Sunday Afternoon at the Duke’s

Poor guy missed out on the best. from the Guardian

Poor guy missed out on the best.
from the Guardian

Well, the best thing I’ve done lately is to convince Jess to write for us again. I had come to the end of the road with politics. I had said all that it was useful to say, mostly several times, and much of the campaign has become toxic to me, especially the nonsense that the campaigns (pretty much all of them) spew like a broken sewer pipe. So it was time to quit, and do it cold turkey (although I actually prefer Wild Turkey).

So, I think we’re going to talk about almost anything else, it will undoubtedly have a bearing on politics, here, and on the Brexit campaign in the UK, but we’re mostly going to let you draw your own conclusions on how to apply what we say.

Jess, was talking about the Duke this morning and I thought I’d return the favor although with a different duke.

They say the Duke of Wellington, after he retired, pretty much chose to not talk about politics. I’ve heard that, anyway, that doesn’t make it true. But I think it makes sense, politics gets old, doesn’t it, and eventually, one wants to talk about important things instead. By my lights, that makes him a wise man.

What are important things? Well, whoever they are, they say that for the Iron Duke it was horses, guns, hunting, and pretty Tory women. Sounds pretty sensible to me.

Well, I don’t know much about horses, but cars will work, or trucks, I think: guns, well we can, but we do that pretty regular: hunting leaves me kind of blah, at the moment. But a history video might be good. And while I have no idea if she’s a Tory, I’m pretty confident that Susannah Lipscholm’s looks would please the Duke (and the rest of us) although as I’ve said since Jess first told me about her, I can think of a prettier woman. The fact that she is, in fact, a brilliant historian is even more pleasing to me, and I hope the Duke would agree. Probably he would, after all, Tories, like our conservatives, are supposed to be the smart party. (Somebody please tell the party!)

 

Why Henry VIII? Glad you asked. Here is where modern England begins. The Navy, the Church, the Empire, they all start here, with Henry and Ann. Given that, this is the real start of America, Canada, Australia, and all the rest as well. It took a while, but this is the first step on the road to our world.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

6 Responses to Sunday Afternoon at the Duke’s

  1. JessicaHof says:

    I’m not sure the Duke cared much about the politics of his lady friends 🙂

    I hope our readers will say if they like the change of focus – got to be some relief from politics for the moment :)xx

    Liked by 2 people

    • the unit says:

      Well I do. Plenty of sites to visit and comment negatively on the political goings on..
      From some of my comments earlier you know how I love old westerns. Revisited some I saw as a youngster. Red Ryder, Will Bill Elliot, Wild Bill Saunders, Randolph Scott and of course John Wayne.
      For relief from politics I even go to a rock/guitar site for a break. I can’t strum a note on one. I can only hum through a comb with paper on it. Not much mentioned about politics, but sometimes, Still even that show me how little some folks pay attention.
      Don’t forget though NEO said new emphasis would be to show where we are going. Maybe it’s to enslave the world in technology. Oops gotta go new text message coming in. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • NEO says:

        LOL, Unit! 🙂

        Like

    • NEO says:

      I doubt it, myself. Might be shallow, but I can’t fault him on that. 🙂

      So do I, but at least I’m more relaxed. 🙂 Ugly year for politics.

      Like

      • Sadly Americans have had an almost an 8 year “ugly” run in the political, but I fear America will really be doomed if it gets a liberal on the Supreme Court! Lord have mercy, but will he? Or is it time for the Lord’s hand of judgment to fall on all the Western Nations? Eschatology, and The Day of the Lord are surely real and relevant in this great prophetic time and season, as the Day approaches in this bigger picture: “And that, knowing the time, that now it is high time to awake out of sleep: for now is our salvation nearer than when we first believed. The night is far spent, and the day is at hand: let us therefore cast off the works of darkness, and let us put on the armour of light. Let us walk honestly, as in the day, not in rioting and drunkenness, not in chambering and wantonness, not in strife and envying. But put ye on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to fulfil the lusts thereof.” (St. Paul, Romans 13: 11-14, KJV)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: My Article Read (3-20-2016) – My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

