Saturday, Finally

Seems like some weeks last a month doesn’t it. This one did around here. Besides that, I got to talking to my Hoosier buddy Lafayetteangel, who ran a lovely piece recalling some music from an earlier day. I haven’t done one in a long time, so let’s do it! 🙂

May as well start with my very favorite girl singer, ever.

A bit from the Rolling Stones

Some Kinks? Of course

For the Byrds!

Of course, we had our local bands, too. Like this one

Or this one

The greatest rock song ever

Truly, Those were the days.

Happy Saturday

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

16 Responses to Saturday, Finally

  1. the unit says:

    Good musical selections, especially the gals IMO. I’m just partial to lean that way. 🙂 And I had for safety’s sake to Google the today’s meaning at that.
    “Saturday, Finally.” Haven’t we all said that to at least ourselves? Getting more and more prevalent for me.
    How many more Saturday, Finallys do we want?
    “Dawn of a new age: The first person to reach 150 is already alive… and soon we’ll live to be a THOUSAND, claims scientist.” (Daily Mail)
    A fine neighbor passed on recently. Had suffered COPD from breathing fiberglass (maybe some other fiber, @ Monsanto) at the plant in career. I visited in home often, not just over the fence when both out doing our doings as best we could.
    His family told me he just finally said…”I’m tired.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      In general, there my two favorites here too. I like the others, but I’ve had a crush on Pet Clark since 1965 and I still do.

      That’s the thing isn’t it. I have little desire to live forever, at least not as an old man. Seems to me, most of us have had a good life, when it’s time, it’s time. Not that I intend to rush it, mind! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        No I’ll just stay “in waiting.”
        We have mentioned Petula Clark in comment section before. I forget the exact context. The particular song was “Downtown” so could have had something to do with downtown then vs now. lol

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Yep, we have, although I don’t remember the context either. Guess it doesn’t matter much.

          Yeah, so will I.

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Yeah, guess doesn’t matter much. However it might when I start writing my memoirs in a couple hundred years. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Well, you’ll have plenty of time to look it up, then! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Yes I also hold those two artists in high esteem.
          For my memoirs though I can lower the bar on myself.
          I’ll think of something, some Sou. Baptist method, like maybe i.e. borrow a Catholic method.
          “Bless me Father, for I have sinned. I have been with a loose girl.”
          The priest asks, “Is that you, little Joey Pagano?”
          “Yes, Father, it is.”
          “And who was the girl you were with?”
          “I can’t tell you, Father. I don’t want to ruin her reputation.”
          “Well, Joey, I’m sure to find out her name sooner or later so you may as well tell me now. Was it Tina Minetti?”
          “I cannot say.”
          “Was it Teresa Mazzarelli?”
          “I’ll never tell.”
          “Was it Nina Capelli?”
          “I’m sorry, but I cannot name her.”
          “Was it Cathy Piriano?”
          “My lips are sealed.”
          “Was it Rosa DiAngelo, then?”
          “Please, Father! I cannot tell you.”
          The priest sighs in frustration. “You’re very tight lipped, and I admire that. But you’ve sinned and have to atone. You cannot be an altar boy now for 4 months. Now you go and behave yourself.”
          Joey walks back to his pew, and his friend Franco slides over and whispers, “What’d you get?”
          “Four months vacation and five good leads…”

          🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I do recall the songs by Petula Clark and Kinks. I didn’t remember who sung them until I listened to the songs. My memory isn’t what it use to be, lol.

    Thank you, NEO, for the trip down memory lane and for the link, :).

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      No problem, my friend. It was overdue here as well, and I enjoyed it myself. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on My Daily Musing and commented:

    Some great songs from the past, :).

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Thanks, my friend. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • You are so very welcome, NEO, :).

        Liked by 1 person

  4. the unit says:

    Yep ‘Downtown’ relative closely in importance to ‘Those Were The Days.’
    I must be already dreaming…TWTD instead of BLM. Rolling over on my good side to sleep the night away, hope I don’t see the Mattress Firm add in my dreams, just Pet and Mary! See y’all tomorrow, Lord willing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      ‘Night, Unit. Sweet dreams! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        Thanks. Yep I’m in laptop Windows 10 power sleep selection now. Fingers will close this out. Punch…I’m out.

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          🙂

          Like

Leave a Reply

