at NEO’s place

About JessicaHof
Anglican Christian, evangelist, survivor, grateful

9 Responses to Reflections from an unusual year

  1. NEO says:

    Seconded, and carried by acclamation!

    HAPPY NEW YEAR for 2016 from all here at NEO’s place.

    I’ll have more to say later, but for now, I hope I speak not only for me but for our readers when I say, it has been a very long year but it has the best outcome imaginable, because of your return.

    And yes, it is the little things that we need to do for each other, and I don’t want to wait to thank our readers for all the support and prayers they offered for you dearest friend, but also for me, when I was very troubled this last year! 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • JessicaHof says:

      It has surely been an odd year – but ending well 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • NEO says:

        Indeed it has, but ending with hope for a much better new year. 🙂 xx

        Liked by 1 person

        • JessicaHof says:

          🙂 xx

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          🙂 xx

          Like

  2. Amen! For me, the Christian walk is but one day at a time! (Matt. 6: 34)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. the unit says:

    I’ll take another unusual year relative to what you two been through. Of my two living children, both with what some call disabilities, one started new job as CPA and the youngest completed her RN degree.
    Anyway Happy New Unusual Year. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • JessicaHof says:

      You too – and that sounds like good news 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, so true! It is the little things that often help so much.

    It is good, and refreshing, to hear that you had people who took such good care of you, and I am glad that you are much better now!

    Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

A Paradoxical Millennial

Somewhat-alternative thoughts on Society and Culture

SupportOurLefty

Totally unconditional support for Our Lefty, i.e. Me, friends.

From the Green Notebook

My thoughts on war, warfare, and leadership

Organized Lunacy

Inspiration and motivation for every life situation.

historyxpolitics

" God cannot alter the past, though Historians can. "

Doug's Scribbles and Ramblings

The incoherent ramblings of a working class white guy.

Charlie R. Claywell

Exploring How Being American Affects My World View.

joyfullyandperfectlyhis

My life as a daughter of the King

Journey Towards Easter

Discovering the beauty of truth

My Daily Musing

With God we will gain the victory, and he will trample our enemies. Psalms 109:13

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

An Unlikely Wanderer

God will give to the soul a new understanding of God in God, the old human understanding being cast aside – and a new love of God in God. - St. John of the Cross

Think Defence

UK Defence Issues and the odd container or two

Anglicanicons

Writing in words and pictures

The Catechesis of Caroline

A Catholic woman blogging about life

Changing Skin and other stories

Creative Writing and unfinished business...

Omaha News & World Report

Local, National, & World News; Expert Reviews, Biased Commentary, Raw Polls, & Random Musings

Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Joanne Begiato Muses on History

Talking through my research

nebraskaenergyobserver

The view from the Anglosphere

The Nice Thing About Strangers

Creative Non-Fiction Short Stories. :) Travel, Oldsters, Love, and Compassion.

Ye Olde Soapbox

News and Views, Stimulus for the masses

World History Blog

The view from the Anglosphere

Watcher of Weasels

Keeping an eye on the weasels of the world

Villainous Company

The view from the Anglosphere

Unedited Politics

Just Political Videos

Two Nerdy History Girls

The view from the Anglosphere

Thomas Sowell's Townhall.com Column

The view from the Anglosphere

Thin Pinstriped Line

The view from the Anglosphere

The Tree of Mamre

Politics, religion, and life. Unapologetically conservative, Christian, and iconoclastic.

The DXZone.com Amateur Radio Internet Guide

The view from the Anglosphere

The Daley Gator

If You're Left, You Just Ain't Right

