Bill Whittle: Winning and Powerball

Well, there’s a few new millionaires (likely for now) in America, this week, due to a $1.5 billion Powerball. Bill Whittle has some thought on the futility of dreaming about the easy way, and what winning really is. He’s right, of course.

 

What’s that? Yeah, I had a ticket too, and no, I didn’t win, but I didn’t plan on it either. 🙂

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

8 Responses to Bill Whittle: Winning and Powerball

  1. the unit says:

    I got off to a bad start relative to this video. I won Pin the Tail on the Donkey at Freddie Drunagle’s 12th birthday party. Forget what I won. Maybe another piece of cake.
    I then thought of myself as a winner for years. When Florida Lotto came about I spent 5 dollars a week for 10 years, then kids started college and I figured up what I’d spent and would spend if I kept it up.
    I even tortured myself. There was a website where one could check if one’s numbers had ever won. I checked my old numbers a while, then decided… not a fun thing to do.
    In the long run (not Logan’s Run) I still a winner, and able to remember being a winner at Freddie’s party. And I quit. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      About the size of it, you’re a winner! 🙂

      I still play occasionally, if it’s it’s over $100 million, and I happen to remember, I expect nothing for it, except the opportunity to dream a bit, which it provides! If I forget, I wouldn’t walk across the street to fix it, it’s that unimportant. Simply entertainment, like another beer! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        Yeah. I occasionally find a expired ticket around the house, that my daughter buys from time to time. I probably would too. Except I don’t get out much. There is a place about the only one I go to these days. Maybe they will start selling chances at my doctor’s office? Chances on what…not sure. 🙂 It’s not that bad, I can make myself go get something to eat.

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Yep, Bill’s point, and mine, is that it’s very silly to think one is going to win. For all that he is right, it does promote big government and all those associated evil. Well, I never claimed to be perfect, just opinionated! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Opinionated! And no sources needed to prove it and why! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Indeed! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. the unit says:

    You probably won’t read this again or any further details. Luke is gone on. As he might say Happy New Year with Extra Jesus. Another patriot and hero passed on. Glad I got to know him.
    http://www.wzep1460.com/longtime-radio-host-luke-mccoy-dead-at-76/

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Sad! 😦

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

