Weighed in the Balance

Oobie is one of my favorite bloggers. Why? Because she writes from knowledge of her subject, and with plain common sense. For me, it’s a winning combination. here she outlines her problems with this election, which parallel mine rather closely, but the meat of a fine article is in these final two paragraphs.

Here’s the problem for me. Can I in good conscience vote for somebody I think is unfit for the presidency? That of course includes Hillary Clinton in first order, so a vote for her is out of the question. That leaves me facing the prospect of voting for somebody else of very dubious qualifications. If I say affirmatively about Trump, “This is the man for me!” — what then? What if he gets in and then breaks all his promises (and he will — he might build a bit of wall, but it won’t be a serious endeavor), or starts to behave irrationally? What kind of satisfaction would I then have from a mindless insurrection? What good would have been achieved? Or what if he turns out to be as bad a candidate as I think and lost? And then again, if I sit home and withhold my vote from Trump, I automatically give that vote to the much worse criminal and lunatic, Clinton. And that can’t be right, either. I don’t see a happy ending here.

I guess I’m going to pray fervently that Ted Cruz can pull it out or Rubio is in as a brokered candidate. And otherwise, to cast a vote for Trump. If I do, it won’t be in the expectation of being proven wrong about his lack of character and irrationality. The Democrats were stupid. They should have run someone like Evan Bayh of Indiana, a mild-mannered, likable guy who is Mr. Middle of the Road. Then people such as I could have voted for him. But no, the parties are in the grip of the true believers now and things are not going to go smoothly.

via Weighed in the Balance | Ooobie on Everything.

Yup, that is exactly the problem isn’t it. Clinton, a crook, and a more or less proven national security threat, or Trump, a buffoon, and perhaps more of a threat to civil liberties than Obama, and supposedly of the same party as Congress.

Hobson’s choice, isn’t it? Well, sort of, it’s really more of a variant of Morton’s Fork, I think. But in any case, it’ll be a sad day in the history of the Republic if we have to make a choice between Clinton or Trump. I just don’t know what I’ll do if they are the nominees, I hope it simply doesn’t happen. Ted Cruz, I’m looking at you. I know, and refreshingly you know, that you’re only a man, although an ambitious, thoughtful, and serious one, who believes in the lodestar of the Republic, The Constitution. That will do, I think.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

4 Responses to Weighed in the Balance

  1. the unit says:

    I think I can say I didn’t leave the democrat party and then later the republican party, they left me.
    They left me for globalism ideology and policy over nationalism and sovereignty instead of putting America First.
    And it seems to be in accord with general western agreement that invaders must be taken in and supported.
    I’m still registered as a Republican and in the general election I’ll vote as such, whoever is the nominee.
    I’ll probably continue to be disappointed whoever wins.
    If white republican should win and be bad, at least maybe there will be a consensus of democrat and republican house and senate that will institute impeachment and conviction without fear of being called some name. And maybe even not being so bad. If white female commie or male commie is elected, chance diminished.
    I think I’m already disappointed, disgusted,…and exhausted.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Yeah, I hear ya!

      Like

  2. the unit says:

    I’ve been reading that voters want outsiders. I’ve about decided they’re all outsiders…outside accountability and a purview of consideration of what’s best for the citizens of this or any sovereign nation.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Yep, that just about my conclusion, as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

