Old Business and Moving On

uk-us-shooping-0211Well we all, and the blog made it through 2014. There were more than a few days, especially early in the year when that was in doubt, especially for my dearest friend and editor, Jessica. But her Christianity and sense of mission pulled her through, and that inspired me to ‘keep on keepin’ on’. The blog suffered from my disquiet, as did my writing, for which I’m a bit sorry, but it is what it is, and we’ll try to do better. We carried on though, and in fact, did fairly well, holding our own.

For that I owe thanks to our readers and especially our commenters, particularly irishanglican ~ Fr. Robert, the unit,  Reclaiming the Sacred, and lafayetteangel who comments occasionally, but often finds our work to be worth linking to, we notice and are grateful, always.

But mostly my thanks go to Jessica who is, as I said on our third anniversary, ” A lot of it, which won’t surprise you, is Jess, more behind the scenes than I would prefer. Muse, partner, supporter, and more, I wouldn’t have made it this far without her.” And even in her illness, her prayers sustained me, as I Hope, mine helped her, and as she recovered, her friendship and support helped me immensely. And now with the return of her voice, of which our newer readers had a taste, covering much of her interests while I was gone. She promises that she will be contributing here, at least occasionally. She’s a busy lady, with many duties and I’m very grateful. not least because she makes me a better writer, as well, and as some know, we often feed off each other posts.

In addition, she cares about most of the same topics I care most about: Christianity (although she knows far more), America (and Great Britain), real feminism (not the balderdash bestowed by many of the so-called feminists), and all the rest, certainly nit excluding John Wayne, and the fabulous Maureen O’Hara.

So as we go into 2016, I’m quite optimistic about the blog’s future, all the pieces are again in place, and perhaps we will have a period of “Calm seas and fair winds”. In any case, we will be giving you our “View from the prairie” and again the view from the Norfolk plain as well.

I was going to conclude with the video of The Quiet Man, but it is apparently no longer on YouTube, although depending on the media you use, it is available on the internet somewhere. So we’ll have to settle for the Duke and Maureen in McClintock.

 

Jess and I both think that these movies, form much of the foundation myth of America, and are at least as important as the dry history we learned in school.

Happy 2016 to you all!

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

10 Responses to Old Business and Moving On

  1. JessicaHof says:

    Thank you kindly – dearest friend – and all the best to us all for 2016! It is good to be back.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      About all I can say to that is: YAY!! 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on My Daily Musing and commented:

    😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      • It is always my pleasure, :).

        Liked by 1 person

  3. the unit says:

    I’ve certainly enjoyed reading here, the bloggers and the commenters. And I’ve been reading a good while before I commented. Found you through your comments a pretty long while ago at that other fellow’s blog, from Indiana. 🙂
    Looking forward to reading lots more good news here this year. Already 2 days in and all is well with me. Also read that Cultural Limit’s home in St. Louis area is on a hill out of flood danger. So already lots to be thankful for.
    Yep, movin’ on and staying upbeat.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Doin’ our best! Not always easy but I will predict that 2016 will be better than last year! Hail Janus! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you NEO for the kind mention! 🙂

    I am very grateful to you as well, and all of your support. I am glad that things have worked out so well for you. I do remember last year at this time, and things are without a doubt much different!

    Happy New Year my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Indeed they are. my friend, and some of that is due ti you, so thank you so much!

      Happy New Year!

      Liked by 1 person

      • You are welcome! 🙂 You are very kind my friend. xoxo

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

